We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable B&B with owners who can't do enough to please”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Cuthbert's House
Ranked #1 of 26 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very comfortable B&B with owners who can't do enough to please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Upon arrival, our host Jeff informed us that his aim was to want his guests to want to come back. If we were visiting this area again, we certainly would. Jeff was keen to help us with ideas as to where we should visit in the area; to find out such things as the tides for our plan to drive across the causeway to Holy Island; and to get us in to local restaurants at the last minute. Our room was large and comfortable, with a good-sized en suite bathroom. The downstairs lounge was great, as as the availability of local ales and other drinks for which you could sign a chit. Breakfasts (courtesy of Jeff's wife Jill) were great with an excellent variety of locally-sourced produce. Off-street parking around the back. Certainly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
590
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We used St. Cuthbert's as a stopover on our journey to the Highlands of Scotland and we're so very glad we did. Jill & Jeff were excellent hosts. The room we stayed in was lovely and comfortable and the breakfast next morning was delicious. The guest house was a luxurious haven of peace and quiet. We would certainly recommend St. Cuthbert's to our friends and we look forward to staying there again, although perhaps for longer than just a stopover.

Room Tip: We were in Brigid which was at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletchmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. We hope you'll come back for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

St Cuthbert's is just excellent. The conversion of this old church into a luxury guest house manages to maintain all the tranquillity of a church with a vibrant and welcoming guest house. The standard's of Jeff and Jill are very high indeed, and everything is thought out and raised to an excellent level. The cooking only uses local and organic food and the breakfasts are outstanding. Every detail is perfect, they even have wooden hangers in the wardrobes! Jeff and Jill are very friendly and every request for local information is met with a contagious enthusiasm for their locality and they clearly have a very extensive network of local contacts who have been tried and tested to their own very high standards. A joy to visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Any item of clothing makes you look smarter when it's been stored on a wooden hanger, don't you think? ;-)
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, thanks for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I see this place really doesn't need another review, but I'll say it again: this place fully deserves all the great reviews it's garnered. Jeff & Jill were fantastically welcoming and helpful, and all the little details really added up to a splendid stay. It's also a beautiful and interesting area to enjoy, and Jeff & Jill's local knoweldge helped us greatly in gettig the best out of it. Wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyBiker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
On the contrary, it's great (and very important) to have a regular stream of guest reviews, as this is what keeps us in a prominent position amongst other great accommodation providers in Seahouses. Without regular reviews - we're sunk! So thanks very much for yours. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place is good and deserves to be another category above B and B. It has all the personal attention missing in hotels but is spacious and does not have any of the cozy fuzziness of BandBs that feel like you're tresspassing. Jill and Jeff are super helpful and true to Northumbria folk are friendly to a fault. There is a long breakfast selection that is tops for quality and quantity. This building is in a converted chapel with a lounge with a double height ceiling. The sitting room has comfy chairs and a library packed with local information and fiction books. There is a curtersey bar with top shelf beer, wine and booze, so you can a nightcap with out having to go the local pub and driving home. Our bedroom and bathroom was big and a nice simple style.
It's just like being at home, if you lived in cool loft building.

Room Tip: I am sure that all the other rooms were the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcplod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I don't think we could find anything negative to say about St Cuthbert's House. The accommodation is wonderful and we had a fabulous weekend there. Jeff and Jill made us feel so welcome. We were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it just happened to be a weekend they were holding a house concert so we decided to go along, and this was an added bonus to our stay. We hope to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the house-concert especially. They have all been very special occasions. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lovely B&B in a great location. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and cook a great breakfast! The rooms are gorgeous, and the building itself is an incredible modernised chapel. The communal space is very good for relaxing in, and there are beers and wines on sale. Beautiful area, close by to lots of Northumberland's best attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padrig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.9 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#5 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Cuthbert's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Property: St. Cuthbert's House
Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
St. Cuthbert's House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing