We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Historical Stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely old building with lots of history. Quite atmospheric complete with creaky floors. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always seemed to have a smile. The food was good, we ate in the Oak dining room the first night. The meal was free as part of the KGB deal but was very good. A free bottle of wine was included which was the house wine but we upgraded and just paid the difference. Breakfast also good and on the second night we ate in the bistro again the food was good but I felt that it lacked the atmosphere of the oak panelled restaurant. The grounds are lovely with plenty of little footpaths to explore. Our room (15) was more like a suite with a large hallway with wardrobes and the spacious bathroom leading off. A door went into the bedroom and the three little steps went up to a small sitting room which had a bed settee so presumably could be used for a family. The TV was poor but we are not too bothered about that on holiday. We will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Room 15 was very spacious with a good view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    217
    110
    49
    42
See reviews for
80
422
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights for a wedding. The setting is beautiful and the wedding itself was perfect. The food was lovely, especially breakfast in the Oak dining room (although on the morning of the wedding, the woman serving was getting very stressed and was quite rude). The young serving chap (Phillip?) is an asset though and was very friendly and obliging. The bed was very comfy and we slept well on both nights.The downsides, however, were that our room (11) was rather dated. The TV (old style) only had three channels and they were fuzzy. Also, the bathroom was a bit mouldy and the whole room could have done with a bit of TLC. The hotel info book said we should have bathrobes and a complimentary bottle of water, which we did not have. Overall it was a lovely weekend but could have been made better by a bit of extra care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here after purchasing a groupon offer and were worried after reading some stark reviews. We paid to upgrade to a four poster room (felt more like a suite!). The weather wasn't great (lots of snow!) but it added to the atmosphere of the hotel. Shortly after arrival all water and electrics went however the staff made us feel extremely welcome by opening the bar and lighting lots of candelabras in the main lounge. Most people staying here were up for a laugh having booked the same deal as us. Everything was fixed in a short period of time and didn't overly retract from our stay.

We had a meal in the evening, which was pleasant but nothing special. We were amused at the end of the evening when the staff left and told us to switch the lights off when we went to bed.

The hotel is very much full of faded grandeur, which is a shame. But if you are looking for an atmospheric enjoyable night away then you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katmilne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Without repeating myself I include a letter to the Manager I have send two weeks ago (still waiting for a reply), word for word.
Dear Mr ...
Having just return, after a night stay, at OtterburnCountry House Hotel, I am writing with great displeasure about our disapointing experience at your Hotel.
My wife and I often travel around Scotland (and now northern England) on a mini break and I am not in a habit of giving praises nor complaining unless is something superlative (good or bad).
Let me start from the beginning. My wife expressed a wow factor on arrival, a castle, how lovely, but once we settle in room 17 things started to go dowhill.
We wanted a cup of coffee but the (very dirty) kettle did not work, phone reception and the young lady said she will send someone up to check. Switch the TV on, not working either, electric clock not on, so we sussed that no power was switched on in our room. 20 minutes passed and no one came to our rescue, went downstairs to say that there was no power and 5 minutes later, like magic, the TV came on and the kettle satrted to make a noise.
As we prepared our self to come down for dinner we could not plug in the hairdryer under the mirror as the desk lay butt against the electric plug. After swapping round the furnitures we could finally use the dryer and the mirror. Then we notice that there was only one bed side light but it did not work and it was falling apart. Once tucked in bed at night there is no switch on either side of the bed to turn the lights off, one of us had to get up and put the lights off at the door.
In the morning the power was off again. I phone reception (3 times) at around 6.30am, no answer, so I took the kettle down in the lounge, plug it in and waited to boil, went upstairs (still no one to be seen) so we could have an early cup of coffee.
During all our stay there was constant humming noise like an extractor fan or something similar, during the day it is bearable but at night is impossible to have a sound sleep. We mention this to Anna during breakfast and by the time we went upstairs to pack the noise was no longer there (too late by then).
Let me continue. One of our hand towel was not only badly frayed there was a bit missing in one of the corners!! The toilet roll holder was loose on the window sill, it obviously came off the wall and no one took the time to hang it back on the hook that still there. the stainless steel bin in the bathroom is stained and dirty, so is the shower pipe that protrude from the wall, the sink is off the wall and loose, the corner wall in the bathroom is badly stained and black and the skirting board and "dado" rail in the bathroom have not seen a duster for a while.
There was no complimentary water in the room as stated in your info pack, the TV had only channel 3, channel 5 and sky news, unlike what is stated in your pack, the coffee/sugar/milk woodden plate is dirty and fallen apart. There is a bad stain in the bedroom ceiling, one of the bed side table door is kept closed by a tissue and the windows are dirty, mouldy and haven't seen a clean for quite some time. Some of the windows in the pubblic areas could do with a TLC and a few spider webs here and there. Half of the Paris goblet glasses at the buffet breakfast I would not have drank out of it.
Needless to say all the above grievances are supported by photographic evidence.
The Lady at reception on Monday morning ask us to fill in a questionnaire, we did mention a few things that where bad but too many to write, hence this letter.
In fairness all your staff was friendly and apoligetic, dinner was excellent so was breakfast, a big plus.
At your earliest convenience I would like to hear some comments from you.
Yours.
Alberto D.
I am still waiting for an answer but I think I will never get one!!!

Room Tip: Have a good look at the room before you aggree to have it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After reading some of the reviews after we had booked, I was a little worried as to exactly what the hotel was going to be like. The staff were very friendly & helpful, the food was excellant and the beds clean and comfortable. The whole building was lovely albeit a little 'tired' in places. Enjoyed our stay and hope to return. Thorougly recommend the massage with Louise and the 'otterburn trail' and walks in the grounds. We were on a KGB deal and have no complaints as we didn't feel any less valued as guests. I got the impression that the buiness had changed hands and sincerely hope the necessary funds are made available to make this a top rate place as the staff and the lovely building deserve it.

Room Tip: our room was on the ground floor and we were aware of a door banging, but reallly quiet at night whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psychicbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were delighted with our stay,pity we only had one night.Hope to be back soon.Staff all very helpful.Food was excellent!!!! Spacious room,comfortable bed.Squeaky floorboards added to authenticity !!!!

Room Tip: Room 14 was very spacious.Squeaky floorboards ,added authenticity .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Excellent food, friendly helpful staff and beautiful building - and very good value for money, stayed three nights as solo business traveller and both Bistro and restaurant had really delicious food.
Rooms comfortable and spacious

Room Tip: Stayed in family room 9...very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,493 reviews
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Property: Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing