We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”
Review of The Redesdale Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Redesdale Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at this charming place over Easter break of this year. From the warm welcome as we arrived, to the excellent food and drinks, and clean comfortable rooms, we were extremely pleased all around. The location is top as well, right in the middle of Northumberland national park, perfect for some quiet rest and relaxing walks. We will definitely be back when we're lucky enough to visit this part of the country again and would gladly recommend the Redesdale Arms to our friends visiting the region. Anna & Guillaume

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 87557traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleHotel, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Anna & Guillaume,

Thank you for taking the time you write your kind review of the Redesdale Arms. It is much appreciated. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again next time you are in Northumberland.

Carrol & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    65
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
142
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
355 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Was staying down the road and was told their kitchen was closed so we decided to drive up the road to find a place to eat. We then found redesdale arms. What's a lovely place. Pork and black pudding sausage was lovely. Service was excellent. It's obvious they take great pride in their work and want to make their guests happy. Anyone heading north should stop by this great place for a bite to eat.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wayan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleHotel, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear chefsimon69,

Thank you for taking the time you write your lovely review of the Redesdale Arms. We’re delighted you enjoyed your food, and you are right we do take pride in what we do, so it’s great to receive such positive feedback, it makes it all worth while!!
And, if you are reading our reviews because you are heading North, please do as “chefsimon69 says” and stop by for a bite to eat, or maybe an overnight stay!
Carrol & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Really top quality pub grub, and the puddings were excellent. This pub would have been given five stars but the menu needed a few more choices. However the choices on offer were outstanding. Highly recommend the salmon and sweet potato fishcake for a starter, whilst the chocolate brownie was superb.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TartanPimpernel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleHotel, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear TartanPimpernel2014,

Thank you for you kind review of the Redesdale Arms, we’re delighted you enjoyed your food, and look forward to welcoming you back, next time you are in the area.

Carrol & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed only one night but we shall certainly be returning...the owner and staff gave us a warm welcome on a cold Sunday early evening and after being shown to a lovely spacious and comfortable room we whiled away a few hours before enjoying the delicious home cooked bar food - home made chicken liver pate, followed by a great steak and ale pie and spiced apple crumble and custard. The bar staff were very sociable and attentive and the lovely lounge bar area with its log burning stove was extremely relaxing. The hearty breakfast the following morning set us up for the day...

Room Tip: There are great views from the front rooms . There is a very wide staircase up to bedrooms and a sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleHotel, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear millyYork
What a lovely review, thank you! We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Carrol & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently to attend a friends wedding at nearby Woodhill Hall in Otterburn. Having read the reviews on here I was expecting a nice stay, and on the whole it was, just a few things that frustrated me. The room itself was functional but very dated. The carpet was threadbare and there were various cracks in the ceiling, with ill fitting fixtures such as the extractor fan in the bathroom (Room 4). The breakfast was lovely, and served by very friendly staff, but when I went to check out, I wasn't asked we'd had a nice stay, or if everything was satisfactory. The member of staff behind the bar just took my key and grunted "£80" at me... Comfortable, warm and functional hotel. Just missing those finishing touches that make it a nice place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleHotel, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Gareth C

Thank you for taking the time to write what is generally a kind review of the Redesdale Arms. Anyone who knows the Redesdale Arms and our staff, will know that I cringed when I read the word “scruffy” I appreciate the standard of the room that you stayed in is less than perfect, it is due to be refurbished, however, we do ensure the rooms are clean and comfortable. I also took a sharp intake of breath when I read about your experience at check out. Our Trip Advisor reviews and guest comments book are full of compliments about the great staff at the Redesdale Arms, so I am disappointed that you found your experience on check out to be a let down. I can say with honesty that every member of staff is cheerful, courteous and professional; I wouldn’t have it any other way, and that is why I am baffled by your experience, I can only apologise.

I’m glad you found your stay on the whole to be a good one though and that you enjoyed breakfast. And we’ll hopefully have the finishing touches in place should you decide to come and stay again.

Regards

Carrol Armstrong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here just before xmas with our 6 year old little boy as we were going to the Kielder Winter Wonderland. Stayed 1 night and it was lovely. As soon as we got there the owner/landlady gave us a lovely warm welcome and even went to our room to make sure it was nice and warm as it was so cold outside. Our room was great- nice and big and the beds were comfy- having a bath was a bonus too!!! We asked to eat in the bar as there was a pool table and dart board there- this was no problem and the food was nice, as was the breakfast the next morning. Hopefully will be back to the Winter wonderland next year and would defo be booking here again.

Room Tip: Family room has a bath.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank heidi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleHotel, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Heidi A, thank you for taking the time to write you lovely review of the Redesdale Arms, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you next year.
Happy New Year!
Carrol & Mark and everyone at the Redesale Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

we stayed here for a weekend while we attended a family wedding nearby. The rooms were comfortable and clean and well stocked with tea/coffee/biscuits etc. The breakfasts were awesome and dinner in the restaurant on the first night was really good, and huge! The owners and their staff were very welcoming and friendly and really couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and happy, even giving us packed lunches to replace our breakfasts when we had to leave really early on the Monday morning. We had made several changes to our bookings as some of our party live overseas and had to alter flights etc, but it was never a problem to the staff. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - okay, it isn't five star luxury, but it is home from home! Just lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the better view across the moors, but also overlook the road, however th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moiraf624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.0 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#6 of 6 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redesdale Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redesdale Arms

Property: The Redesdale Arms
Address: A68 | Rochester, Otterburn NE19 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redesdale Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redesdale Arms also known as "THE FIRST & LAST" is situated in the Northumberland International Dark Skies Park, a great location, for visiting Kielder, Hadrian's Wall, Rothbury and the Scottish Borders and a great place for stargazing. We have been accredited as a "Dark Sky Stay & Gaze" destination by Northumberland Tourism. With ten well appointed en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, and a disabled access room, all of which are comfortable, light and airy. Some of our rooms have fantastic views over the Rede Valley and surrounding hills. There is also a cosy bar and lounge with a log burner and restaurant which is ideal for hosting your special event or family get together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Redesdale Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing