We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless pleasant rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northumberland Cottage
Ranked #4 of 30 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Spotless pleasant rooms”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The en-suite room was nice and spotless with lots of little extras to make the stay more pleasant. The breakfast was nice, standard English breakfast. Helpful host, sometimes slightly "too helpful" to give information to my liking. I would have appreciated to have quieter breakfasts with less talking.The room was great and the value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy-and-smiling-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
69
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We enjoyed staying at Northumberland Cottage so much last year that it was good to be able to return knowing that we would receive a warm welcome from Ricky, the proprietor. He is full of useful information on places to visit and his route directions are excellent.

The rooms are very comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean while the breakfast is also first class.

Certainly an excellent place to stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We booked the ground floor double en-suite room which was light, spacious and beautifully decorated. Ricky the owner pays great attention to detail and everything was of superb quality and well thought out. The bed was really comfortable as were the two cosy armchairs and we enjoyed two very restful nights here. The breakfast was delicious and we were literally spoilt for choice with an array of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, toast, jams as well as a full English breakfast! Thank you Ricky for being a great host and providing fun and banter over breakfast as well as great food. The B & B is well signposted from the A1 and easy to find. It's a really lovely cottage in a great location and great value for money. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777larkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have just returned from spending 5 nights in northumberland having b&b in northumberland cottage. Our room - first on the left was delightful and met all our needs perfectly. Ricky made us feel at home from we arrived and nothing was too much trouble when we needed help in deciding where to go each day and as we left we felt we had managed to visit a lot of what has to be described as a most beautiful farming and historical county. Ricky's breakfast was great in the delightful dining room overlooking his beautifully kept garden and the sheep. The pub/restaurant about 2 miles up the road was very gd food and reasonably priced.
All in all we would definately recommend this b&b to everyone and would be confident you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I visited and stayed at Northumberland Cottage. I have roots in Northumberland since childhood and can no longer stay with relatives. The Cottage was picked out randomly but how pleased I am I did pick it. Ricky bless him was so welcombing His Brekkie great. Even though I had spent loads of time in N E he still gave me info that I did not know so he must be a goldmine to others who have not visited the North East before.When I go back I will be sure to stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Northumberland Cottage was a delightful surprise as we were only night-stopping on the way to Scotland The host Rick made us very welcome and provided much useful information which led to a further surprise as we found this part of the country very interesting and possibly worth a visit on its own.Thanks to Rick's advice we booked early for dinner later at the very busy Widdrington Inn-inexpensive wholesome food. The visit to Warkworth was an eye-opener- a stunning Castle cloaked in daffodils in a charming village. Ample seemed a bit run down but redeemed itself with it's super little beach, it's marvelous views and a profusion of Eider Ducks in the River Estuary all enhanced by the early Spring sunshine. Visitors were enjoying the local specialty-a fish supper. A good overnight sleep in a comfortable bed with 2 different sizes of pillows-a nice touch. The next day got off to a great start with a freshly cooked full breakfast in the conservatory overlooking Rick's lovely garden.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluey249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Northumberland Cottage B&B. Chevington Moor. Morpeth. Northumberland.
We saw the sign for this B&B on the A1 as we headed for Newcastle-upon-Tyne. It is not very far off the main road and is prominently signed after about one mile.
A nice little two storey cottage that has been on the market for three years. This sale listing has not detracted from the welcome and we were received warmly and shown to a room on the ground floor that had two single beds and adequate en-suite plus a magnificent view over the (wet) farm fields of Northumberland.
After the usual introductions and instructions we were informed that, for an evening meal, we could eat locally or drive to Morpeth. As the local eatery, a pub, (The Widdrington) was three miles away and Morpeth more than that we decided to eat locally. This is a country pub and restaurant.
The sleeping comfort was excellent and the facilities in the en-suite worked wonderfully.
Breakfast is served in a very nice pergola/sun room attached to the accommodation and was excellent. Plenty of everything and pleasantly presented and served.
Our farewell was as warm our welcome and we would definitely stay in this well presented and moderately priced North East England B&B again.

Room Tip: Stop and try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
3.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.4 mi away
Birchwood House
Birchwood House
#2 of 30 in Morpeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#8 of 30 in Morpeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
9.4 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#6 of 30 in Morpeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.5 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 10 in Warkworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northumberland Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northumberland Cottage

Property: Northumberland Cottage
Address: Chevington Moor, Morpeth NE61 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northumberland Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northumberland Cottage is a 4-star bed and breakfast set in a small hamlet in the heart of rural Northumberland, offering high quality accommodation. Ideally situated within 2 miles of the main A1 trunk road between the old market town of Morpeth to the south and the medieval town of Alnwick to the north, allowing easy access to all the hidden treasures that Northumberland has to offer. All rooms are en-suite, some with excellent views over open countryside. So whether you travel for business or pleasure, you will find a warm welcome awaits you at Northumberland Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Northumberland Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northumberland Cottage Morpeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing