We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weary walkers”
Review of The Bakehouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bakehouse B&B
Ranked #8 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is an absolutely superb bed and breakfast. Our room was wonderfully comfortable and very tastefully decorated. We were provided with absolutely everything we could possibly need or want. We loved our welcome tray of tea and cake and the breakfast menu was most comprehensive - everything we had was delicious and locally sourced. Our host was exceptionally welcoming and friendly but not at all intrusive - we wished we had stayed longer!
Thank you Julie.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a superb Bed and Breakfast in a fantastic location, minutes from the centre of town and the beautiful beach. A 45 minute walk along the beach brings you to Bamburgh Castle and the lovely little village.

We had the "Red Room". It was simply lovely. Very big, plenty of storage space, a seating area, flat screen TV and a seperate large bathroom. We had tea/coffee making facilities and Julie (the lovely friendly landlady) left us Kitkats/Shortbread and bottled water. The room was absolutely spotless.

Breakfast the next morning was freshly made and very good, with an excellent choice available. Julie very kindly let us leave our car parked outside the day we were leaving as new guests didn't have a car - much appreciated!

Seahouses is a nice little town with plenty of bars/restaurants to chose from. We had a lovely meal and a few drinks in The Olde Ship which was very good.

Really loved this place, have recommended it to everyone I have spoken to and hope to get back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Only 2 rooms here but they couldn't be better. Tastefully furnished, welcoming and spacious (the one with the bath is bigger)
Also appreciated the cakes and other treats left for us each day.
A friendly welcome at all times, but not intrusive.
We enjoyed having breakfast with the other guests at a large table but some couples may want more privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at the Bakehouse for a couple of nights and can thoroughly recommend it. Julie went out of her way to make everything a comfortable for us as possible. I loved the decor of the whole house and would have no trouble telling my friends and family to stay there.

Room Tip: Exceptional B & B clean comfortable and very welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preston319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have stayed at The Bakehouse 3 times in the last year and can highly recommend it. The accommodation is beautiful and Julie is a wonderful host who always makes you feel very welcome and 'at home'. There are lots of little extras that give the B&B that special touch and I love the decor. The breakfast is delicious and you really feel like you've been well looked after and pampered. Location is great - very near to the harbour and peaceful. I will continue to visit whenever I can - in fact, I almost didn't want to write a review as I don't want it to get too booked up for me to stay in the future!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautifully decorated and a good size - the red room is slightly bigger with a separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have just returned from a couple of nights, staying at the Bakehouse. We stayed there with our youngest child Matthew, aged 7 yrs. The b&b is outstanding, with Julie going to remarkable lengths to make our stay there luxurious! The extra details such as water in the rooms, welcome tray, use of the downstairs lounge which was just like being at home!, sets this b&b above any of the places we have stayed before. Julie is a very bubbly character and very friendly, Matthew especially loved his chats with her. The location is excellent, just a few steps away from the sea. The accommodation is excellent and breakfasts were outstanding - the Bakehouse should really be 5 star!! I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Bakehouse on a five-day walking and scuba diving break and can unreservedly recommend it. Julie was welcoming and full of information on local pubs, restaurants etc; helpful in every respect. The breakfasts were sublime, the rooms beautifully appointed and the little touches (cakes, chocolates, fresh milk for tea/coffee) perfect. Great location in the village and any future trip to Northumbria will be designed around our ability to get a room at the Bakehouse.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#5 of 25 in Seahouses
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#4 of 25 in Seahouses
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunelm House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Longstone House Hotel
Longstone House Hotel
#17 of 25 in Seahouses
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse B&B

Address: 20 North Street, Seahouses NE68 7SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: $93 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakehouse B&B is just a stone's throw from the picturesque harbour and shoreline in Seahouses, this beautiful property is the ideal coastal retreat. Beautifully restored, furnished and equipped to high standards with attractive contemporary and traditional touches. The Bakehouse B&B also benefits from a private lounge and parking. All the village amenities are a short walk away and of course the trips to the Farne Islands from the harbour are on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse B&B Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing