We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Wine Bar and Coffee Shop”
Review of bin21

bin21
Ranked #8 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Morpeth
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Bin21 is Morpeth's only wine merchant with a huge selection of wines, spirits, malt whisky, local ales and fine cigars. We also have "The Lounge" upstairs which serves coffee, tea, cakes and nibbles as well as wines by the glass or bottle, beers and spirits. The Lounge in Morpeth opening hours are: Tuesday & Wednesday 10am to 5pm and Thursday to Saturday 10am to 11pm. The Lounge is closed on a Sunday and Monday. We serve cheese and meat platters with bread, biscuits, apple, chutney and grapes are available all day and evenings when open. We look forward to welcoming you. Our retail shop opening hours are 10am to 10pm Tues to Sat and 11am to 9pm Sun & Mon Cheers !
Guiseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Wine Bar and Coffee Shop”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This small wine bar is a great place to taste the excellent range of wines sold by the independent wine shop below. Snack platters are available including a selection of very local cheeses. Also a good place for coffee and cake

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dobbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bin21, Owner at bin21, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments.
I am delighted that you enjoyed "The Lounge" experience. We have lots to offer over the festive period and I hope you are able to call in again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Night”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were looking for a venue to have a get together with friends and do something different. Bin 21 was absolutely perfect. The wine tasting session was amazing. Paddy really knew his stuff and was full of interesting facts. The cheese and meat platters were delicious and excellent value for money. I would thoroughly recommend this venue but do reserve a table to avoid disappointment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoansdeanLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bin21, Owner at bin21, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. It was a great night and I thoroughly enjoyed the evening. I am delighted you thought the wine tasting was fun and informative......that's all we can hope for ! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent wine, food and customer care”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently held a small function here for friends and colleagues (max 20 people). We chose 'The Lounge' because of the quality wines and food and also the excellent customer service. The lounge is an excellent alternative to bars and restaurants. The atmosphere is relaxing and cosy but also sophisticated for more formal events. Everyone had a superb time and it was an ideal size for this number of guests. The owner and his staff looked after us extremely well, we couldn't have asked for more. If you want a coffee or need to chill out and relax with friends or colleagues over a good bottle of wine then look no further........ better book though as it does get busy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank alexander1jed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bin21, Owner at bin21, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for posting a positive review of bin21. I am delighted the event went well for you and your guests. I look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Cheers !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manningtree
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New venue”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a great place. You can sit down enjoy a bottle of wines and relax with friends before an evening out or make an evening of it here. Its is a little compact so if you want a table arrive early and can get crowded due to space, but its a great alternative to pubs or clubs. Its also open during the day for coffee and its a have of tranquillity, and will be back again. Loved the bottle of Rose

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewMac999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bin21, Owner at bin21, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Many thanks for your post about bin21. We will continue to try to improve what we do and how we do it and for this reason, feedback is always welcome. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, the team at bin21
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place of tranquilty...”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went to The Lounge for some after work drinks on Friday and luckily had reserved a table as it soon became busy. Busy was about 20 people, as this wonderful venue isn't designed to take the masses and so offers a degree of exclusivity. Its a perfect place to sit and enjoy good wine and good conversation without the usual hustle and bustle. The ambience and décor create a relaxing environment and the staff were friendly, polite and attentive. We chose to drink some wine from the shop's extensive range as opposed to what was on the menu and this was handled with such simplicity. Indeed a few extra were put on ice for us just in case! So in short, a great place to relax with friends and colleagues and with a huge choice of wine we all left very happy. We wouldn't hesitate to return. Top marks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bin21, Owner at bin21, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. We will continue to try to improve what we do and how we do it and for this reason, feedback is always welcome, positive or negative, so we can deliver what our customers want. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, the team at bin21
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bin21 also viewed

 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to bin21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing