We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well positioned B&B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle View Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Castle View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 32 Morpeth B&B and Inns
sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well positioned B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is close to the centre of the delightful town of Morpeth. The best pub in town is also within a 5 minute walk. The B&B is adequate. Basically clean room with small but OK ensuite (the shower failed on our last morning but these things happen I suppose). Big, single glazed window is lovely to look at but meant that the room was never very warm, even with the heating on. The TV was difficult to use and there were no instructions to help us sort it. Breakfast was absolutely fine, well cooked with a good choice, including good fresh fruit salad. Having to select your breakfast before going to bed always seems an unnecessary thing! Overall, this is an adequate, basic B&B that is beginning to look a little tired around the edges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholsalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummy10, Owner at Castle View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We always welcome feed back from guests and take on board this review. Unfortunately during this particular stay both Julie and I were away and the business was being operated by a friend in our absence. We feel some of the points made could of been avoided had we been there.

1, Heating. Unknown to our friend the thermostat on the central heating had been accidentally turned down leaving the room temperature lower than normal. This was addressed once we were made aware of the problem.

2, TV. Our normal practice upon arrival is to explain all aspects of the room e.g. Room temperature control, wi-fi access, operating the TV and digital control. Again unfortunately in our absence this was not done.

3,Unfortunately the shower did fail due to a faulty switch which was repaired once an electrician could attend

4, Pre-ordered breakfast. We operate a pre-ordered breakfast as this enables us to start cooking breakfast at a time suitable for the client, hence it is freshly cooked for that time without a long wait. We do not like to serve food that has been kept warm in the oven.

5, Small en-suite. Our house was built over 150 years ago and unlike hotels was not purpose built with en-suite bathrooms. The en-suites provided have been created to be functional and not to take up to much room space.

Again we welcome feed back from guests, but do feel that some people book a stay at a B&B but expect hotel facilities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
55
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night, we recieved a warm and friendly greeting, we got a pass for the car and parked right outside, our bags were taken up to our room and we felt very looked after. The room we stayed in was very clean, even those corners you often find in hotel bedrooms were clean, the bathroom although small is modern and the shower nice and hot. We were at a party so did not spend much time there, however the breakfast the next mornign was also really good and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivespencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in October 2012 and had a really nice stay. Looked after us well. Full English breakfast in the morning and as much tea or coffee as we wanted. Very comfy beds and cosy rooms. Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Lovely B&B! Lovely people! I have stayed here on a number of occasions on business trips and what a difference from the normal Premier Inn! A house with lots of character with comfortable and well decorated rooms. I love the staircase. Breakfast is stunning! Hosts Steve & Julie are very welcoming and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Suitable for any event. I will be going back!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillaGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my fiancé for a friends wedding for one night. Great place, good price and friendly hosts. Room was rather basic but very nice compared to local alternatives. The breakfast was very nice and served with a smile. We had a nice chat with the owners over breakfast as we were the only ones there (had a later breakfast due to the wedding). We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassiePenticost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The castle view B&B is situated in the middle of morpeth with only a short walk into the town centre. It was a great location in a quiet street. We were given a parking permit which allowed us to park for the duration of our stay. The hosts of the B&B were fantastic and made us feel really welcome. I stayed for two nights as I was attending my friends wedding. The room we stayed had everything we needed and at just over £60 per night it was excellent value. The Breakfast was really good, with a good selection of cereals and a different fruit salad each morning. Having read some of the reviews stating the rooms were on the small side, I found my room to be big enough. I would certainly return to this B&B as it is great value for money and the owners were fantastic

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carleymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this very friendly family - owned B&B. From the friendly, warm welcome to the excellent breakfast we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Morpeth is a lovely market town and the B&B is perfectly situated to provide quiet accommodation yet close enough to the centre. We'll be back !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank iwdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
7.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
0.1 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#11 of 32 in Morpeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
St Mary's Inn
St Mary's Inn
#1 of 32 in Morpeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 32 in Morpeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Castle View Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 Dacre Street, Morpeth NE61 1HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle View Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Castle View Bed And Breakfast Morpeth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing