We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply wonderful...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rothley Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BilboCox
London
1 review
“Simply wonderful...”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed here for a family celebration in late November which the house was perfect for. Damian and Lorraine couldn't have been more lovely. They prepared everything for our arrival including decorating the house subtly for Christmas. There was freshly laid eggs in the kitchen from their chickens, and the house was toasty. The house was wonderful for a special get together and I couldn't recommend it or them highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house in stunning setting
Liked least: Not a thing...
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara B
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely warm, large house, in great surroundings”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Northumberland is a fantastic secret and this house sits just outside the national park in lovely rolling countryside. Hidden away in 5 acres the house is large, smart, well equipped and cosy.
It is always a challenge when the age range of the party spans nearly 80 years, but this house suited all of us. With the downstairs bedroom for the oldies, egg collecting for the youngsters, a giant Aga for the foodies and alas good wifi for the teenagers.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0nd0nC0m...
Haywards Heath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Stay. Highly Recommended”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely base for our holiday in Northumberland. Whilst a significant drive, Rothley offers the perfect base for both Kielder National Forest and the stunning Northumberland Coastline. It is also perfect for visiting Cragside and Wallington National Trust properties, Hadrian's Wall, all of which are a must if you are staying up here.

The house was exquisite and such a lovely place to return to at the end of each day. Our children loved exploring the gardens and enjoyed their own private fishing experience at the river. High standard of all rooms. In particular a beautiful kitchen with everything you could possibly need (so not sure what the previous reviewer was missing).

Lovely roaring fire to finish off the day relaxing in the cosy lounge (not that we really needed it as the weather was fabulous.....it just felt right to have one!) lots of books to dip in and out of.

Damien and Lorraine are the perfect hosts and do whatever they can to ensure you have a great stay....which we did. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and standard of cleanliness and facilties.
Liked least: cant think of anything at the moment
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigitte...
Beinwil am See, Switzerland
1 review
“Excellent furnished home in tranquil setting”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely time at Rothley Lodge for both a holiday and family get together. The house was beautifully furnished and extensively equipped. The location and setting helped us to relax and switch off and the kids loved the river and played there every morning. Lorraine and Damian were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. Rothley Lodge was a good base for our daily excursions and we enjoyed returning there in the evenings.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcajjs
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just perfect - made for a very special week”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

From start to finish we had an amazing week. We were a large family party of 8 people including teenagers and my parents. The house is large and spacious and so we were able to spread out and do our own thing or all be together in the gorgeous country kitchen or hang out in the lounge with the wonderful open fire. The beds were incredibly comfortable and we all slept really well. The grounds are truly amazing and a real delight to explore.
Northumberland is a stunningly beautiful county with so much to do and see - far more than we were able to fit into one week. We took trips to Lindisfarne Island, Hadrian's Wall, lots of little villages and Cragside is a must - do make sure you do the drive all around the grounds, it's amazing. Rothbury has some gorgeous individual shops including bakers etc. or Ponteland has the supermarkets.
Our hosts Damian and Lorraine were just lovely and couldn't have done more. They really put themselves out and really want you to have a good time. Can't wait till the next visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BezIrwin
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I recently stayed at Rothley Lodge with a group of 10 friends and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet stay in beautiful surroundings.

We spent 3 nights at Rothley and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay, accommodation was excellent with a high standard of furnishings etc, the Kitchen was brilliant! The gardens and surrounding areas were ideal for exploring. Generally a really nice place to spend a weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Ground floor bedroom is lined with windows all along one floor for an excellent view
Liked least: The Cooking Facilities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing