We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery surrounding Gun Rock?”
Review of Gun Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gun Rock
Ranked #18 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mystery surrounding Gun Rock?”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The only mystery about this B&B is why isn't it the number 1? The location is wonderful, right on the sea front, the view from our room, breathtaking. Everything is spotless and Judy couldn' be a better host. The breakfast is to die for, with beautiful fresh summer fruit plates prepared every morning and perfectly cooked poached eggs!

This really is the perfect place, no negatives at all, and that is really unusual. It is a 3 minute walk down the road to the small town with choices of pubs, fish and chips etc. the vas expanse of beach is just out of the front door and from the Farne room, we lay in bed and looked out on the magnificent sunsets and sunrises.
A boat trip to the Farne islands is why most people come to Seahouses and this is easily organised by Judy.
We also went to Cragside and Holy island....both were wonderful days out. Being folders, we really recommend bamburgh castle golf course, you will be unlikely to play a more stunning course anywhere in the world, but take a buggy!

Room Tip: E can only comment on our room which was the Farne but it was perfect. The view from the bed, out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flojoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was the fifth year of visiting Judy and the the Gun Rock and our first with our 9 month old daughter. As ever, the Gun Rock didn't disappoint and we had a fantastic six night stay of amazing views and excellent breakfasts. Judy was even more helpful than normal, providing us with all the requirements for our daughter, including new cot, high chair and even a baby monitor! We are already booked in for a week next June and can't wait to return.
Many thanks Judy for making our first holiday as a family a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The B & B is in the best location in Seahouses one could wish for. The view across to the Farne Island's was breathtaking. Judy was a superb host, giving fine attention to detail to make our stay homely & very welcoming. From the bubble bath & shower gel supplied in the en-suite to the candle in my breakfast sausage on my birthday. She was a very interesting & informative host on the surrounding area & shared lot's of her memories with us which added to the relaxed atmosphere of our stay.
We definitely recommend Gun Rock & we will most certainly return ourselves, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Farne & Longstone best view's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiekirby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

May 2012.
Just come back from a 3 night stay in this excellent B and B during one of the worse weeks of this year weather wise. We still had a really good time. The sea was rough and trips to the Farne Islands were cancelled but the view from our room in Gun Rock was amazing. Seahouses is an excellent central location for lots of the local attractions and we made the most of our stay.
Judy, the owner, was very helpful and friendly giving useful local information and advice. Breakfasts were really good with local produce and homemade jams. Nothing was too much trouble for her. It was almost home from home.
This B&B is one of the best I have stayed in!! I would really recommend this little gem of a B&B.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea views have a panoramic uinterupted view from Bamburgh Castle to the Farnes - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallies_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just returned after spending 4 nights at Gun rock in the Longstone room.Picked this B&B because of location and reviews.The view was amazing ! even the rain and wind could not spoil it for us.The breakfasts were wonderful and filled us up for the day.Judy was so well informed about the area and restaurants, we ate at different places every night.Believe everything you read about Gun rock it is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Amazing views great location excellent hostess! Slightly expensive but so worth it

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinky1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed for one night at the Gun rock over the easter break. Chose this hotel based on the reviews and the fact the room had a sea view

Was totally satisfied as the room was great, really comfortable bed ensuite with bath and the views of the sea which are amazing .The owner was so helpful in advising us of boat trips, restaurants and even laved on a pot of fresh tea and biscuits in the living room for us which was very thoughtful after our drive. As for breakfast well we didn’t need much else for the rest of the day .Fresh produce, excellent quality and you can see why the owner has won an award. All in all had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this B&B and seahouses

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
6.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#8 of 25 in Seahouses
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#14 of 25 in Seahouses
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longstone House Hotel
Longstone House Hotel
#20 of 25 in Seahouses
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gun Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gun Rock

Property: Gun Rock
Address: 15 St. Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gun Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gun Rock is the only Bed and Breakfast house situated on the seafront at Seahouses. Your own keys are supplied for unrestricted access at all times. Free on site car parking & Wi-Fi Internet access for guests own laptops. Credit & Switch cards accepted without surcharge. All rooms are en-suite with built in bathroom furniture including: toilet, washbasin, shaver point, full size bath with power shower over. Residents Lounge with uninterrupted views of the Farne Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Gun Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gun Rock Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing