We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Wyndgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyndgrove House
Ranked #9 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent a comfortable night in a large spacious room (great power shower!), but what really made this B & B special were the little extras. Afternoon tea on arrival in the comfortable lounge with buns warm from the oven. Homemade shortbread in our room with ample refreshments and fresh milk available from the fridge nearby and finally great delicious breakfasts; we enjoyed smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and kipper but there were lots of other choices too. We would recommend Wyndgrove House and will certainly use it again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agjavjones5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review .Brad and I are pleased you enjoyed the little extra touches .We really enjoy meeting and looking after our guests and it's lovely when our efforts are appreciated .
Thanks also for your praise of Brad's breakfasts we are very proud of them and hope to have even more choice soon with daily specials of local delicacies--- all home made and fresh of course!

We hope you come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    36
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
113
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We opted to stay in Seahouses because of its location. It's a beautiful little town with a great selection of pubs and restaurants. We chose Wyndgrove House because the rooms were modern and they accepted dogs. The room was big, well-equipped and of a high standard. The breakfast was excellent and the waitress was very friendly and welcoming. However, while my husband had a shower and I dried my hair the fire alarm went off. It was evident that the heat from the hair dryer set it off (this has happened to me before.) Our dog became very distressed and I went to see if the owner required any assistance. She had absolutely no idea how to turn it off. As we checked out the morning after, the owner was rather abrasive and accused us of smoking in the room. We were obviously quite annoyed at this and, unfortunately, it meant that we left with a negative impression. This was such a shame as the B&B was lovely and the breakfast was excellent. The owner needs to address her customer service skills.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CVF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hello
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our place lovely.
I had to get the engineer round after you left to investigate the fire alarm going off and he absolutely assured me that it was almost impossible to set off the fire alarm with a hair dryer.Our ceilings are 8'6" in height .A hairdryer producing that amount of heat would be very dangerous indeed .
The sensors are mainly triggered by particles in the air such as smoke or even hair spray they do not respond to heat unless it is very extreme (actual flames) The main danger of fire in a building is smoke and toxic fumes and this is what the system is designed to detect primarily.
I will admit that I was very stressed by the alarm as my husband was out at the time and he usually deals with this .
I did not accuse you of smoking but simply pointed out that we were a totally non smoking establishment.This is clearly stated on the booking form.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Wyndgrove House on our way back home from a visit to Newcastle. We chose the Wyndgrove because of it being dog friendly. It was indeed, we were all 3 of us well catered for. Our visit was brief, but we were blessed with wonderful Northumberland sunshine and of course the beautiful coastline. We were very comfortable for the night in a very spacious ensuite double room. The breakfast was excellent and the hosts very accommodating, we had a wee mishap with the kipper breakfast but this was swiftly rectified. The guest house was a short walk from the town where we found a dog friendly pub for supper. All in all a very lovely stop off point.

Room Tip: Rooms were all of a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan12336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.Brad and I are pleased you enjoyed you visit (you were VERY lucky with the weather)and we hope you and your dog will come back soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Comfortable, clean, convenient and congenial hosts sums up this superb value B&B. We visit Northumberland every Autumn and found Wyndgrove House to be an excellent base for the wider area and near to good pubs and restaurants. All our needs were met including a huge and scrumptious vegetarian breakfast (even vegetarian Eggs Benedict) and the loan of a waterproof coat when we mentioned we had left one at home.

We would definitely return to Wyndgrove House and can confidently recommend it to others who want to visit the area for walking, visiting the sights, diving or just touring and eating.

Room Tip: Room 6 is large,has an great view of the garden and the numerous birds who feed there. The sea can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katycustard, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review.I apologize for the rain but I am glad to hear it didn't spoil your break.
Thank you as well for your compliments about Brad's breakfast he is happy you enjoyed them and we both look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We agree with all the previous reviews. This hotel is excellent !!! Warm welcome and FREE afternoon tea - rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean - Best breakfast menu we have seen and the full breakfast huge and delicious . Compliments to the chef !!!! The location is ideal for exploring the coast and local area and off street parking is a definite plus .We stayed three nights and will definitely be back again . Thanks to Kath and all the team !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for your lovely compliments.I have passed your comments to Brad and he is very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts so much!
We both look forward to welcoming you back to Wyndgrove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The main thing to say about our 4 day stay in this lovely B&B were the breakfasts. They are absolutely to die for! Smoked salmon and scrambled egg, kippers, eggs Benedict apart from the traditional Northumberland (which seems to me to differ form The Great Ulster Fry, The Great Scottish etc. in name only). They are all brilliant and HUGE with home-made bread, butter-not-in-foil, real caffetiere coffee etc.
I personally found the rooms a little "tired" but to be fair the new owners had only just taken over and the rooms were being done up gradually.
Good parking out front and a decent walk into town in the mornings were ideal for a boat trip out to the Farnes. Handy also for Bamburgh Castle.

Room Tip: Go through the breakfast menu-have a diferent dish each day. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianElliott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very very much for your lovely comments especially about Brad's breakfasts it means such a lot to him to know how much he is appreciated.
We hope you and your friends will come back soon and please bring us some more fabulous weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just had a couple of nights at Wyndgrove over the bank holiday weekend and have to say it was faultless!
The room was huge and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in!All clean and fresh with very friendly hosts.
Tea and cake on arrival which was lovely and not too far to walk to the beach which was a bonus.
Breakfast was amazing and set us up for a long day on the beach, well for the one sunny day we were there!
Will definately return and would recommend contacting them directly to get best price.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4 poster family room but were showed all the rooms and all were lovely, bright and clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoplusone378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katycustard, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments.Brad is indeed a talented breakfast chef and it is very nice to be appreciated.We hope you and your family will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
5.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#13 of 25 in Seahouses
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regal House
Regal House
#10 of 25 in Seahouses
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndgrove House

Property: Wyndgrove House
Address: 156 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndgrove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northumberland Coast is a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Wyndgrove House is an ideal base for a short break or holiday exploring this fascinating region. Perfect for birdwatchers, walkers, cyclists, divers and golfers, or for anyone who simply wants to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndgrove House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing