We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northumberland Cottage
Ranked #5 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

One of the best B&B's I have stayed in. Accommodation excellent, very clean and tidy. Breakfast excellent. Very good value for money and highly recommended. The host was very helpful with helping us with transport to nearby Eshott Hall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 133 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The room was very nice and well equiped. We were greeted with a warm welcome and received great hospitality during our stay. We werent at the cottage much as we were at a wedding nearby but it served us well. Breakfast was good too and value for money.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank phillychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just had one of the best nights stay of our trip. This is truly a beautiful B&B. the room was very spacious, the bed very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Ricky our host prepared a superb breakfast with so much variety. His garden was spectacular. I only wish we will be able to visit again. Thank you Ricky

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank holiday G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What do you ideally want from a B&B? Perhaps, a nice spacious room, comfortably and pleasantly furnished, an en-suite bathroom, all spotlessly clean, with every convenience of home, a comfortable bed for a good night's sleep, and the guarantee of a good quality, generous breakfast? It's all here in one excellent package. Then add a few extra benefits. The property is situated in glorious Northumbrian countryside, quiet and peaceful, yet less than 2 mins from the A1. You can see the sea as you descend the road from the A1. The views from our room were stunning, and there was a big picture window and a sofa positioned facing it, for us to just sit and relax, and take it in. A really nice surprise. The bathroom was clean and modern, with quality toiletries and other small touches, and was equipped with a quality shower and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was served in a conservatory breakfast room overlooking a small garden which was, like the rest of the house, immaculately kept. The choice was impressive, with plenty of cereals and fruit, and full English breakfast was cooked fresh when we sat down, and served piping hot. Our host Ricky, clearly works hard, and deserves all the credit he gets on these pages. We found him helpful, attentive and welcoming, without being obtrusive, and he got all his guests talking to each other at breakfast. Unfortunately, we didn't stay long enough to test out many of the local venues, which were helpfully described and recommended in the guest information folder in our room, but we did visit Morpeth (10 mins) and Newcastle (20-25 mins). We liked it very much, and have booked to stay again. As far as B&B is concerned, this the gold standard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Bolton_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This has to be the best B&B we have stayed in,the quality of the rooms are to the standard of a top hotel at much higher prices.Ricky is a very welcoming host,who can't do enough to help guests enjoy their stay.Breakfast is a joy,with lots of fresh fruit and cereals,followed by full English.Next time we are in the area,we will definitely stay again. John and Ann Sheffield

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My partner and i stayed here for two nights as we were up for a wedding at Eshott hall. We both agree, its the best place we have stayed in so far, having traveled all over staying in many places this is a great compliment and so well deserved. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are immaculate and well presented, a very clean and comfy bed, fantastic views from our light and airy attic room with plenty of space, a great selection of beverages/ biscuits with refills of milk, sugar etc. on request. The lovely owner Ricky a friendly, nothing is too much trouble person that cooks a delicious english breakfast thats well presented with the bacon,egg,sausage and mushrooms cooked to perfection, served with toast, tea/coffee. Ricky will do his best to make your breakfast to your requirements when possible, along with a variety of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts and fruit juices served along with the cooked breakfast. We would recommend here to anyone as along with all the features mentioned above it also has a beautiful garden to the rear where you can relax and enjoy light conversation with Ricky and enjoy his sense of humour. We could not fault a thing. Mr Courtney Jackson/ Suzanne Brown.

Room Tip: Attic conversion room beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courtney j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed one night en-route to Edinburgh having booked it after reading the many excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.

It certainly lived up to its reputation. We thought the range of foods provided at breakfast was remarkable, and the view of the garden and the surrounding countryside, on what was a perfect July morning, made the meal special.

We would certainly hope to stay there again, and would thoroughly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The road is quite busy, and a room at the back of the house would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
3.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
396 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
538 reviews
3.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 29 in Morpeth
118 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#2 of 29 in Morpeth
202 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Morpeth Inn
The Morpeth Inn
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northumberland Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northumberland Cottage

Address: Chevington Moor, Morpeth NE61 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: $91 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northumberland Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northumberland Cottage is a 4-star bed and breakfast set in a small hamlet in the heart of rural Northumberland, offering high quality accommodation. Ideally situated within 2 miles of the main A1 trunk road between the old market town of Morpeth to the south and the medieval town of Alnwick to the north, allowing easy access to all the hidden treasures that Northumberland has to offer. All rooms are en-suite, some with excellent views over open countryside. So whether you travel for business or pleasure, you will find a warm welcome awaits you at Northumberland Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Northumberland Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northumberland Cottage Morpeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing