We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth Invading!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It's difficult not to be impressed as you roll up to the front of the hotel. Neat gardens and the exterior looks not at all bad, considering its age and history.

The entrance lobby was warm and inviting and check-in was swift. The receptionist shoed us to our room, which was a nice touch.

Things then went decidedly Pete Tong for a few minutes, as our room totally underwhelmed us, as it was tired with well worn fittings and furniture. I put most of it down to the lack of paint brush action, but my good lady said that some arm muscle wouldn't have gone amiss. A dusty mirror and a nice array of cobwebs added to the wow factor! The bathroom was no better, with numerous condensation marks and a dated bath and shower combination. There were some bathroom accessories, but you wouldn't want to hang around in there any longer than necessary. And then there was the marquee, conveniently situated to block the view from our bedroom window. The room was also cold when we entered, although it warmed up quickly enough when we fired up the heaters.

However, we don't do moping, so we decided to do what we always do when fortune has not been kind: head for the bar!

The newly completed Stable Bar is a real plus, and its modern, funky interior contrasts nicely with the period charm of the main building. It has a pool table, TV, juke-box [!], but more importantly, a fine selection of foreign lagers and some impressive local real ales. The seating area for bar meals is situated away from afore mentioned pool table, so you won't be disturbed by any noise from excited hustlers!

The food was as good as I can remember from any hotel stay in recent years, and was equally enjoyable in both the bar and in the impressive, wood panelled dining-room. The head chef was on the sick, so the sous chef had taken the reigns, and what a job he did. One to watch, me thinks. Breakfast was superb as well, with locally sourced ingredients.

As always, it's the staff that make a place, and the quality of the team here could not be faulted. Smiling, helpful without being overly intrusive.

I heard that the Malaysian owner had planned to start upgrading the bedrooms earlier this year, but that this has been put back to early next year. He's got the potential to create something really special here, so the sooner the work commences the better.

I've given the visit 4 stars, which might seem generous considering the room quality, but we slept well, enjoyed our visit and drove away happy. Is that not what it's all about?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Octoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 670 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have stayed here before and had a good time, but on our second visit we were a little disappointed. The staff were pleasant, but the hotel is looking a little tired now. The main reception rooms were somewhat lacking in atmosphere, especially the bar. The food was nice in the evening, and the dining room has the welcoming feel that the rest of the place lacks. The bistro next door is like a community hall! Very stark. Sadly we would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

myself and husband have just returned after a weekend stay at the castle and would like to say it was fantastic the room was beautiful, on entering i was drawn towards the old tv in a corner of the room but we had not started to unpack when a young guy brought a flat screen tv with built in dvd very please about that.
the staff was 1st class,helpful and very pleasant, food was all served by two very hard working polite young girls and was wonderfully presented top marks to the chef.
the castle was everything and more that i was expecting,the grounds were fantastic i can`t wait to return in the summer to see it in full bloom.
the room was cleaned with fresh towels
after booking the castle i read reviews and i was quite took back with what people had wrote, the castle is old and very well kept, the tower dates back to 1245 so please expect and respect the fact the castle is OLD and not a modern country hotel.
we were very impressed with the well on your way to the toilets off from the sitting room, what a feature fab loved it.
our overall stay was great we will most definately be going back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Ushered straight to our room upon arrival as bar and lounges full with a funeral wake and were told it would clear in a couple of hours. I know it's an old building but furnishings quite grubby and in need of a refurb and rooms were very cold throughout hotel.

Bistro was closed, had dinner in restaurant, food ok, bit cold. Had a four poster bed which was why we booked but mattress was rock hard and very uncomfortable.

Staff could have made stay better if they tried to but seemed not to want to! Overall, disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here from 1-2 November. I have to admit we were worried having read some reviews the night before we were due to stay. However, we had a very enjoyable stay. We ate in the hotel on the first night and had breakfast both mornings. Our meal was enjoyable but could have been a bit warmer. Breakfast however was good and plenty of choice. We found the staff to be very pleasant and attentive. Our room was large and warm. A few comments we read people were complaining that the room was cold, we never found our room cold at all. Our TV reception was good and we had all freeview channels. Again lots of reviews complained about the tv reception!! We certainly had no problems. The hotel is beautiful from the outside and we found it to be full of character which you would associate with this type of building. Perhaps people pay a reasonable price for their stay but expect the Ritz....be realistic, you get what you pay for and we were more than happy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Used this hotel on may occasions to break the journey to Scotland. Always made very welcome and the food is of a good standard but the hotel really needs substantial investment. Our bedroom was large and the bed comfortable but the bathroom was in a mess, paper hanging off the walls and grime around the bath. Poor state of decoration also evident in other parts of the hotel. However there is little alternative accommodation these days in Otterburn with the Percy Inn up for sale and the Otterburn Hall Hotel closed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I are in our thirties and decided upon a night away together at the hotel. The castle is beautiful from the outside, as are the grounds and surrounding countryside. Inside however is a different story. Our room was very dated. Desperately in need of money spent inside, a complete refurb is needed. Our bed was extremely uncomfortable. We only paid 79 quid including breakfast so you get what you pay for. Breakfast was just okay, nothing special. Our meal in the bistro next door was very good, but unfortunately there were a group of local young men in, playing drinking games and being rowdy. Unfortunately two female staff members were encouraging the behaviour. Not very romantic! Stay in the a la carte restaurant if you don't want to be bothered by this. Overall it was a poor stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj1982Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,145 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,535 reviews
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range: $88 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing