We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Hotel is very nice and both Dinner and Breakfast were excellent and we found the staff to be really helpful.
The room was large and comfortable and we would recommend this Hotel .
Not a lot to do but there is a Woolen Mill shop and also a nice 3 mile walk around Castle area so ideal for 1 or 2 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyhols20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    216
    109
    49
    42
See reviews for
80
418
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have returned from a 2 day stay, with friends recently, through a travelzoo offer and have to say that this was an absolute bargain as we booked four poster rooms and were delighted with the standard and cleanliness. The meals were of a high standard and whilst the service was excellent, one member of staff at breakfast spoilt it as she was grumpy! However this did not spoil our overall enjoyment of the hotel. The receptionist, particularly Louise was extremely helpful and nothing was to much trouble, a star in the making!

Room Tip: 4 Poster rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runnerDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stopped here for one night as a valentines gift, we had booked a four poster room but unfortunately the room we were supposed to have had been flooded by a leak so we were given a standard room and were refunded the difference. The room was lovely and spacious and looked like it had just been redecorated, the bed was lovely and comfortable, so I would be curious to stay In a four poster room and see what the difference is (apart from the bed of course). The staff were really friendly both on arrival, at breakfast and at check out. As we are not into what we call posh food, we opt for the little restaurant/bar next to the hotel. Again staff were really friendly and we were the only ones in the restaurant that evening which was lovely. The food both in the evening and at breakfast was beautiful and I couldn't fault it. The tv only had two Channels but we aren't that fussed as we don't go away to sit and watch tv (I can do that at home just as easily) we found every now and then that too had a bit of a chill but we have heard there are resident ghosts and put it down to that as we had heating and hot water the whole night. Overall a lovely place to stay especially if you want a break away from the stress of daily life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZazzyGAltonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have just returned from a overnight stay here and it was one of the best hotel stays we have experienced for a long time! This was purchased on a travelzoo offer and an absolute bargain, food was great, my very 'hard to please with food' husband even commented that it was the best meal he's had...we will defiantly be going back even if it costs full price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie14589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at the hotel at the beginning of February for his 50th Birthday. We have previously stayed at the hotel before, however it has recently appointed a new General Manager Stefan and what a difference he has made already from the service at breakfast and the menu to the staff all were lovely , but in particular Kelly on reception and the lady who works in the Stable bar. The meals were all exquisite and the chef was very accommodating , all ingredients are locally sourced and of the highest quality. The ambiance in the hotel is lovely as is the castle itself . We stayed in the library suite which was stunning , it had gorgeous views and a very comfortable bed.Nothing was too much trouble , Stefan and his staff are to be congratulated because they are running a fabulous hotel. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle U.K.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from a one night visit to Otterburn Castle Hotel, this was a birthday gift and was a welcome break in the cold dreary days of February. We arrived early but the duty manager took us straight to ou,r room which was so lovely and warm we immediately felt at home. We had booked a four poster bed and so the room was spacious and clean with lovely warm towels in a spotless bathroom which also had lovely snug bathrobes. The tea and coffee facilities in the room were wel catered for but some of the furniture has seen better days and the TV must have come out of the ark, fortunately we didn't bother watching it as we were esconsed beside the roaring log fire enjoying great service and sampling afternoon tea. Later we ate in the Oak room again lovely and warm and delicious locally sourced food, much of it game but other choices were available. The portions are not huge but both of us had more than enough and the wine was lovely. Breakfast wasa treat again local produce was available including whiskey porridge and coaster kippers. All of the staff were attentive helpful and friendly, this hotel is one of the only employees in the beautiful village of Otterburn and now the only hotel and eating place In the village. If you are visiting this remote but amazing part of England then try to find time to call in at The Otterburn Castle, you' ll find a warm welcome I every sense of the word.

Room Tip: Upgrade too the best room and rooms on the west side or not overlooking the car park are the quietis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twocannygeordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We (Myself and my partner) stayed at the castle for one night for a surprise valentines gift for myself.. Driving up to the castle was AMAZING!! Really stunning setting.. Inside was FAB too.. Check in was great and the lady behind reception was lovely!!

Got into our room and was really not impressed to be honest.. Very very cold as the heating did not pack out any heat.. Bathroom was very shabby with mould on the wallpaper.. NO hot water came out the shower and the toilet was dirty (i had to clean it myself)

Went down for our 3 course meal which was FANTASTIC.. Amazing local produce and GREAT wine!! Yet again staff were great!! Ended up spending the rest of the night in the lounge as the fire was lit and could not bare to go back up to the cold..

Morning after went down for breakfast which was great.. Then went to check out. It's such a shame that 95% of our stay was pretty poor as the castle could be out of this world if they tried much harder!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Property: Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing