We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an overnight stay here on 18.4.13. Couldn't fault it really, the staff are all very nice and made us feel very welcome. Our room was very pleasant and clean, we enjoyed a extremely nice three course meal with wine on Thursday evening,the food was cooked to perfection and breakfast the following morning was lovely all in all a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    226
    111
    49
    42
See reviews for
83
431
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thorpe Salvin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Otterburn Castle for 2 nights. The hotel is situated in Northumberland and is ideal for touring Hadrian’s Wall, Kielder Water and the Northumbrian coast. It is situated on the edge of a very small village with views of the countryside.

Otterburn Castle is well signed and has a good car park. Check-in was easy. Our room had an excellent view but the windows are small and narrow making it difficult to enjoy. The room was large as was the bathroom but the whole was in need of refurbishment with old and peeling decoration, well worn, shabby, much knocked-about, furnishings and linen which needed changing; some of the towels were frayed and threadbare. On asking for a move the Staff were unable to help because of a full house. Bed linen and towels were quickly changed on request. The room had the usual tea and coffee making facilities. The TV was an ancient CRT machine with what I guessed to be a 14” screen. On start up it was all dark shadows and on warming became a washed out haze of greys. Channels were restricted; there seemed to be several carrying Sky News and ITV but no BBC 1 or 2; it was basically unwatchable. The bathroom had lots of hot water but the shower gave only cold water which emerged from an almost completely blocked showerhead. The shower valve was changed but not the showerhead so we had hot water but very little. This meant both days without a fully operational shower.

The restaurant was efficient and we had nice, well-cooked food but there was no creative flair to the menu that was supposed to be à la carte but looked very table d’hôte to me. The second night we ate in the stables bar served by the same kitchen but with a better choice of food. Service was fine in both restaurants and while efficient and friendly the staff lacked a fully professional finish. Breakfast was served rather than buffet which is a plus and the Northumberland Breakfast was good. However it seemed that there was not enough table linen to lay all tables to the same standard.

Check out was quick and efficient.

This could have been an enjoyable stay in a pleasant part of the country but lack of investment marred it despite the efforts of the attentive staff. We would not stay again and could not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Loved the hotel, its old and what we got was exactly what we expected. We love the irregularities of the corridors, doors, stairs etc. Could do with some TLC as others have mentioned, we had room 17, lovely quiet room but the water stain on the ceiling, curtain off the railing in bathroom, covering on headboard not quite stapled down properly, paper wedges in the door on bedside cabinet to keep it closed, pillows and towlels need replacing but bed was lovely, all these things are cosmetic and easily fixed, and would have made all the difference. Food made up for these minor irritations, breakfast and evening meal on Travelzoo voucher was excellent value for money. Would stay again on this offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel with the Travel Zoo deal. We had DB&B for one night and 3nights B&B. We liked the old building and the staff were very friendly. Our room no,9 was extremely spacious as although there was only two of us we were in a family room with two bedrooms. It was a lovely room for a family as in the room with twin beds there was a selection of soft toys and yellow ducks in the bathroom. I thought these were nice touches.
We had dinner on the first night which was good but not good enough to persuade us to dine there on the other evenings.Breakfast was problematical. On the first morning there was no porridge, 2nd morning no smoked salmon, 3rd morning there was no smoked salmon and no orange juice and on the last morning there was still no smoked salmon and also NO BREAD!
The TV was old and it did not have BBC1.

Room Tip: Room 9 was at the top of the hotel and quite a climb. As there was no lift it would be impossible fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The W.T.C. stayed here mon and tues on a travel zoo deal.DBB 1st night BB 2nd .
The good first the staff are most definately this hotels best feature attentative whilst not 'in your face' and very friendly and helpful.
The building itself is amazing and is full of charecter.
The dinner in the oak room was nice but not as good as our last visit? food had been left under warmer for a while.Maybe some petite fours or even just after dinner choccie with post dinner coffee would be nice? The food in the Stables bar was lovely especialy the deep fried king prawns yummy.
We last stayed in August wheni reviewd our stay then reviews were all saying the place needed some TLC and was under the impression that renovation was on the cards.Hmmm didn't see much evidence of that eight months on.The lounge did look to be improved and the sofas comfy sitting next to the roaring fire lovely. We asked for cappuchino and latte but were told only caffetiers of coffee were available(very nice coffee mind you) but did feel this was a little lacking.Maybe a little made in house biscuit with the coffees would have been a nice touch?
There was no evidence of any rennovation in our rooms the paper was peeling in the bathroom and grouting missing from tiles.TV still only big old teles with only 2 channels working but hey didn't go away to watch tv!. These things are livable with because it is such a lovely place.However towels which were needing changing and were left in bath as notice requested we just folded up and hung back on rail! The 'wells' which housed the shutters has not been cleaned for some time and curtains (rm6)were off their hooks at the middle.These things don't take any money just a little more attention needs to be payed maybe.Also paper thin bread being used for toast on a morning such a shame, here's and idea don't use the expensive individual jams,marmalade and honeys just put out ramakins and with the money saved use some decent bread?
The paint is peeling around the windows apot of paint and some sandpaper would recify this easily.
Sorry these are niggly things which we let got because of the warm welcome and beautiful old building but Major Benson Blair some changes could be made at a slight cost and would make such a difference.This might loose you business with a more exacting guest.We love your hotel and your staff just a little tweaking here and there is needed.
That said we would most deffinately return because we do love this place just a little bit of tlc and as i said in my last review we don't need a faceless charecterless makeover because this would most certainly spoil The Castle just a little 'game upping'.

Room Tip: we love room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wittytitteecomittee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I were given an overnight stay as a gift on a Travelzoo voucher £89 it included 3 course meal,bottle of wine and breakfast. There is not much to do in Otterburn, we did visit the Mill,which was good. The pub Percy Arms is no longer open so we had one drink in the Stable bar which was reasonably priced before dinner. We ate in the Oak room, the meal and wine were very nice and the staff very pleasent. We noticed a few people had taken their well behaved dogs and wished we had too as there was plenty of places to walk with them. We were in room 17,quite a trek through the maze of corridors,it was in need of a bit of tlc but clean.The room was very warm and quiet. We enjoyed a full nortumbria breakfast the next morning which was lovely.Overall a very pleasent stay, one night was enough for me and yes I would go back but take my dog next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chabja1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Enjoyed our 1 night stay bkd through Travel zoo. Had 2 rooms . One on ground floor very spacious and room 15 on first floor which had 2 seperate areas through an arch so ideal for a family . Food was excellent for our evening dinner . Service from the staff friendly and courteous . Anna very helpful and lovely manner. Service at breakfast a bit slow but that can often happen when lots arrive at the same time . We did the 5 kms walk from the Castle which took in local area via sheep and horses and a local farm . Also visited Otterburn Mill for lunch which was good too. Kids had a great time on scooters and skate board in the quiet country lanes .
Highly recommend this venue for a relaxing stay in comfortable accommodation with superb food and friendly staff. Thank you

Room Tip: Room 15 if travelling with a child . although tv is in lounge area not in main bedroom . Room 2 if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpanther151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,126 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,524 reviews
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Property: Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing