We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent yet still personal and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Olde School House
Ranked #5 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for first time in many visits to the area. Bedrooms exceptionally comfortable and a very warm welcome for everyone.

I don't believe I have ever slept in a more comfortable bed. Breakfasts are consistently good, providing an ample start to an active day spent diving the beautiful Farne Islands.

Nothing is too much trouble for most Northumbrians, simply a local characteristic, but this family business is a leader in the field.

Room Tip: WiFi has problems with substantial walls - but they don't half shut out any snoring from other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoolie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 242 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here on a short break travelling down the North East coast with friends on a walking holiday and were delighted with the standard of accommodation /friendliness of hosts and food. We would not hesitate to recommend this venue. Only downside was we didn't have enough time in this lovely location and will definitely be back for a second visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

thank you so much for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

3 bedded room was clean and spacious with very comfy beds. Location is about half a mile out of town but a pleasant level walk. Breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruit. Hosts were both very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you, for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a last minute booking at The Olde School House to escape from our own business for 24 hours.

Our room was comfortable and very clean. The value we had for 3 of us staying (including our 13 year old) plus 2 dogs was excellent. Joan is some sort of superwoman proviiding and serving a very nice breakfast for the guest from 5 rooms.

Would love to return one day to visit a part of Northumberland that we love so much.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get a ground floor room where Joan allows pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFarnes, Manager at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you, for your kind comments. I am pleased you enjoyed you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A superb b&b. the room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The family made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was perfect, especially the poached eggs! Unfortunately the wifi didn't work in our room but there was no problem going to the kitchen to use my ipad. We will certainly be returning next time we are in Northumberland.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFarnes, Manager at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

thank you, for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was not our first time staying at the Olde School House B&B and it won't be our last! Over the last couple of years I have arranged a diving trip for a group of friends and have been staying here as the B&B is run by Joan the wife of Andrew, one of the boat skippers. Each time we have received a warm welcome from Joan and Andrew. The rooms are lovely and all immaculately clean. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities plus there is a fridge in the guest area. The rooms are lovely and warm (our stays are late in the year to dive with the seal pups) which is just what you need after diving. The breakfasts are lovely and they are timed for the dive boat. This B&B is also handy as you can walk into Seahouses in the evening for dinner. A great place to stay for diving and exploring the beautiful surroundings. Looking forward to visiting again in October.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFarnes, Manager at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

thank you, for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed as a group before diving around the Farne Islands. The rooms were roomy and very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and we were made very welcome by Joan. I normally struggle to sleep on a first night away anywhere - but not here! Slept like a log! I would highly recommend this accommodation as it is away from the main road and quiet (except for the odd seagull). If you are thinking about visiting Northumberland, then give this B&B a go. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms 1/2/4 are great for couples. 3 & 5 are good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFarnes, Manager at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you, for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#4 of 25 in Seahouses
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#9 of 25 in Seahouses
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Megstone House
Megstone House
#6 of 25 in Seahouses
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde School House

Address: 17 North Lane, Seahouses NE68 7UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: $107 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Olde School House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful guest house situated in the old part of Seahouses, but only 5 minutes walk to the heart of the village, harbour, bars, restaurents and 5 minutes walk to our golden beaches. All our rooms are en-suite with Freeview TV, thermostatically controlled central heating, Free Wi-Fi access, Tea and Coffee facilities and your own private entrance so you can come and go as you please. We also offer a discount for trips to the Farne Islands with Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Olde School House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde School House Hotel Seahouses
The Olde School House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing