We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Wyndgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyndgrove House
Ranked #12 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Myself and my wife were made most welcome by the landlady Kath.
Wyndgrove House BB is in a great location within easy walk of harbour,but far enough away to avoid the noise of pubs.An excellent base for exploring the Northumberland Coast. Breakfast menu was fantastic as was the food served. very good highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely comments.It was a pleasure to meet you and its nice to hear you especially appreciated our breakfasts.
We hope you will return soon to our beautiful area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Wyndgrove House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 179 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a 3 night long weekend stay at Wyndgrove House, it was first class. Our en-suite room, 7, was clean and comfortable, well up to quality hotel standard. The breakfast on offer, both in choice and quality, was top notch. Wyngrove House is also run and staffed by lovely warm, hospitable folks. Guest Houses/B&B's just don't come any better. We love this corner of Northumberland, in summer we have weekend camping trips here, out of season we have found a gem in Wyndgrove House.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7. Very spacious, a four-poster bed, cracking en-suite with a power shower. What m...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review.We hope to see you both again soon and will be more than happy to supply you with gluten free bread so you won't have to bring your own!
Brad says he is happy you enjoyed his breakfasts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stopped here for 1 night with our dog. Firstly the reception we received from Brad was as warm as the roaring open fire in the lounge. The room (7) was with a four poster bed and a good size and lovely and warm. The power shower and bathroom were fabulous and spotless with courtesy shampoo/ shower gel etc.
The breakfast was beautiful and very filling. Fruit juices / cereals / yoghurt / various fruits/ toast and full English cooked to perfection.
The location, particularly for dog walkers is perfect. Quiet setting just a short walk into Seahouses but for dog walkers this next bit is fantastic.......turn right out of the drive and take the path that runs alongside the house. At the end turn right then a couple of houses along turn left on the signed path. From here its three quarters of a mile in a straight line along a public footpath away from roads so safe to let off leads and then your on the beach. Fantastic footpath direct from the guest house.
Will definitely stop here again.....brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review.We are glad you enjoyed your visit to this beautiful area.Thanks as well for the lovely compliments about Brad's breakfasts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Wyndgrove House for 2 nights, we are a 26 year old couple, did lots of walking and exploring in the area. The guest house was fantastic value and the breakfast was the best, even better than hotel standard!! Very friendly atmosphere with privacy also, very clean and tea and coffee provided too! Would definitely recommend to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review.It means a lot to both of us that you appreciate all the effort we put in and we hope you come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a great night stay here and the high rating this hotel enjoys is well deserved as you definitely feel you are staying somewhere a cut above the rest and the owner is very helpful and pleasant.

All the rooms are very nice with plenty comp tea and coffee etc and with a stunning breakfast waiting for you in the morn and easy parking you feel well sorted, very handy for local restaurants and take aways.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philjdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we hope to see both of you again soon.I t makes our job a pleasure to meet lovely guest like yourselves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Ok so we went here on a three night deal half price great! Good location and yes it's a 10 min walk to Seahouses which is perfect. We arrived to a warm welcome and parking was good.

The owner I think (she didn't introduce herself) offered us tea which was lovely and what seemed to be home made scones. So the room (1 down stairs) was nicely decorated and modern. There was also a communal lounge which was great for our little one as he is just starting to walk and was therefore not couped up in the room all the time.

The breakfast was superb a great choice and the service was great. They also provided us with a high chair for our son.

however have some gripes....the room was damp as was the bathroom which annoyed me some what and by the time we had got all our gear in, set up the travel cot etc it started to hit us. I didn't want to say anything as the place seemed to be fully booked and didn't want to spoil our little family break. But let's face it people have said the rooms are damp and cold, sorry but room 1 is and the heating seems to go off in the middle of the night so it's freezing! Yes little heaters are provided but this seems really tight. The shower head cord was broken and all the water was spraying out all over the place. The owners will know this as they clean the rooms every day!

Overall we put up with the room as the service and food were so good, however if they were not we would have asked for our money back and left. I cant comment on the other rooms maybe they are fine as we were on the ground floor. I didn't complain as the owners will be fully aware of the condition of the room, simply put if its damp fix it before you expect someone to pay for it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jimjam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

I have thought long and hard before answering this review.
First the shower hose.this has been replaced immediatly,we always keep spares and its a two minute job.We were unaware of the problem as you chose to say nothing about it and we clean our showers with a propriety spay cleaner- we don't use the shower head.
You were asked each morning if everything was alright and if you slept well you chose to say everything was fine and to say nothing about being cold or about any damp.We would have been happy to leave the heating on or to have offered more bedding to keep you cosy.You said nothing about this to us at the time
I have no problem with complaints but it would have been cautious to have given us a chance to put things right instead of telling us that everything was fine and then going home and writing a scathing reveiw.
We are glad that at least you enjoyed your breakfasts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked a last minute two night break and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Wyndgrove house. The room was lovely with a very comfortable king sized bed, and the power shower was brilliant. The breakfasts were delicious - very well cooked, lots of choice and excellent quality produce used. Good parking and a short walk into the village. Don't hesitate to book a room there if you get a chance. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Longstone House Hotel
Longstone House Hotel
#19 of 25 in Seahouses
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#14 of 25 in Seahouses
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#7 of 25 in Seahouses
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndgrove House

Address: 156 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: $108 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndgrove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northumberland Coast is a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Wyndgrove House is an ideal base for a short break or holiday exploring this fascinating region. Perfect for birdwatchers, walkers, cyclists, divers and golfers, or for anyone who simply wants to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndgrove House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing