We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A lovely family venue”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We booked this hotel after researching online for an overnight family stopover in Northumberland on our way to Edinburgh and the hotel manager was extremely helpful. We obtained a reasonable family suite and Dinner B&B rate. The children were very excited to be staying in a castle! On the day of arrival our room was Room 9 at the top of the country house and was clean and comfortable if a little basic for this style of hotel (No pictures, no welcome pack, no information etc) and we had to ask for extra towels as only 2 were supplied. We had dinner that evening and the menu was perfect with enough choice for kids and adults and a generous supplement as part of the DBB rate. The manager was attentive, warm and made the whole experience very special for all of us. We were all delighted with our choices of starters, mains and deserts and the young waiter was extremely polite and attentive. A truly wonderful dining experience. The food served here is well worth the stay and breakfast did not disappoint either!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerylMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    222
    111
    49
    42
See reviews for
81
426
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed one night in the library suite which was a very large, impressive room but could have done with a good dust. 4 poster very comfortable. Overall whole hotel could do with a good clean as dust everywhere, and windows dirty. Shame as could be wonderful. Management need to train restaurant staff in customer service, new waitress 1st night had no idea what she was doing and no management to guide her. Although food was lovely when eventually received this was let down by service. We and 3 other couples in restaurant never laughed so much it was like faulty towers- veg arrived after we finished meal. We waited 45 mins for dessert then it was cold and had to wait again. One couple waited over an hour and were still waiting when we left at 11pm. One gent asked waitress when looking at menu if it was beef Wellington and she confirmed this although clearly states butternut squash wellington. After he waited about 45 mins butternut squash Wellington was served to him. At no point was there ever any apologies. I must aknowledge that there was one gentleman who worked in reception and the bar who did have very good Customer service skills just a shame he was let down by his colleagues and the management team.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel could so easily have been really nice but stupid errors let it down badly. we had clean towels in our bathroom but also a heap of dirty ones and the shower was full of hair. The windows were dirty which made the lovely view blurry and the window need to be propped open with a bit of wood which was ok but we had to ask for the wood.No excuse for this when rooms over £100 a night. Breakfast was freshly cooked and good but why give us racks of stone cold bendy toast as soon as we sat down and then no hot toast arrived until everyone had finished their cooked (excellent) breakfast.
I would not recommend this hotel until they get their basic staffing sorted out.

Room Tip: very variable room sizes our party had 3. &8 were good, 11 very small for a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The building is beautiful but it is understaffed, leading to somewhat shambolic service. The room I booked bore little resemblance to the images on the website. Overall, it was a disappointing experience, plus I am still waiting for a refund of the £100 "pre authorised" on my debit card on arrival at the hotel.
Beware

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whitakers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Lets start on a positive, this looks like a nice hotel from the outside. However the overall experience of our evening here was a major let down. The room was large but the furniture is a strange mix of 'antique' pieces that don't look like they match together. Then we discovered that the TV didn't work and neither did the internet !! The lady on reception promised to call 'the manager' but we heard no more. One of the bath towels was damp and looked like it had been used (this was changed without complaint). Finally breakfast was a strange affair, it seems that butter and marmalade are scare resources as two small curls of butter and small dollop of marmalade (served for some reason in the bottom of the cup) are all that are provided. The staff seemed hassled, possibly because they had to serve out the orange juice which we clearly were not trusted to help ourselves too. It all seemed a bit penny pinching.......not impressed

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank foxton_russian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have just returned home having been guests at a family wedding at Otterburn Castle. This venue is superb. The driveway approach, gardens and surrounding landscape are breath-taking (the odd rabbit hopping about was lovely to see). The staff are courteous, friendly and will held wherever they can to make your stay memorable. The rooms (we had access to a double room and a family suite) were newly decorated and furnished as suited the surroundings (a fair number of antiques I'm sure). They were large, clean and fresh, bedding & towels white, and bathrooms spotless. The wardrobes housed iron, board, spare pillows, duvets, and wooden coat hangers (always a sign of class, I think!). The family suite had a small vestibule with 2 large bedrooms and a bathroom leading off. The children's twin bedded room had large soft toys in residence, and games and books in the wardrobe, making the children feel at home (small details that made a big difference in getting them settled down for the night). The window was also well out of reach of small inquisitive hands!
My husband has coeliac disease and his dietary needs were considered without fuss or confusion.
We had a special bed & breakfast rate because we were part of the wedding party, however, having looked at the website, the full price tariff is as I would expect for this calibre of hotel and very good value for money. The wedding food was very good, and the breakfast was all you would expect of a full English.
Negative points: our loo seat was a bit wonky. That's it (and it's probably already fixed by now!)

Room Tip: Rm 16: Double: 1st floor, the farthest to walk, overlooking the front, so no noise from marque where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassaHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great castle from the outside stayed in room 16 toilet seat falling off reported this but appeared not concerned, mold in comers of bathroom. Cleaning is a issue. Bed lovely and comfortable, breakfast ok but fruit needed stocking up poor choice left apart from main cooked breakfast order early as it takes a while to reach your table but relaxed. If more choice in area i feel despite its castle status it would lose trade poor over all nice to stay in castle

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,105 reviews
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Property: Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing