We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Cuthbert's House
Ranked #1 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb stay!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We are the other of the two couples mentioned in the review by "Achmore". I was excited about staying at St Cuthbert's as I remembered the building from going to church there with grandparents from round the corner every summer very many years ago as a child. I was not disappointed. Everything had been thought of. The room was perfect for us; breakfasts were delicious - and what a choice; Jeff and Jill were so helpful and full of local knowledge. We have already recommended St Cuthbert's to friends and will certainly return. The conversion of the church is quite incredible and so tastefully done. A very comfortable room - perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
It was lovely to share your recollections of being in church here all those years ago, and to trace all the people you knew in our village from those days. And we're really glad that your memories have been enhanced by the present reality! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
603
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Achmore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at St. Cuthbert's House (as a group of two couples) - it was indeed excellent on every count and we would highlight the following: the stunning architecture and the tastefui renovastion of the original building; the service was outstanding; a palpable friendliness was in evidence all times, the attention to detail both in the accommodation/bedrooms and for breakfasts - the meeting of individual requests in the impressive breakfast menu was exceptional; and the comfortable sitting room area. In short, we could not have asked for better and so we have no hesitation in recommending this guest house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank achmore t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We're pleased you all enjoyed your visit. We like to be able to give you just what you need, so were glad to be able to meet your special request. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely time at St.Cuthberts for my birthday. Fab breakfasts, comfy room, lovely hosts. Was very tickled to find that the honesty bar is where the pulpit was, prior to the conversion of this Presbyterian church into the b&b. Hosts are very knowledgeable about the area and gave me some good, off-beat sight-seeing tips.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We were so pleased that you enjoyed a special birthday treat at St Cuthbert's House. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A comfortable and welcoming luxury B & B in a sympathetically converted 200year old church. The attention to detail shines through not just in the conversion but also in the food and hospitality of Jill and Jeff our friendly and knowledgeable hosts. If you are looking to explore this beautiful and unspoilt area look no further for your accommodation. You will not be disappointed!

Jeff and Jill spare no effort in making your stay one to remember. If it's suggestions for a day out or somewhere to eat to march your appetite they were full of ideas and were interested in your feedback too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurW70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We like to refine our recommendations by hearing of your experiences, so we can make sure everything is just as we think it is! Tanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We could not have picked a more fitting place to spend our sixth wedding anniversary. The rooms are wonderfull, large spacious beds and the bathroom was just perfect. Nothing is to too much trouble for Jill & Jeff they are both very friendly and have a vast knowledge of the surrounding area to help with days out or eating out. The breakfast was really good and all freshly made to order. This was a wonderful mini break and the room and our hosts certainly made this a holiday to remember.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at St. Cuthberts as part of three weeks of travel in England and Scotland. Easily the best place we stayed. The building is fascinating, the level of comfort superb and the hosts -- Jill and Jeff -- could not have been more friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are wonderful. Only regret is that we did not have time to stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
It means a lot to us that as experienced travellers on a very long trip, you find St Cuthbert's House the best place you stayed. It's a long way for you to return, but maybe one day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

myself and my husband have just retuned from a four day break at St. Cuthberts and how relaxed we feel. This is a beautiful conversion with the intention, i'm sure, to give comfort & hospitality, and it most certainly does. The house has a very calming effect, our room was just perfect, the bed, the shower, the towels, even to the dressing gowns & slippers provided for us - shear luxury, the room was spotless and the attention to detail impecable. Our breakfast was well worth waking up to with a lovely menu - very different, very tasty & highly recommended, we tried everything, each being just as good as the last! Jill & Jeff are very approachable, very friendly people, with a great deal of knowledge about the area and are only too willing to share it. A truly wonderful, relaxing stay would return tomorrow.

Room Tip: my self & my husband shared the 'Oswald' room, which is very handy for the private car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks for your kind review. We're glad you found everything to your liking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
4.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,205 reviews
4.9 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#5 of 25 in Seahouses
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#13 of 25 in Seahouses
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Cuthbert's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Property: St. Cuthbert's House
Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
St. Cuthbert's House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing