We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mainston House
Ranked #13 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Better than most hotels! Friendly helpful host who even helped carry the luggage in! Parking available and the guest house is and only very short walk to the centre. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, good sized en suite ground floor room with good quality bedding and towels, tea making facilities and flat screen T.V. Great choice of breakfasts, cooked to order. Without doubt when we are back in Seahouses, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: We only saw the room we were allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
55
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The outside does not give a true picture of the quality of the accommodation in this B&B.Excellent location within walking distance of town centre. A polite and warm welcome from the owner and a lovely surprise when we saw the room. we stayed in room number 2 which was a kingsize room. The bed was huge with lovely quality bedding. The decor was modern and stylish, very clean. Flat screen wall mounted TV and lovely seating area with 2 comfy modern chairs and table, facilities including tea and coffee, biscuits and hairdryer. En suite had a bath and ovehead shower. Again very stylish decor and spotlessly clean. Only negative was that the room was uncomfortably warm or it may have been a very high tog rating on the quilt! A very pleasant stay. Good choice of breakfast and plenty of it. The owner is a very friendly yet professional host. Would definately recommend this place and would like to stay again. Stay was £70 for 2 on a bank holiday weekend and was worth every penny

Room Tip: I would request the king size room in room number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Was impressed by house at first arrival, off street parking and warm welcome even although we were early. First impressions of room were excellent. Staid in king size room for four nights and our first impressions were never changed. Excellent breakfast with choices and served by friendly helpful staff.

Would not hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grace vere h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here for a week to visit the Farnes, Lindisfarne and explore the Northumberland coast. This is a spotlessly clean B&B and Simon takes care to ensure his guests are comfortable. He is really helpful about the local area and eateries. He delivers a substantial, basic English breakfast with excellent hot, crisp toast as well as the perfect fried egg! The single room is adequately appointed and comfortable and has the luxury of a large bathroom with bath as well as shower. The situation is good just a few hundred yards from the Main Street shops and harbour where the boats go daily to the Farnes. Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

the double "kingsize"room was fantastic.clean,comfortable tastefully decorated.Simon was the perfect host,breakfast tasty.occasional chat,knowledgable but not pushy.Short walk into Seahouses,We often go away for long weekends and i can honestly say that Mainston is the best weve ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shapwicktwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Hi , ive just recently spent 4 nights at Maiston House B&B, staying in the single room and i can fully reccomend this to anyone looking for excellent single accomodation. Simon is a great host,serving a great breakfast, along with the usual Tea ,Coffee & Biscuits in the room :) in an immaculately clean house ( how he keeps the beige carpets so clean is a miracle :) and the single room and en-suite are quite spacious ( especially the bathroom) compared to others i have stayed in previously (it even has proper dividing walls,unlike some cardboard box B&B"s ive stayed in before :( it has on -site parking and is just a few minutes walk into Seahouses centre and the rest of Northumberland awaits.
Anyone booking here will return again in my opinion
I certainly hope to return soon , and hopefully try the Kingsize out :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just spent a week based in Seahouses, staying at Mainston House. Can't fault it. Simon was friendly and gave good advice, breakfasts were excellent, and the single room (with spacious bathroom) is better and bigger than most other single rooms. Mainston House is within a stone's throw of nearly all Seahouses' pubs, restaurants, etc and the boats to the islands.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phllnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
3.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#10 of 25 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunelm House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#8 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndgrove House
Wyndgrove House
#12 of 25 in Seahouses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainston House

Property: Mainston House
Address: 92 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mainston House offers high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation with off street car parking a modern breakfast room offering an a wide choice of breakfasts. There are three types of room, the standard walk in room with en-suite shower room, king size bed, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities a single room with TV, coffee and tea facilities with en-suite bath and shower or choose the super king deluxe room, with en-suite bathroom, 32" flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities. The House is set just 100m from the Main High Street and 500m from the Harbour and gate way to the Farne islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Mainston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainston House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing