We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Carlsberg did B&B”
Review of The Bakehouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bakehouse B&B
Ranked #7 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Spent three nights here over Easter and it is probably the best place we have stayed. From the welcome to the farewells a truly wonderful stay,if we return to this part of the UK we will be staying at The Bakehouse

Room Tip: Red room was excellent
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coniston53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for The Bakehouse B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 201 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a wonderful B&B! There is nothing negative to write about. When we arrived we were greeted by Jim and made to feel at home ( tea and mince pie). The room was absolutely spotless and very well appointed. The breakfasts were amazing!! ( Try jim's Kippers) The location was great. BUT the real reason that the Bakehouse is so lovely is that Julie and Jim are the lovliest couple who make you feel so special!!!!! Nothing was too much trouble and talk about going the extra mile well they do it in spade loads. On the Sunday it was my wifes 50th birthday and Julie gave us a champagne breakfast and gave Jan a card not many places would do that!! We are planning our next visit to Northumberland and will stay at the Bakehouse. By the way Northumberland is such a beautiful county and the people there are so very friendly.

Room Tip: There are two rooms. The one we stayed in was perfect!!!! i have no reason to assume the other is an...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Bakehouse is absolutely perfect for anyone looking for comfort and a bit of style in Seahouses. It is very close to the seafront but extremely quiet (at least out of season) and away from the main streets. Also very close to the legendary Old Ship inn which is a perfect end to the day. My room was nicely furnished, warm, spacious and with excellent shower. The downstairs sitting room is very welcoming in case you have the odd bad weather day. Breakfast is great, in fact you really couldn't ask for more. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early....
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColchesterItfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Really great B&B; we had the room with separate bathroom and enjoyed the sense of spaciousness that is sometimes lacking in a B&B.
The decor throughout is excellent and the care and attention that the owners have lavished on the place is apparent.
As regards the breakfast part of the experience I would say it was exceptional, with a good choice of options and beautifully cooked and presented.
Seahouses itself is a gem of a place to visit, with boat trips and stunning coastal walks both north and south to quickly fill up a weekend!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Epitomoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Bakehouse was one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. Room was large,well laid out & roomy. Also the en-suite was not much smaller than my bathroom at home.The breakfast was very good & you can choose from a menue.Also as the Bakehouse is within walking distance of Seahouses no need to take the car to the pub ! Like the other reviewers I would like to tell people to stay away incase they are booked up forever......

Room Tip: Only two rooms both at the front & both great !
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail5768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The selfish side of me wants to say The Bakehouse is awful and that you should avoid it like the plague because, I fear that being honest and adding another fantastic review, may mean it will be booked solid forever. But, the truth will out, and I can only repeat what most of the other reviewers have said.

This is a quality B&B in a great location, which felt like a home from home the minute we walked through the door. Julie was really friendly, gave us tea and cake in the guest lounge when we arrived and, couldn’t do enough to help us, throughout our stay. The lounge itself was warm and cosy, with an open coal fire and a set hearth furniture which took me back to my childhood, and reminded me of having to fetch the coal in from outside, regardless of the weather conditions.

We stayed in the ‘red’ room for two nights during half term week at the end of October, which has a large separate bathroom and plenty of storage. The room was spotlessly clean, really comfortable and tastefully decorated, with a wall mounted flat screen TV and a very comfy double bed, which is the size of a football field. However, it was the little things and personal touch which made all the difference, such as the bottle of water on either side of the bed, the fresh milk available in the fridge, the soft fluffy white towels & bathrobes, the Cole & Lawson toiletries in the bathroom and the shortbread/ginger cake & ‘Kit-Kat’ biscuits with the tea making facilities, which even included a packet of Haribos for our little girl.

There was plenty of choice for breakfast but, we stuck to the traditional full English on both mornings, which was delicious and locally sourced. In fact, we liked the ‘Bamburgh Banger’ so much, we found out who made them and brought some home.

I have to say, The Bakehouse is one of the best B&B we have ever stayed in and, thanks to the lovely Julie, extremely welcoming or, to repeat the words our 6 year old daughter used to describe it, ‘snuggly buggly’.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burnie373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This has to be one of the nicest B&B's and we have stayed in a few due to our diving hobby, a real credit to the owners. The rooms are very large with a separate bathroom that is bigger than the one in my own home. No pokey en-suite here. It all looked freshly decorated and tea and coffee (plus some nice treats) supplies were in the rooms. Nice toiletries were also provided in the bathroom and a hairdryer.
The owners were lovely and they arranged the breakfast to suit the time of the dive boats. The breakfasts were amazing and tasted fantastic.
This B&B is located right by the town so no need to use the car in the evening for dinner.
Cannot recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: One room has a full bath (with shower) rather than just a shower which some people may prefer.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.8 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
804 reviews
0.7 mi away
Longstone House Hotel
Longstone House Hotel
#20 of 25 in Seahouses
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#8 of 25 in Seahouses
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunelm House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse B&B

Address: 20 North Street, Seahouses NE68 7SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: $96 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakehouse B&B is just a stone's throw from the picturesque harbour and shoreline in Seahouses, this beautiful property is the ideal coastal retreat. Beautifully restored, furnished and equipped to high standards with attractive contemporary and traditional touches. The Bakehouse B&B also benefits from a private lounge and parking. All the village amenities are a short walk away and of course the trips to the Farne Islands from the harbour are on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse B&B Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing