We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Cuthbert's House
Ranked #1 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Having found St Cuthberts through Trip Advisor we had high expectations and were definitely NOT disappointed.
Five of us had a 3 night break and both rooms were perfect for our needs. Jeff and Jill have done an excellent job converting this Chapel and their hard work has paid off.
We ate in the Open Door on our last evening and would recommend the quality food and drink!!
Basically a lovely B & B in a beautiful part of the Country.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2009

‘Perfect’ is quite an accolade – but we’re so pleased that’s how you describe your break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 823 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at the start of August to celebrate our first wedding annivesary. We found St. Cuthberts to be everything that a B+B should be and lots more !! from the delightfully reviving cuppa on arrival (after a long drive) to the delicious locally sourced breakfasts and all the little extras in between such as comfy beds, a sherry or 2, guide books to borrow and lots of local tips.

All in all it made for a memorable stay and a relaxing break. Jeff, Jill and family deserve a pat on the back for transforming this quaint little church into a top notch B+B.

Would definitely recommend !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2009

Thanks for celebrating your anniversary with us. Glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My partner and i travel up to northumberland almost every year, we rent a cottage for a week and then have a night in a hotel to extend our stay. We were the very first booking taken for St Cuthberts and i must say at first this caused some concern! However, this was completely unfounded. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Jeff and Jill, clearly a couple very committed to providing a warm and comfortable stay. The rooms are fabulous and the bath was huge! The whole conversion has been executed to a very high standard and makes a lasting impression. If you stay at St Cuthberts you must sample Jill's fantastic breakfast, its delicious! All in all i would highly recommend a short or long stay at St Cuthberts.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucywWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2009

We’re impressed you were inspired to write a review more than a full year after your stay! Yes, those were early days, and we think we’ve built on the good impression you gained. Thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We had a short break to the wonderful place and enjoyed a relaxing break. The accommodation, food and hosts were commendable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We had a wonderful introduction to Northumberland with its delightful coastal and inland scenery, rich in cultural heritage and history when we stayed at St Cuthberts at the end of July.

Here is five star plus accommodation and facilities in an attractively converted chapel with welcoming, friendly and helpful hospitality provided by Jeff, Jill and Family.

Great food sourced from local produce at breakfast and at the Open Door in the evening.

Many thanks for the recipe for Lemon Ricotta cake and taste of Northumbrian small pipes! We played Kathryn Tikell on CD all the way home!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whizzy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thanks for your review. We wonder what we could improve in order to warrant an 'Excellent' grading, since you considered us '5 star plus in all departments'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We spent four nights at St Cuthberts as a birthday treat for my Fiancee and loved every minute of it. The booking was made after viewing the superb website and found that the promises made there were certainly backed up in reality
The location was quiet with only a short walk to the busy harbour at Seahouses - delightful !. The room clean and spacious with superb shower facilites. The service was superb and all the family friendly and welcoming. We tried the Open House restraurant - super food, brilliant service and the bottled beer menu is to be recommended.
All in all - completely faultless

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CUSTARD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2009

Thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed our beer menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We celebrated our 10th anniversary in Northumberland and couldn't have picked a better place than St Cuthbert's House to be. Jeff and Jill gave us the warmest of welcomes to their beautiful home. The church conversion into a restaurant and B&B is superb. Every detail has been carefully thought out and beautifully rendered. Everything is 5 star hotel standard, my partner being on the tall side very much appreciated the roomy shower! beautiful rooms, beautiful food, all the facilities you would expect in a hotel (wireless connection, hairdryers, dressing gowns, a mountain of information about the area down to daily weather forecasts), a luxurious lobby complete with huge projector screen for TV! But that's where the comparison with 5 star hotels ends, since the Sutherans hospitality (as you've probably gathered from other reviews this is a real family affair with Jeff and Jill running the B&B and their 4 children running the restaurant) and warmth surpasses any hotel experience I have ever had and really made it a special place for us. Someone mentioned the feeling of intimacy and I think that's spot on. None of the impersonal treatment you get as you're 'processed' for breakfast or dinner in other places. The Sutherans manage to make you feel like you're a special guest in their home and it feels like a privilege to share it with them!
Oh and if you're reading this Jill, Kevin thanks you for the ginger! We may be needing some again when we come back to see those puffins!:-)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2009

We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope it made your anniversary extra-special.
What we’re most pleased to hear is that you felt a genuine warmth and welcome here. However well-equipped any hotel might be, there will always be that little ‘something’ missing. Here, you’re our guest and we can get to know a little about one another (if you want to). I’m not sure ‘intimacy’ is what many guests would expect though! But I know what you mean.
We should thank YOU for the ginger tip! We keep a large stem to hand now, for anyone nervous about the boat trip…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,312 reviews
4.2 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#4 of 25 in Seahouses
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#5 of 25 in Seahouses
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Cuthbert's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: $179 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
St. Cuthbert's House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing