We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“During & after a friend's funeral, it was the B&B FROM [--]”
Review of Cottingburn House

Cottingburn House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottingburn House
Ranked #11 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We arrived and no one was there to greet us. Eventually, we were told our room was upstairs, and we had to find it ourselves (after going into their room by mistake) - given no keys. After getting changed into my mourning suit to go to a funeral, the owner suddenly appeared asking "have you paid yet?" we then wrote a cheque, but on returning, no one there to accept it. The morning after, we had breakfast (hells kitchen style) - the bacon, beans (10 beans) & mushrooms were cold and the toast had seen a ghost - just a tinge of brown. We had not even finished eating our breakast when "Basil & Sybil" slapped the "unfinished" bill & statement onto my place mat, and insisted I gave her my card number for the cheque - stapled to that was a copy of his welcome letter (and my letter in return on the back) - and highlighted in pink highlighter pen the words "the balance is paid on your arrival" and to remind me of my letter - he highlighted..... (we will pay you the £XX in cash) ON ARRIVAL AS REQUESTED - how rude was that; I've never been insulted like that in all my life, and we even stayed there in December 2008 - there will be a full complaint made against them, don't worry about that.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piapiapiano001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2009

I would be inclined to side with Tenppom from Brisbane.
Every moment I was in the B&B, Tim and Very were there at my behest! I arrived on Friday afternoon to attend a concert in the Conservative Club, Morpeth. I had booked online and later rung them up to book an evening meal.
I checked in, saw the faciliities, and went out to get my bearings, as I hadn't been near Morpeth for about 25 years, and I thought it had moved!
Upon my return, I was asked if I still wanted the main meal (£12) or if I would like the Quick Meal (£5). Choosing the Quick Meal, I found myself eating the best cheese and bacon omlette I have ever had.
Vera is a superb cook: her full breakfast, featuring sausages and bacon from Martins, and her jam, is to be savoured!
All in all, I'm glad I chose Cottingburn House.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prockybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Yes I too stayed at this so called B&B and was greeted by Bazil and his missus, and I quote "you cant smoke anywhere on the premises, if you do you will have to pay the £2000 fine yourselves". The bedroom was something like a doss house, (was half expecting the DSS to ring) the springs on the first bed were showing and made it very uncomfortable to sleep, and the other bed was so soft you kept rolling out, (thats if you didnt freeze first as it was under the window). There have been floods in the area and a lot of conrtactors had filled all the other B&Bs, this one was missed, I wonder why....

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david-los-boliches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We had a great stay at this B&B. The owners were fantastic. Carried our bags in and welcomed us with a cuppa and biscuits and made sure that we were comfortable. Sure the room wasn't huge but it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great with homemade porridge and preserves as well as the full english cooked just how we wanted it. The landlady was well up with all the attractions around and advised us where to go and what to see. She offered to get in touch with her doctor when my wife became unwell. The couldn't do enough for us - even did some washing for us at a reasonable extra charge. We woud recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tenppom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

What can I say?
Our welcome was less than friendly - in fact it was downright RUDE. Having booked online and travelled 400 miles to arrive at this, er, unusual abode, at 7.30pm (hardly an unusually tardy time to arrive) the man who answered to door didnt even bother to say hello - dumbstruck and stared down as though we were scum, we eventually decided to advise the gentleman (against our better judgement) that we had booked a room for the night.
We were then asked if we 'had our piece of paper' which apparently stated (alhough the website we booked on, bedandbreakfasts.co.uk, VERY CLEARLY states that check-in is from 2pm until 10pm) that we *had* to check in at 3pm.
Right. Nice way to treat paying guests, huh.
'This is a hotel, not a borstal' as Basil would say.
The twin room was akin to sleeping in a shed/caravan/lean to. Very bizarre indeed, complete with draughty windows, a TV that one would have to be a contortionist to watch, and a single wooden chair. Comfy.
Had we not paid for the room up front, we would have legged it down the road to a lovely, friendly looking B&B!
I've NEVER in my life experienced such utter rudeness - Basil Fawlty is reborn. DONT go and stay there unless you're in the mood for being insulted!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurelien_0796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morpeth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Morpeth Inn
The Morpeth Inn
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
81 reviews
9.3 mi away
Northumberland Cottage
Northumberland Cottage
#5 of 29 in Morpeth
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 29 in Morpeth
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#2 of 2 in Longhorsley
60 reviews
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
8.6 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#2 of 29 in Morpeth
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottingburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottingburn House

Address: 40 Bullers Green, Morpeth NE61 1DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: $58 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Cottingburn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottingburn House Morpeth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing