We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, beautiful views,”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
light filled kitchen with sitting area and fabulous views cosy log burning stove for winter months
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
light filled kitchen with sitting area and fabulous views
cosy log burning stove for winter months
master bedroom with patio doors and great views
En suite shower room in the master bedroom
The Granary taken from the pond/decking
a roaring fire on a cold winter evening
view from the kitchen
summer in the garden
swallows perched within a few feet of the kitchen window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Otterburn, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheila c
1 review
“Lovely, beautiful views,”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Location beautiful, stunning views, quiet but for sheep and lambs that kept us entertained, lovely garden, some may find it a little far out but we loved it, peace and quiet,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hootie196...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“6 stars!”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have now stayed in both properties on the farm. The Hemmel was truly amazing but The Granary is simply the best we've ever stayed in.
Main bedroom is downstairs with beautiful views, dexter cows in the field next door, sheep & lambs in fields beyond that.
The kitchen is upstairs as well as the lounge with that amazing view.

Each bedroom as en suite bathroom one even has bath. All the fixtures & fittings are good quality & everything is spotlessly clean.

Kate the owner is very welcoming & even left some fruit cake for us on arrival!

The garden outside the accommodation is lovely too & there is even a sun room with another bathroom.

There is a DVD player & Sky TV, wifi, some books, board games for when you are board with the view (not sure if that is possible)....

I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough, it is simply outstanding.

We will be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellywhee...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, stylish accommodation in an amazing setting!”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Loved this place....beautiful accommodation, log fire, stone walls, wooden beams & amazing views. The Granary was everything I expected & more. It has everything you need as if you were at home, to be honest, it was more comfortable than being at home, especially with Kate, the owner's home made scones, cream & jam on arrival. It's situated on a lovely farm amidst countless walks in and around the village of Otterburn. I absolutely loved it, it's peaceful without being boring. I even found myself sitting for ages birdwatching from the kitchen/diner area admiring the Woodpeckers, Blue & Yellow Tits and other birds that I don't know the names of. It's a lovely drive to the usual attractions in Alnwick & the coast... I cannot fault this place. I almost didn't want to write such a good review because I don't want it to become too popular!! The owners have done such a lovely job with the Granary...book it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Aah thanks for such a wonderful review Kelly. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime. Best wishes for 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jill854
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Wonderful Property”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Granary was immaculate in every way, warm and beautifully maintained with far reaching views of the moors and surrounding countryside. The owner was very welcoming and on hand if needed but otherwise left us to enjoy our holiday. It was the perfect base for exploring many interesting and historic places within easy reach and was a pleasure to return to each evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely house, stunning views and a great spot for exploring northumberland”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Kate is a fantastic host and has made the Granary an extremely welcoming and beautiful spot for a holiday. The cottage is really clean and comfortable with everything you could need on hand. The views from the bedroom and lounge are stunning and it made for a really relaxing break. We weren't far from the main spots to visit in Northumberland and had some great days out. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Thanks Dawn, I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you to stay again. Best wishes and happy anniversary! Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful and peaceful cottage. Just Perfect.....”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at the Granary between Christmas and New Year. What a place! Magnificent views, a wonderful property which is very spacious yet feels very warm and cosy. We walked our beloved Flat Coat, George, every day in the nearby woods, fields and streams followed by quiet afternoons and evenings by the log fire with not a sound to be heard. A truly memorable holiday and our thanks to Kate for making us feel so very welcome.
If you want somewhere quiet to recharge the batteries, walk for miles and then relax looking out at breathtaking views then we recommend this property highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2016
Thank you so much for the kind review and am so happy you enjoyed the peaceful location. Was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again someday, when the rain stops. Perfect Guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacation5...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a really lovely week staying at The Granary. Was an excellent base to explore Northumberland, so much to do just a short drive away. The views are stunning. Garden really is a picture with lots of birds visiting. The photos don't do it justice. This cottage really has everything you need and more. Was clean and tidy, fresh flowers & cakes on arrival, which was a lovely touch. Kate the owner there to welcome us and it was reassuring that she was nearby in case we needed anything. Was the best cottage we have every stayed in and we've stayed in a few! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing