We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good value if a little tired”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights with boys golfing tour. Cheap and cheerful would best describe it. Rooms need some money spent on the decor, wall paper hanging off etc. However it is clean and beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are clean if again a little old fashioned. The bar area is good but tends to be frequented by a younger generation, so perhaps not for families. There is a good Pizzeria next attached to the hotel for evening meals and where breakfast is served. As long as you know what you are going to this hotel is fine, its a budget hotel so do not expect anything more than that.

Room Tip: Room 11, back rooms can be a bit noisy in evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy21558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    36
    24
    36
See reviews for
24
57
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed just one night at the Waterford Lodge and one night is enough. The room was very big but most of the wallpaper was hanging off, the stairways were very dirty and I would advise getting up an hour before you need a wash to run the shower to get hot water and then tap wouldn't turn off! Despite this the breakfast was lovely and the staff very helpful and friendly- they deserve to work in a better hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimi79Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morpeth hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We went for lunch in the restaurant. Chicken with sage and onion sandwiches were on the Chef`s special board. We fancied something spicey, and ordered a cajun chicken sandwich, which when it arrived, tasted of sage and onion, not cajun.
When we pointed this curiosity out to the waitress, she went to see the Chef, then came and told us ;"Thats the way Chef makes cajun chicken."
Chef then emerged , walked grumpily past our table to the loo, and immediately returned to his kitchen not having had time to wash his hands.
What a funny restaurant!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2010

How anyone can write a bad review about this place is beyond me, yes it is old but that what is so charming about it. If you want luxury go to a 5 star hotel. The rooms were very spacious, the staff were most helpful and friendly and they did the best english breakfast you could hope for. My partner and I stayed there for 5 nights and will definately stay there again, we live in Perth Western Australia and look foreward to another visit to Morpeth

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustynail65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I booked the Waterford Hotel after finding it on the internet, to be honest I was worried after reading some of the reviews ,upon pulling up to the hotel I was hoping that the inside was better than the outside. I need not have worried though, the room was great with a nice surprise of a 4 poster bed, spacious and clean and so comfortable.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the attached resturant was amazing (very large portions & I recommend the grilled goats cheese starter) The bar had a great atmospher and although busy there was plently of seating outside in the nice beer garden.
I would definatly return, and have already recommended to my friends!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou1982x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was a "distress purchase" as our usual B&B cancelled our booking at the last minute. After reading some of the reviews I wondered if I'd made a mistake! This is to set the record straight. The parking is in a courtyard within the hotel, where there were several spaces. Reception quickly found our reservation and gave us our key. It was a long and complicated trek to our room but this is a very old building which has obviously been modified over the years. Our room was large, clean and with plenty of hanging/storage space and there was a large bathroom with an excellent shower. The room faced the main road but the windows were double glazed and noise was not a problem. Breakfast was fine and I had an excellent Craster kipper. Not a place for a week's seaside holiday but fine for an overnight stop on the way from Oxford to the north of Scotland.

We had dinner at "La Bodega Tappas Bar" in Newgate Street (on the corner of Copper Chare). This is a real find and if you like Spanish or Mediterranean food would be hard to better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecologist186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The stairs leading to the bedrooms were dirty and dingy. Once in the room things did not get better. Stains on the walls, shower leaking and not working properly, given a noisy room at the front of the hotel after having asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel when making my reservation. Breakfast was a disaster. Staff do not seem to care about residents and took an absolute age to get any food on the table. Orange juice was undrinkable, no brown bread available, no milk brought to table and no butter brought to table. At the side of the table where the cereals and coffee were situation was a bottle of kitchen cleaner and a dirty cloth. One gentleman, who had been completely ignored by the staff, walked out in disgust and said that he would rather do without his breakfast than wait any longer, even though the dining room was almost empty.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alallbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
0.0 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Beresford Arms
The Beresford Arms
#1 of 1 in Whalton
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#3 of 29 in Morpeth
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birchwood House
Birchwood House
#2 of 29 in Morpeth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Lodge Hotel

Property: Waterford Lodge Hotel
Address: Morpeth NE61 1YD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterford Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Hotel Morpeth
Waterford Lodge Hotel Morpeth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing