We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Restful Break”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at Otterburn Castle with a Travelzoo voucher; remarkable value for money. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly without being intrusive, resulting in excellent service. Food at dinner and breakfast was delicious and well presented. Although the room decor was a little "tired", the room was very clean. Would make a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    222
    111
    49
    42
See reviews for
81
426
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the ever popular.Travelzoo dinner bed and breakfast deal. We paid the extra £20 for a 4 poster bedroom and got room 4 which was very pleasant, clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable. There were robes which was a nice touch and the usual complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocoate, water and biscuits for us. Yes it could have benefited from a lick of paint but nothing major to report.
We paid for afternoon tea with salmon sandwiches, BLT sandwiches, cakes, scones, jam & cream with tea / coffee which I would recommend as a nice treat.
Dinner menu was different to the one on their website which a lot of Travelzoo deals seem to do which I don't think is right as a lot of the choices came with a supplement. The staff were really friendly and prompt in serving you and the meal overall was delicious as was the breakfast with lots of choice. A few people have commented on the thin bread used for toast and although it is thin there's nothing wrong with it and the quality of the food is excellent.
Whilst in room 4 I took a video on the night and was able to see quite a few Orbs shooting around us which seemed to come from the fireplace. Very scary!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmatdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A really lovely experience to this most welcoming hotel. The staff are a pleasure to deal with, nothing is a trouble to them - genuine Northern warmth. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, drinks very reasonably priced. We upgraded to a 4 poster room, the 'Umphraville Suite', which was large and had a great view of the front grounds - a very comfortable bed and the on-suite complemented a very clean and well presented suite. All in all we had a very relaxing stay and loved the whole experience.

Room Tip: We think that having the upgrade gave us a super sized room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed on a travel zoo voucher on a sat night with dinner with wine, bed and breakfast. Although a little quiet upon our arrival, we soon got settled next to the coal fire in the lounge, lovely. Drinks prices very reasonable. Our room was large and a bit tired in places but it was clean and loved the antique furniture. Dinner was lovely although the prawns in the cocktail starter were very small and tasteless but the rest of the meal was faultless.The home made biscuits on the cheese board were amazing. A perfect nights sleep and then breakfast which was fantastic. All the staff were very efficient and friendly. Noticed that none of the other guests left a tip for the meal which I thought was poor and insensitive. Just because you have prepaid on a voucher deal doesnt mean you cant leave a tip. The staff deserved it. Shame on you. Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an overnight stay here on 18.4.13. Couldn't fault it really, the staff are all very nice and made us feel very welcome. Our room was very pleasant and clean, we enjoyed a extremely nice three course meal with wine on Thursday evening,the food was cooked to perfection and breakfast the following morning was lovely all in all a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpe Salvin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Otterburn Castle for 2 nights. The hotel is situated in Northumberland and is ideal for touring Hadrian’s Wall, Kielder Water and the Northumbrian coast. It is situated on the edge of a very small village with views of the countryside.

Otterburn Castle is well signed and has a good car park. Check-in was easy. Our room had an excellent view but the windows are small and narrow making it difficult to enjoy. The room was large as was the bathroom but the whole was in need of refurbishment with old and peeling decoration, well worn, shabby, much knocked-about, furnishings and linen which needed changing; some of the towels were frayed and threadbare. On asking for a move the Staff were unable to help because of a full house. Bed linen and towels were quickly changed on request. The room had the usual tea and coffee making facilities. The TV was an ancient CRT machine with what I guessed to be a 14” screen. On start up it was all dark shadows and on warming became a washed out haze of greys. Channels were restricted; there seemed to be several carrying Sky News and ITV but no BBC 1 or 2; it was basically unwatchable. The bathroom had lots of hot water but the shower gave only cold water which emerged from an almost completely blocked showerhead. The shower valve was changed but not the showerhead so we had hot water but very little. This meant both days without a fully operational shower.

The restaurant was efficient and we had nice, well-cooked food but there was no creative flair to the menu that was supposed to be à la carte but looked very table d’hôte to me. The second night we ate in the stables bar served by the same kitchen but with a better choice of food. Service was fine in both restaurants and while efficient and friendly the staff lacked a fully professional finish. Breakfast was served rather than buffet which is a plus and the Northumberland Breakfast was good. However it seemed that there was not enough table linen to lay all tables to the same standard.

Check out was quick and efficient.

This could have been an enjoyable stay in a pleasant part of the country but lack of investment marred it despite the efforts of the attentive staff. We would not stay again and could not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Loved the hotel, its old and what we got was exactly what we expected. We love the irregularities of the corridors, doors, stairs etc. Could do with some TLC as others have mentioned, we had room 17, lovely quiet room but the water stain on the ceiling, curtain off the railing in bathroom, covering on headboard not quite stapled down properly, paper wedges in the door on bedside cabinet to keep it closed, pillows and towlels need replacing but bed was lovely, all these things are cosmetic and easily fixed, and would have made all the difference. Food made up for these minor irritations, breakfast and evening meal on Travelzoo voucher was excellent value for money. Would stay again on this offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,109 reviews
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Property: Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing