We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Olde School House
Ranked #5 of 26 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“2nd Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our second visit and will be back for a third. Stayed 2 nights in this lovely family B&B. Comfortable rooms and bed with en suite. Very Clean .
We were made to feel like a family member. Good range of breakfast on offer.
Lovely family consists of Joan , Andrew, Charley and Archie.The most friendliest dog "Bud" I have ever seen who loves sailing!! We also got introduced to the latest family members 4 mallard chicks who just turned up one night for B&B and have stayed nearly 2 weeks.
Thats how good this place is - a real gem.

Room Tip: Great rooms - ours looked out on garden where mallard chicks were. There is a large fridge for comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southerdeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFarnes, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    17
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

For myself and 6 friends this was the 1st stay over on our recent coast and castles cycle ride.Following a day of riding our bikes into 50mile an hour head winds this B&B was a welcome sight-the rooms were all comfortable and exceptionally clean with excellent showers in all the rooms.
The owners were very welcoming and even offered to drive us to the pub to save our weary legs.
The breakfast was fantastic and set us up perfectly for the onward journey.
This was without doubt the best B&B we used on our 3 night trip.Would certainly recommend it .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! it was lovely meeting you all. I hope the rest off your trip was wind free!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

After a few bad weeks we needed a place in Northumberland to stay for a couple of nights break
We know the area well and this was perfect for what we needed with our 2 wee westie dogs
The room was very comfortable and the breakfast hit the spot..I must add the coffee was great (and I'm fussy)
We will be back !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank championi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and hopefully we will see you soon. Regards Joan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in August on a mini tour of Northumberland. Really nice place, clean & tidy and very welcoming. Feels more like your a guest in their house than a conventional B&B. Room was very comfortable and the breakfast was really good. We also used the owner's boat 'Serenity' to have a sail around the Farne Islands which is highly recommended and good value for money. Location is great, only a short walk to the centre of Seahouses and the Harbour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here together with a group of scuba divers to dive on the Farne Islands at the beginning of August 2012. I was well impressed with the accommodation which was clean and fresh, it looked as if it had been recently decorated throughout, beds were comfortable and rooms nicely furnished. Breakfast was first class, a full English nicely done with cerials and toast etc was my choice. We were made very welcome by the family that run the Old School House and, as divers, there was a tumble dryer available and a drying space for our dive kit, an added bonus. If diving the Farne Islands or just visiting the area , I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay here! It will be my first choice when I go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

we stayed at the olde school house for three nights in august 2012.
the couple who run it are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was lovely,
take a trip on the serenity with andrew, fantastic trip and well worth it.
we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

we stayed here in june 2011. what a lovely spot - friendly helpful hosts. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit and served in the dining room adjacent to the kitchen - a friendly, homely situation. Other guests were chatty and relaxed as well -indicative of the general warm and relaxed tone. Northumberland is a wonderful area to visit. So many natural highlights - unspoilt beaches and the wonderful Farne islands and lots of great unspoilt human history as well!
Thankyou for a lovely stay and i hope we will get back there one day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cntaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#10 of 26 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#8 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 26 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde School House

Property: The Olde School House
Address: 17 North Lane, Seahouses NE68 7UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Olde School House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful guest house situated in the old part of Seahouses, but only 5 minutes walk to the heart of the village, harbour, bars, restaurents and 5 minutes walk to our golden beaches. All our rooms are en-suite with Freeview TV, thermostatically controlled central heating, Free Wi-Fi access, Tea and Coffee facilities and your own private entrance so you can come and go as you please. We also offer a discount for trips to the Farne Islands with Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Olde School House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde School House Hotel Seahouses
The Olde School House Seahouses, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing