We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Cuthbert's House
Ranked #1 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Co Durham
1 review
“5-Star Home from Home”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

From the moment you are greeted by your hosts, Jeff and Jill, you know you are going to have a great time. As you enter the door, the ambience of the sympathetically converted old chapel makes you instantly feel relaxed and at home. The rooms are tastefully decorated and have everything you could wish for. And the beds.... "Comfortable" is hardly good enough to describe them!
The novel way of ordering the breakfast main course is simplicity itself, and - provided you don't oversleep! - is served just when you need it. The overall breakfast service was faultless.
Because of the restrictions of the site, parking can be awkward if the place is full and cars are not in the bays at the right angle, but there is ample on-street space on the quiet road outside.
All in all, a lovely atmosphere, with everything you might need available, and attentive and caring hosts, St Cuthbert's House is an excellent base for exploring the lovely Northumberland Coast and the Scottish Borders.
We have already booked a second visit next month, and this time I WILL try some of that "Locomotion" lager.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
615
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Just returned from 2 nights at this super B &B. Jill & Jeff are the friendliest and most welcoming of hosts. They have converted an old church into a most comfortable and interesting place to stay with everything that you can think of provided. They even have a liquor licence so you can have a lovely glass of wine before going out to one of their recommended venues for your evening meal. This has got to be the best place to stay in the area whether for a night ot two or for even longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastorBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We travelled to this B and B based on Trip Adviser recommendations and were not disappointed. Really special, beautiful decor, great care and help from Jeff and Jill and lovely breakfasts. We loved the Farne lslands trip from Seahouses (tip : it may be more expensive to use a company other than Billy Shiel but much less cramped!).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
We’re glad you enjoyed your trip! Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have very mixed feelings about our two night stay stay here. The booking arrangements are easy via the internet, with lots of info. Map info helps you find the B&B easily, and it is very well placed for trips to Bamburgh, Lindisfarne, and into Seahouses a few moments away. We ate each pm in the Bamburgh Castle inn in Seahouses - although tourist prices, huge quantities of food made meals VFM.
We had a really warm and relaxing welcome to St Cuthbert's - Jill showed us around and talked through the history of the renovation - which is first class. Parking is awkward - not a lot of space, and our second night some guests had parked badly which made it more of a challenge - but we have since been told that many BB in the area offer no parking at all - so this is still a good facility. Jill offered us tea on arrival but we were happy to just chill out in our room - which had a tea tray with an excellent selection, and even washing up stuff to freshen up the crockery for more tea. There is an honesty bar downstairs in the residents lounge with a range of drinks and snacks - a great idea. Also a good DVD library for your flat screen TV in your room.
Bathroom was well provisioned with good quality toiletries, but lighting a bit dull if you wanted to read in the bath, or put make up on in there.
Our room - Hild's - was beautifully decorated, a large wardrobe with lots of good quality wooden hangers, complementary towelling slippers and bath robes. There was a CD player with a classical CD provided, and integral alarm clock. Even a torch for dark evening trips to the loo. A lot of thought has gone into setting the room up.
However, other aspects of the stay spoilt these good impressions for us. Later that evening, I wanted to have a bath but found that the bath had a scum ring and lots of pubic hairs left in it, plus the wetboard had not been cleaned above the shower - so I cleaned the bath myself before I felt I could relax. I felt reluctant to mention this at breakfast the next morning in front of other guests, and when we returned later that day it was cleaned properly, so it then seemed churlish to refer back to it.
We were asked to book breakfast from a selection on a printed list by 10pm the night before - and state what time we would like it. We appreciate that some people would be happy with this, but we did not like deciding what we wanted and at what time before we awoke the next day and knew how we felt that morning. In many years of B&B stays, this is only the second time ever we have been asked to do this - so it is seems it is not something viewed as a popular move amongst most B&B's. Again, we felt it churlish to mention this to Jeff & Jill in front of everyone at breakfast, and as we were leaving, and not planning to return, felt it pointless to create bad feeling when both hosts were so friendly. The breakfasts are really good - and a very wide selection, local produce, and beautifully cooked - and there is no shortage of refills on request.
We had prebooked non feather bedding and cushions, but in fact the in room info states that all the bedding is non allergenic.
We were surprised at the sound proofing problems we experienced, despite the room doors being so heavy as they are (obviously) fire doors. We could hear everyone coming up and down the hallway on both floors, and both nights had long nights listening to the noise from the guest lounge downstairs. The occupants of the next room left their bathroom fan on when they went out for the evening and we had that noise for about 2.5 hours the second night. We have been since been told by the owners that we could not have experienced these sound problems and yet, we did, what more can we say.
There is a welcome/information pack in the room - and reading through it we saw we were asked to use the supplied face wipes to remove makeup so as not to stain the white towels, or we may have to be charged for them - a first in all these years - and which seemd a bit OTT. Surely, B&B and hotel owners must accept such problems - or use dark towels? There was even a comment about a red wine stain problem from other guests. We were also asked not to use the fan in the bathroom late at night so not to bother other guests (hence the torch). The guest guide also asked us to leave the heating turned down when we left the room - obviously good to be environmentally aware, but again, a first in a B&B or hotel for us - can we not decide what heating we would like the room to be for our needs? It all came over as quite a mixed message against such friendly and warm welcoming hosts, and instantly made it hard to relax in our room.
We completed the guest survey when we left, and mentioned not liking to choose breakfasts the night before - the rest of the questionnaire was phrased such that we could be positive about everything we had enjoyed about the stay. Again, we felt that we would move on and not refer to some of the less positive aspects. We did put that we had received a warm and relaxing welcome on arrival, in the guest book, because we did - and felt it unnecessary to note any criticisms in that format.
On return home there was a feedback questionniare on our email account, apparently from a company that collects these for the assistance of B&B owners. The feedback sections had minimal character allowances, so we had to be a bit brief in our wording and could elaborate. However, it was the opportunity to let them know what had worked well and what not so well for us. Obviously, we were able to note the many good things about the B&B as well as the disappointments we experienced and presumably, this is the point of these forms. We did also state that we thought that the room prices are high -our view is that these are hotel prices for B&B facilities, and we feel at least £20 per night over priced.
It was an unpleasant surprise to then receive a very long email from the owners criticising us for giving what they felt were mixed messages and arguing against each of our concerns in detail. They referred to how hurt they were that we were so pleasant when chatting to them during our stay, but were then critical in the follow up feedback form. As they note, we will not be returning!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
We always try to learn from constructive criticism, of course. We did attempt to engage privately with you by email, simply because your experience and perception are so different from anyone else’s - and we had no hint of them during many conversations with you during your stay, nor on the feedback form you left us when you left. We didn’t simply contradict anything you had written, but sought clarification on issues which you reported which just didn’t seem to add up, to us – so that we can continue to up our game. Naturally, we’re disappointed you didn’t enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We recently stayed at St Cuthbert’s House for 3 nights following a friend’s recommendation and the exceptional trip advisor reviews.

Upon arrival, we were immediately welcomed by Jeff into an amazing historic building and offered tea/coffee following our journey.

The accommodation is of an exceptional standard and our room was spotless with some amazing local photography on show. Jeff offered suggestions on where to visit and always asked of our day on return.

What can we say, the breakfasts!! Jill cooked these to perfection and we enjoyed immensely the local produce of ‘Bamburgh Bangers’ and Jill’s homemade potato cakes. More toast and tea was always on hand, if you had any room left! The breakfasts are served in a lovely bright and airy atmosphere, providing a great start to the day.

The location is excellent and in good reach of all local beauty spots. We took advantage of the fantastic coastlines and packed in some lovely walks. Jeff and Jill are wonderful hosts and we have already recommended St Cuthbert’s House to friends and family.

We both look forward to seeing you soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thanks for taking time to write a review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2010

St Cuthbert’s House is different. It is an imaginative and stylish conversion of an old Presbyterian Chapel , located at the quiet end of the Main Street in North Sunderland. The standards are high. The room that we stayed in was large and very well appointed as was the bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were most welcome as was the chocolate! Jeff is however happy to serve afternoon tea and biscuits in the main Cuthbert room which provides an excellent opportunity of meeting fellow guests. Perhaps a small criticism is that my wife loves a bath but the bathroom had only a walk-in shower albeit a very good one. Nothing is too much trouble for either Jeff or Jill who made every effort to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. I can say that they really put themselves out for us on more than one occasion which was very much appreciated. As you may expect the breakfast was first class and the standards of cleanliness and decoration extremely high. Unfortunately parking to the rear of the house is a little difficult but there is plenty of on street parking available immediately to the front. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be certain to return again next year.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tynedaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thanks for your review. Some of our rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over, and others have those large walk-in showers - because some people find climbing into a bath difficult! We’re happy to try to offer you your particular preference if we’re able, so please remember to tell us.
Parking in our small car park is sometimes difficult, if folk are not careful to park in the marked bays. When they do, everyone can get in – and out!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Very comfortable guest house with guest lounge in a quiet location just inland from Seahouses on the Northumberland Coast. The tariff may appear pricy but the rooms are very well appointed and the breakfast was very well done.

Regretably our group of eight 50 somethings, who were celebrating one of our groups fiftieth birthday, were collectively struck dumb when the proprietor ticked us us like a group of naughty school children for drinking a bottle of our own 50 year old port in the residents lounge at ten oclock in the evening on our final night. As we were jointly going to hand over a £1000 or so in the morning that did seem particularly churlish especially when most of us had bought from his informal honesty bar during our visit.

I was also surprised to be so obviously monitored by the proprietor when our group sat down in the evening and chatted together in the guest lounge, I was equally surprised to have the lighting arrangements in that room changed by him without reference to ourselves.

We may just have been unlucky and caught the owner on a bad day but I will not be returning to check on that.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CRF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
It’s very disappointing when a stay doesn’t meet hopes or expectations - but thankfully that is very rare indeed. We do appreciate the chance to listen carefully to feedback, and seek to draw lessons from it where appropriate.

We feel that we went to some lengths over the weekend to provide great service to the group. We have hosted many special birthdays and other celebrations, and we delight in going an extra mile to make them extra special.

There are two sides to every story, but ultimately we must simply say that we’re sorry the weekend wasn’t a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
4.9 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
5.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#14 of 25 in Seahouses
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Cuthbert's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Property: St. Cuthbert's House
Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
St. Cuthbert's House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing