We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, comfortable apt.”
Review of Farne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farne House
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband, aunt and myself spent one week in the Harbour Heights apt. in the Farne House self-catering complex at Seahouses. Having read the previous reviews on Trip Advisor we arrived here with some trepidation. I agree its not perfect, but the only real complaint would be the poor condition of the picture window in the living room. This window definitely needs to be replaced by owner to be fair to future visitors. The views from the sitting room are stunning from the lovely harbour outside the window to Bamburgh Castle along the coast.

All the furnishings are comfortable and in very good repair. The kitchen is most adequate and even has a clothes washer (the dryer part didn't seem to work). The main floor bedroom has only a bathtub with no shower which proved a problem for my elderly aunt. There is a spiral staircase from the sitting room to the downstairs double ensuite bedroom. This staircase is narrow and you have to step carefully as you go down. Anyone with poor mobility would have a problem using it.

We also found it odd that we did not see a manager during the entire week we were there. A housekeeping lady and a handyman met us on arrival and showed us to the apt. The apt. was very clean and had all the amenities you could wish for. We did not use the indoor pool but it looked to be very nice.

It is an easy walk into town and the Black Swan Pub (excellent meals) is a brief stroll along from Harbour Heights. We took the 1.5 hour boat trip around the Farne Islands to view the birds and Atlantic gray seals. A very interesting trip on a beautiful sunny day.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Seahouses and Northumberland. We were fortunate to have fine weather all week.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardinal525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at Harbour heights for a week and had particularly booked this accomodation due to the location and the fact that there was a pool. I read the reviews on here before we went and one was not very complimentary, however I pride myself on having an open mind but I have to say that I agreed with all the comments made. The apartment was comfortable but smelt damp, particularly downstairs. The wallpaper was peeling off the wall in the bathroom and the carpet in the lounge needed a good clean! The kids loved the pool and it was always clean which was great. By the time we had paid the "service charge" which I must have overlooked when booking the holiday cost us nearly £1000 for a week. I appreciate it was peak season but for that cost I did expect a higher standard of accomodation. The big picture window was so obscured as apparently the seal on the double glazing had gone ( according to Hubby!) and this reallt spoiled one of the reasons we booked ....The view! There was no welcome pack and I just feel that the whole experience lacked that personal touch. It was comfortable enough but not great! We will go back to the area but we wont stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Chimaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at Harbour Heights.
The location is great as it is right on the harbour. You are within easy reach of Restaurants, pubs, takeaways and Co op foodstore.
The parking is tight but adequate.
One of the selling points for this accomodation was the views from the lounge window unfortunately it was filfthy from day one and it deteriorated throughout the stay (exposed to elements). The view was very obscurred. I wished we had a squeegy on a stick so we could clean it.
The decor is a little tired. It has had a coat of paint but the wallpaper in the ensuite is peeling and the cistern cracked. The carpet is a little grubby (I would not have picked such a light colour).
Don't rent this accomodation if you have difficulty with stairs as the the front door is upstairs and the main bedroom is back down a winding stairs. If we had the key to the downstairs door it would help as we wouldn't have had to drag the suitcase upstairs and then down.
Both toilet doors are see-through and have net curtains so you have to be on good terms with your fellow quests as they can see you 'on the throne' when the light is on.
The pump from the swimming pool is very loud and effects the upstairs bedrooms more than the downstairs ones.
All previous cottages I have been to have had a welcome pack giving you a local view of the nearby amenities but it was sadly absent from this accomodation.
The vodafone signal is very poor and communication by text is advisable as telephone calls are not worth trying.
Local restaurants:-
Olde Ship - Pub is packed, restaurant is nice and food good. Restaurant prices. Book a table as gets very busy.
Black Swan - Local pub - food good and has a separate dining area (bit bright) - Food better than expectations (locals eat/drink here). They don't take bookings
Bamburgh Castle Inn - Good food - pay at bar type place. Good view probably best if you have kids

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigSiouxiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Our first visit to Northumberland but we will be back….We stayed in Harbour Heights which is one of several self catering apartments in Farne House. Its very comfortable with a well equipped kitchen. And has stunning views over Seahouses Harbour up to Bamborough Castle and Holy Island in the distance, as well as the Farne Islands from the lounge / diner.

It has a spiral staircase down to the main bedroom which could be a bit difficult if you had mobility problems. However there are 2 further bedrooms on the main floor.

The indoor heated swimming pool is really nice and looked after well although it was out of action for 6 of the 7 days we were there...But lovely to ease the muscles after a days walking.

There is an smokehouse in Seahouses that does its own excellent kippers, and as you would expect lots of local shellfish… Apparently they don’t land wet fish in that area its all shellfish.

In October Seahouses was very quiet although I would think its very busy in School Holidays. (It has one arcade of one armed bandits and game machines!) Several good pubs serving good “pub grub”. Several Fish & Chip shops .. The one we tried was very good.

A good base for walkers and people wanting to explore the fantastic coast and countryside.

http://www.farnehouse.co.uk/

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seahouses hotels
0.3 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#7 of 25 in Seahouses
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dunelm House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#14 of 25 in Seahouses
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gun Rock
Gun Rock
#18 of 25 in Seahouses
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farne House

Address: Crewe Street, Seahouses NE68 7RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Seahouses
Hotel Class:4 star — Farne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Farne House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing