We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of The Bakehouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bakehouse B&B
Ranked #8 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just left after a 1 night stay at The Bakehouse. Jim was there to greet us when we arrived with a lovely pot of tea! Very friendly, helpful and chatty and happy to talk about the background of his and Julie's time owning this fantastic B&B. our room was fabulous with quirky little touches and I would say it was better than the majority of hotels we have stayed in in this country.

Breakfast was freshly prepared by Jim the next day and was fantastic! My only issue was I couldn't finish it!

We met Julie and their lovely pet lurcher as we were leaving and it was lovely that she remembered my name even though we had only ever communicated by email weeks before that.

Anths family are staying here the night before our wedding in April next year at the near by Newton Hall (a 6 min car journey which we timed for anyone considering staying in seahouses if attending a wedding there) and I couldn't recommend this little find of a b&b enough.

Definitely be returning in the future :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for The Bakehouse B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 201 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and what a fabulous B&B. The room was big and spotless and a huge bathroom too. A very warm welcome which relaxed us right away. There was a great selection on the breakfast menu all freshly prepared. The guest lounge is also an added bonus. Plenty of information available for surrounding area. Best nights sleep we've had in a long time. Old Ship Inn great for food and tremendous beer garden. Have to agree with other reviews great accommodation and will definitely be back with friends and family. Jim and Julie perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for the red room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosrac_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived Julie was incredibly welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The room was lovely and was very well kept throughout the week. The mini fridge,real milk and selection of treats were a super touch. In fact it was the attention to detail which really makes this B&B stand out. The breakfast choice was great and the food was beautifully prepared. The separate visitors lounge was very nice for a bit of relaxation with a glass of lindesfarne mead. It was only a short walk to the town with all amenities and some great recommendations from Julie for places to eat in the evening. Steakhouses is perfectly placed to enjoy the coast north and south and some beautiful sites to visit inland too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateWhit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here whilst attending my sister in law's birthday party in July 2013.
I stay here with my sister and mum, in the two double rooms sharing a bathroom, contained within private area. It was perfect.
Interiors to a very high standard,very clean.
Julie and Jim was extremely welcoming and friendly, encouraging us to relax and enjoy our stay from the moment we arrived. Nothing was a problem there hospitality was faultless.
The location is also prefect, within a couple of street/ short walk from the main front street of Seahouses, sea front and close to a couple of the local pubs.
I couldn't fault our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are to a high standard, very stylist, relaxing and very clean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotOloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here on the 9th & 10th June (sorry for delay) & cannot fault the place. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay &used it as a benchmark for the remaining B&B's on our 14 night tour of Scotland, The room was spotlessly clean, breakfast was splendid & both Julie & Jim were lovely & very welcoming. We have already recommended this B&B to family & friends & will definitely return (had looked for September but already booked up).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Julie and Jim Hague have thrown the kitchen sink at making this a truly superior B&B. The five-star reviews are well deserved. The house is a beautifully restored Georgian/Victorian ex-bakehouse with many original features, complemented with contemporary touches. It is in a perfect location for access to the harbour, shops and pubs. We were welcomed by Julie with coffee and cake in the comfortable lounge, then shown to a private suite with a large bathroom and a bedroom containing a super-king bed. Everything was spotless and of quality. A fridge contained bottles of water and fresh milk and cakes. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and Julie indulged my love of locally smoked kippers! We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScullyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hosts, lovely room, tasty breakfast with a lovely bucks fizz accompaniment for our anniversary! Very kind and welcoming. The softest sheets and cosiest bed we have ever been in. Thanks Julie and Jim.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwonprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.8 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Longstone House Hotel
Longstone House Hotel
#19 of 25 in Seahouses
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#7 of 25 in Seahouses
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse B&B

Address: 20 North Street, Seahouses NE68 7SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: $83 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakehouse B&B is just a stone's throw from the picturesque harbour and shoreline in Seahouses, this beautiful property is the ideal coastal retreat. Beautifully restored, furnished and equipped to high standards with attractive contemporary and traditional touches. The Bakehouse B&B also benefits from a private lounge and parking. All the village amenities are a short walk away and of course the trips to the Farne Islands from the harbour are on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse B&B Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing