We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose Otterburn Tower now Castle as our wedding venue. We couldn't have asked for a better venue. The rooms were fantastic and the food lovely. Staff very friendly and any niggles on the day were ironed out swiftly. Disappointed wedding planner didn't work a Saturday (how bizarre as surely most popular day) but from reading other reviews I see they now have a different wedding planner!
Hired all 18 bedrooms making hotel exclusively ours for the day, which made it perfect, especially breakfast the following day as it was all our friends and family.
Married in the oak room, which was intimate and beautiful then dined in the garden room which I loved. Held 60 guests fine. Food very enjoyable and drinks reasonably priced
Got ready in Umfraville Suite (my mam and dads room) and it was beautiful. Stayed overnight in the Library Room (Bridal Suite) which was lovely as well. Enjoyed champagne and strawberries in our room the following morning.
Recommend Alan Fowler Photography, Burnopfield.
Will return for one of our anniversaries!
Stayed June 2006. Nearly celebrating our 7th anniversary!!

Room Tip: Library suite perfect. Umfraville suite beautiful!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LyndseyM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 670 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful setting, amazing food, wonderful staff but hotel rooms need to be given an update. We took some French friends up to Northumberland to visit Alnwick, Bamburgh, Kielder Water etc. This was a great location. The receptionists were outstandingly helpful - especially as the free wifi was a bit dodgy due to the remote location. The receptionist even downloaded our friends air tickets and printed them off for them. The dinner menu was excellent both evenings and the quality of the food was outstanding.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a four poster bed
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S33OOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having booked for the third year running we were very disappointed with the state of the hotel, no hot water from the shower, poor quality food that was often cold. The building is looking very unloved and is in need of reburbishment in all areas. The only thing that this hotel has going for it is the staff, who do every thing they can but without the support of management that is limited. The General Manager, who had just been appointed was not seen and when we complained about the water issues he would not come out of his office to discuss and offered a reduction of £60, not acceptable when you have not been able to shower for three days

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel until they have addressed the issues regarding hot water and the heating.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I arrived at Otterburn Castle 2 hours earlier than the stipulated check-in time with the idea of spending some time in the bar. We were happily greeted by the receptionist who informed us that our room was in fact ready. The room was more than acceptable adding to the castle feel of the building.

Evening meal was in the Stable Bar, a small but lovely place serving pub style food. My wife ordered the cheese and leek pie which she said was delicious, I ordered the Scampi with chunky chips - again delicious. Prices were more than reasonable.

Overall, while the hotel could do with a little updating (which the management are aware of) we had a fabulous night's stay at this hotel. There is lots of history within this building and you can feel it. We would recommend this hotel and feel we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: room 4 was ideal
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

stayed overnight for dinner bed n breakfast room 1 was beautiful although a little chilly but added to the castle stmosphere evening meal was outstanding , all staff were helpful and friendly and sitting in front of a log fire on a winters night just topped off the evening ( along with a few too many drinks )
Exelent and will be back

Room Tip: room 1 the downstairs fourposter room really quiete when we were there but the wedding marquee is ou...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I recently stayed here with my partner on the Travelzoo offer of dinner, bed breakfast and bottle of (very drinkable) house wine.
The hotel is obviously going through changes related to its renaming from Otterburn Tower (which is on all the paper work) to Otterburn Castle, and some of the furniture is shabby beyond chic. However, the bedroom was large and comfortable (though a bit cold for sitting in) and the bed firm and warm. The shower in the bathroom was a bit noisy with the tempertaure and pressure varying, but it did the job.
It was a wild and windy night, so we were glad to be able to close the shutters. However, the alcove that they fold out from was in dire need of dusting in both the bedroom and the bathroom (where they were the only form of window covering).

There was a welcoming fire burning in the lounge, and we were lucky enough to sit on the sofa right by it and warm up after our cool room. Dinner was very good, as was service throughout our stay. I tried the local venison, which was very tender and not too gamey, while my partner crunched his way through belly pork with crackling. I had a perfect chocolate parfait for dessert, with just the right amount of oozy sauce in the middle. The only complaint was the limited range of wines by the glass (and no half bottles) and also no bottled beers/lagers.
Breakfast was good, with the continental having plenty of fruit, and the full english having decent sausages - so often a let down!
It's a shame the weather was so poor, as the hotel looks like it is a great base for walks and historic property visits.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hcb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a Groupon deal. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The food in the Bistro was good. Our room was a good size but the decor was tired and the bed sheets were worn in places. The room was very cold. The only heating from a plug in heater. The bathroom was freezing. Apparently the hotel is due to be refurbished in the new year so I would recommend waiting until this is done before staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
19.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,145 reviews
16.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,535 reviews
16.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
10.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
7.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

Address: Brierley Gardens, Otterburn NE19 1NS, England (Formerly The Otterburn Tower)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otterburn
Price Range: $88 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly Castle Hotel in the heart of the beautiful Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otterburn Tower Hotel Otterburn
The Otterburn Hotel
The Hotel Otterburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing