We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country House and Castle 28th July 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for one night for my husbands birthday. We were in the library room complete with romantic four poster bed. To those people moaning about the 'state' of the rooms in terms of cleanliness you should get over yourselves, room was a bit dusty but It felt authentic and castle like. From the stone windows and the creaky floorboards it was interesting an fun and it had character. The staff were friendly and helpful so no complaints on that score. If we had to criticise the one thing I would say was that the food in the stable bar and breakfast were average. We booked through booking.com and got a discount on full price which was 40% cheaper which I would say was about right. Is a good base for exploring Northumberland and the borders of Scotland.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 670 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was one of those special deals which include dinner and a bottle of wine - it turned out to be much, much better than we had expected!
Room 3 (Umfraville Suite) was lovely and big, 4-poster bed for us (although 8 year old daughter claimed it) and a camp bed and a travel cot for the kids. Still loads of space even with extra beds.
Dinner was exceptional - we've eaten in some lovely places and this was right up there with the best of them.
Dinner on 2nd night wasn't as great, ate in the Stable Bar - although I'm guessing the same kitchen prepares all the food, there was a marked difference in the quality. Still OK though, nothing to complain about.
Breakfast - good selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt etc and really nice cooked breakfast and endless supply of toast.
Staff - wonderful! Every single member of staff we spoke to was really pleasant and welcoming, the lady who served us in the restaurant was lovely - spent ages chatting to us and really made the kids feel at home.
Gardens and grounds are beautiful - when we turned into the driveway we knew it was going to be lovely, what a great first impression.
Absolutely loved our stay and we'll definitely be back.
Fire alarm going off at 11pm caused a bit of a panic, by some miracle we were all already asleep - by the time we scooped up the kids and got out, everyone else was already returning to their rooms, so we weren't kept out any longer than necessary. No explanation or apology, however, although we didn't specifically ask what had happened. Also no fire brigade present to officially allow us back into the building. Not sure if they should have been in attendance?
Anyway, fab weekend - we loved it, kids loved it, great weather, lovely places to visit (Keilder Water), wonderful food and very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed two nights on a kgb deal to include dinner and a bottle of wine. Arrived at the hotel about six after checking out numerous National Trust properties during the day. The façade is extremely impressive and imposing.Checking in was really simple. Booked dinner for 8.30 for the four of us, me, the wife, brother in law and his partner. I had the lamb. I can easily say this was the tastiest, tenderest lamb I have ever eaten. The others were equally impressed with their choices. It was superb. Three of us followed the main with cheese and biscuits. The biscuits were home made and very, very crumbly. Too much so, to be honest.
The rooms were great. We were in The Umfraville Suite, room 3. A super room. Looked a bit tired around the edges but nothing to detract from the overall experience. The bathroom included a bidet which makes a real change in a hotel. This room looks out over the front gardens and driveway and was quite pleasant.
Breakfast was the usual fare and prepared to order.
The second evening we ate in the bistro/Stable bar. All the food is prepared in the same kitchen but this area does not have the same ambience as the oak panelled dining room. Again we had cheese and biscuits. Again, home made biscuits. These were a disappointment. Very floury, if there is such a word.
Notwithstanding this, the meal was absolutely fine. The wine was a bit pricey at £6.50 a glass though. There is, however no competition in Otterburn. The Percy Arms, a bit down the road is up for sale.
Towards the end of this meal we were informed there was no water in the hotel. It would however, be fixed for morning. Unfortunately, it wasn't. It is surprising how far a bottle of water will go when you're careful. Loss of water seems to be a recurring feature in the reviews.
There is a convenience store at the bottom of the hotel drive but that's about it for the village. If you need anything, make sure you take it with you. That also goes for fuel, the nearest garage is a few miles down the road and does not show on the satnav.
All in all, a positive experience. Would have given it four and a half if I could but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeromeozeroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and missed dinner that we had paid for but the staff swapped it for us to have our tea instead . We stayed in the library room , it was a large room with a 4 poster bed , fire place and sitting area , and the bed must of been very comfy as we slept in this morning and missed breakfast , which I was lookin forward too . Will defiantly go back in the future .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha23785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely old building with lots of history. Quite atmospheric complete with creaky floors. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always seemed to have a smile. The food was good, we ate in the Oak dining room the first night. The meal was free as part of the KGB deal but was very good. A free bottle of wine was included which was the house wine but we upgraded and just paid the difference. Breakfast also good and on the second night we ate in the bistro again the food was good but I felt that it lacked the atmosphere of the oak panelled restaurant. The grounds are lovely with plenty of little footpaths to explore. Our room (15) was more like a suite with a large hallway with wardrobes and the spacious bathroom leading off. A door went into the bedroom and the three little steps went up to a small sitting room which had a bed settee so presumably could be used for a family. The TV was poor but we are not too bothered about that on holiday. We will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Room 15 was very spacious with a good view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights for a wedding. The setting is beautiful and the wedding itself was perfect. The food was lovely, especially breakfast in the Oak dining room (although on the morning of the wedding, the woman serving was getting very stressed and was quite rude). The young serving chap (Phillip?) is an asset though and was very friendly and obliging. The bed was very comfy and we slept well on both nights.The downsides, however, were that our room (11) was rather dated. The TV (old style) only had three channels and they were fuzzy. Also, the bathroom was a bit mouldy and the whole room could have done with a bit of TLC. The hotel info book said we should have bathrobes and a complimentary bottle of water, which we did not have. Overall it was a lovely weekend but could have been made better by a bit of extra care.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here after purchasing a groupon offer and were worried after reading some stark reviews. We paid to upgrade to a four poster room (felt more like a suite!). The weather wasn't great (lots of snow!) but it added to the atmosphere of the hotel. Shortly after arrival all water and electrics went however the staff made us feel extremely welcome by opening the bar and lighting lots of candelabras in the main lounge. Most people staying here were up for a laugh having booked the same deal as us. Everything was fixed in a short period of time and didn't overly retract from our stay.

We had a meal in the evening, which was pleasant but nothing special. We were amused at the end of the evening when the staff left and told us to switch the lights off when we went to bed.

The hotel is very much full of faded grandeur, which is a shame. But if you are looking for an atmospheric enjoyable night away then you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katmilne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,159 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,547 reviews
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range: $86 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing