We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of The Bakehouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bakehouse B&B
Ranked #8 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at the Bakehouse for a couple of nights and can thoroughly recommend it. Julie went out of her way to make everything a comfortable for us as possible. I loved the decor of the whole house and would have no trouble telling my friends and family to stay there.

Room Tip: Exceptional B & B clean comfortable and very welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preston319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 204 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have stayed at The Bakehouse 3 times in the last year and can highly recommend it. The accommodation is beautiful and Julie is a wonderful host who always makes you feel very welcome and 'at home'. There are lots of little extras that give the B&B that special touch and I love the decor. The breakfast is delicious and you really feel like you've been well looked after and pampered. Location is great - very near to the harbour and peaceful. I will continue to visit whenever I can - in fact, I almost didn't want to write a review as I don't want it to get too booked up for me to stay in the future!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautifully decorated and a good size - the red room is slightly bigger with a separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have just returned from a couple of nights, staying at the Bakehouse. We stayed there with our youngest child Matthew, aged 7 yrs. The b&b is outstanding, with Julie going to remarkable lengths to make our stay there luxurious! The extra details such as water in the rooms, welcome tray, use of the downstairs lounge which was just like being at home!, sets this b&b above any of the places we have stayed before. Julie is a very bubbly character and very friendly, Matthew especially loved his chats with her. The location is excellent, just a few steps away from the sea. The accommodation is excellent and breakfasts were outstanding - the Bakehouse should really be 5 star!! I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Bakehouse on a five-day walking and scuba diving break and can unreservedly recommend it. Julie was welcoming and full of information on local pubs, restaurants etc; helpful in every respect. The breakfasts were sublime, the rooms beautifully appointed and the little touches (cakes, chocolates, fresh milk for tea/coffee) perfect. Great location in the village and any future trip to Northumbria will be designed around our ability to get a room at the Bakehouse.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Travelling to Seahouses for a scuba diving trip we were not expecting to find 'accommodating' and 'luxurious' from one B&B, but we certainly fell on our feet with The Bakehouse. Julie and Jeff were incredible hosts, allowing us to take over their garage and garden with wet, salty dive gear, providing us with early breakfasts and a bacon butty to go and getting the kettle straight on at whatever time we returned. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

Situated close to the harbour, town and a choice of pubs/retaurants it is a great location and I could not find fault with the B&B, which is clean and tastefully decorated, with close attention to detail.

My only complaint was that 4 days went far too quickly and, if we haven't put them off hosting divers forever, will hopefully return again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeds_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent my birthday weekend staying at the Bakehouse in Seahouses. Julie was a perfect hostess and couldn't do enough for us, we felt really at home. The Bakehouse has a lot of character while being modern at the same time. Our room was very comfortable and we really enjoyed the biscuits & cakes left for us each day. Breakfast was delicious too! The Bakehouse is perfectly located, a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Seahouses.

We had a fabulous weekend in Northumberland and I'm sure we will return in the future. When we do we will definitely stay at the Bakehouse again! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonymousSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The bakehouse seahouses is an ideal location for a short break. This guesthouse is 5 star in everyway, superb facilities, the location to beach,harbour and amenities only minutes away. The host Julie was very welcoming and made the break a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. We would highly recommend a stay at this excellent guesthouse. We were a group of 5 mature women!!

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seahouses hotels
0.8 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#6 of 25 in Seahouses
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Longstone House Hotel
Longstone House Hotel
#19 of 25 in Seahouses
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#4 of 25 in Seahouses
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunelm House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse B&B

Address: 20 North Street, Seahouses NE68 7SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: $97 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakehouse B&B is just a stone's throw from the picturesque harbour and shoreline in Seahouses, this beautiful property is the ideal coastal retreat. Beautifully restored, furnished and equipped to high standards with attractive contemporary and traditional touches. The Bakehouse B&B also benefits from a private lounge and parking. All the village amenities are a short walk away and of course the trips to the Farne Islands from the harbour are on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse B&B Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing