We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You must stay here!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Owl's Nest

View of The Owl's Nest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of The Owl's Nest.
Simple but charming log cabin View from east,picnic area south facing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
View of The Owl's Nest.
Simple but charming log cabin
View from east,picnic area south facing
Open plan sitting and kitchen area
Views over the fields with grazing horses & goats
Cosy and comfortable sitting area with views across open fields
Kitchen with oven,gas hob & microwave
Light,airy bedroom comfortable double bedroom
Bathroom with shower
No owls in here !
Children's garden shared with two other holiday lets.
Some equipment removed due to H&S.
One of many rescued barn owls but not on public display
Beautiful views from cabin across open field; grazing horses & goats to feed
Stunning but never quiet !
Smile ! You're Going on Holiday !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dorothy T
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful except for the trains”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Arrived Monday afternoon but did not actually meet with anyone at the site until Wednesday morning. The door to the Owl's Nest was open however any everything we required was supplied and the place spotlessly clean. My two grandchildren loved feeding the horses and goats but the only other animals on view were the rabbits and peacocks, the latter regularly trying to come indoors. Because it was October the weather was not very good. It would probably be much better in the summer time but I would still consider going back again. Unfortunately the wifi was switched off when we arrived and was not on until day 3

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: How easy it was for the children to run around outside in perfect safety
Liked least: The noise of the trains passing a very short distance away at 6am
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette19...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You must stay here!!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

When I first arrived at the Owls Nest I squealed with delight and told my boyfriend we were never leaving this place.
Unfortunately we did have to eventually leave. But not before making friends with the goats, sheep, donkeys, horse, pony and peacocks.

The Owls Nest is a fantastic home away from home. It was cosy but spacious. Clean and nicely decorated. The little touchs like the milk for a brew was much appreciated. The bed is comfy and so is the couch. The kitchen was well kitted out with a selection of plates, glasses and bits and pieces. Waking up in the morning and opening the blind to the sight of the goats was lovely. The power shower was an unexpected find! Nothing worse than a weak shower.
Overall we loved our stay here. And we do plan on returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Thank you for a fantastic review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The goats,ponies and peacocks are great neighbours aren't they - especially when they call for their breakfast !
See you here again one day soon. Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayDr...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect - everything close by but peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We are so happy we chose the Owl's Nest - clean, peaceful and close to amenities. Everything you could ask for in a holiday home. Gifts on arrival, pleasant owners, animals, play park. Perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely place to stay
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael P
1 review
“Recommended place to relax!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely peaceful place to relax, very clean accommodation, everything there you need! Lovely surroundings and the animals are charming!! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Hygge-living 💜 At it's best”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have had a lovely three day stay at the Owl's Nest. The cabin is comfortable, clean and simple. It has has mod cons (microwave, DVD player, wifi) but is without excess 'stuff'. The boys have enjoyed playing in the grounds and feeding the animals (we love them all but especially the giddy goats). There are a couple of good 3-4 mile circular runs for you runners. Alnwick Castle and Gardens is a must-see (closed until Spring now, I think). We also enjoyed exploring Morpeth town with all its alleyways - can you find the stepping stones down one of them?? Druridge Bay and lake is a delight too and we spent a happy afternoon there. Thank you for the lovely goodies on arrival. We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing