We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maryglyn,really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

enjoyed our stay here room had just been decorated and new carpets , food was excellant breakfast good, lovely getting waited on staff so friendly ,and the price we paid for it all you would have paid just for the meal . thank you travelzoo for the grt deal

Room Tip: room 9 is lovely huge
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryclevelandengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 670 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having read the reviews was concerned until we arrived. The hotel has undergone a major upgrade with newly decorated rooms and a new heating system. The staff were friendly and welcoming whilst the food was excellent.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank bart53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Enjoyed a couple of days and found the deal provided to be of exceptional value and included a free bottle if wine. The food was very good and the staff, in particular Deeanne and 'The Milk Lady', were a credit to the Hotel and made us very welcome. The management are still completing the renovations and that is the only reason I have marked them down. We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidmccarthy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our second visit and we were not disappointed .Greeted warmly at reception and shown to our recently re-furbished room..We had an enjoyable three course evening meal and bottle of wine(included in deal).Restaurant staff friendly and pleasant. Food of good quality and hot .Lovely large fluffy white bath towels and large comfortable bed .Good selection of dishes on offer for breakfast next morning .Although refurbishing still taking place in the Hotel ,our stay was still enjoyable

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterfly5444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I night stopped here whilst visiting the area for a wedding. Although our bedroom had been recently decorated and fitted with a new carpet, the rest of the hotel was looking decidedly shabby. Breakfast was reasonable although the service could have been better and the breakfast table could have been properly set. We had to ask for milk for the tea and coffee, butter for the toast and had to borrow the condiments from an adjacent table. We paid £100 for the experience of staying here - I doubt very much if we will ever return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Food poor even took our money on the second night then informed us we couldn't have our meal had to use the restaurant only for same meal but ten pounds dearer. Which we had dined in the night before only to be served Luke warm soup and six carrot sticks and eight green beans with over cooked salmon .front door constantly banging causing whole room to shake so don't accept room ten. Beds ok if under five feet six! Not value for money tried to complain but no one there to deal with it only a sheet of paper only compliment goes to the village shop.

Room Tip: Avoid especially room ten
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went there for my friends 30th Birthday, we booked out the full hotel.
The whole place was freezing we had to huddle next to the log fire to keep warm.
Our room was the coldest room I've ever stayed in had to sleep in clothes. Not to mention the noise of the front door slamming it shook the whole room. No toilet roll, no extra blanket, the TV worked occasionally.
The food was below average, couldn't chew the beef the duck was full of fat only decent thing was the broth during the day on the Saturday.
We would never go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,143 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,535 reviews
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range: $88 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing