We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Black Swan

Black Swan
Ranked #15 of 23 Restaurants in Seahouses
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here this evening. You can tell it is all made fresh. My Dad said the pea soup was the best ever!! The chips are great and portions huge. Friendly staff.... Thank you we are all full and happy!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    39
    16
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great pub food, bet you can't finish three courses”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you want a good down to earth pub meal then you won't find better. All home cooked, man size portions and very pleasant staff. You can't book a table so go early, they open at 6:00pm Weds to Sat and Sunday lunch only.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loweswater, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant pub food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Food was good and the service excellent. Very friendly staff, however the dining room was rather bland and didn't have a cosy pub atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FellwalkersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Having visited on 8th,11th and 13th September I can honestly say my husband and myself were
yet again impressed with the service and quality of the delicious meals served by Gill, and cooked by Norma and Andrew. We have been constant visitors to Seahouses for more years than I care to remember and since our first visit to the Mucky Duck we have been very impressed.
Also, the Dog friendly bar is most welcome!!
Our holiday wouldn't be the same if we didn't visit the Black Swan.
WELL DONE!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss this little gem in Seahouses”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We discovered this amazing restaurant thanks to Tripadvisor - if we'd just walked past it, no way would we have considered going in as the exterior isn't very prepossessing, nor is the bar. But the restaurant (use left hand door as you enter pub) is a must - and easily the best quality and best value meal we've enjoyed all week on our hols here, and we're quite choosy foodies! The restaurant is not huge but very clean and simple in style - dont be fooled either as the menu choice is very good, the service excellent and food arrives quickly considering everything is freshly prepared for you. No bookings taken though - we arrived about 6.30pm and it was full by 7pm, so pot luck on a table. Portions are very generous, the handmade chips to die for (I'd go so far as to say the best I've ever had!) and the generous salad garnish is just so beautifully presented. Our cod had the lightest of crispy batters ever, absolutely delicious and not filling like some battered fish. Hubby's pork chops and fresh veg was delicious apparently. The famous steak pie ordered by the table next to ours looked very homemade, stuffed full of flaky steak and proper gravy. Spoilt for choice next time we come! I don't know if anyone makes it as far as the homemade desserts but they sounded tasty too. Don't miss this little gem tucked away behind the harbour!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VCB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Swan also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing