We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new best friends in the North”
Review of Lyne-Brook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morpeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyne-Brook House
Ranked #14 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have just returned from 5 days at Lyne-Brook house.

The hosts are good at sussing out if you want privacy or friendliness. We were made to feel most welcome and part of the ‘extended’ family. Staying here was like meeting up with long time friends and we really enjoyed this.

Don’t stay here if you are a reviewer who wants to find fault. This is not a challenge more a reflection that there is nothing wrong (well the Internet is a bit slow but it is the middle of rural Northumbria) and that there is an attention to detail that is just amazing.

Don’t stay here if you misuse the words ‘high standards’. We are used to staying in top-quality accommodation from Tokyo to San Francisco and this was as good as the best and better than many with a global brand.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Owner at Lyne-Brook House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind words Kevin and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. The speed of our internet connection has been a source of frustration for us as well as some of our guests, but until this month we were unable to make changes to it for contractual reasons.

However, we have now moved to a new provider and are enjoying a much improved service - not lightning fast by any standards, but a very reasonable 4.5MBPS for the majority of the time. We have also installed WiFi repeaters around the building so there are no longer any issues connecting to the system whichever room you may be using. Should you come to stay with us again, I am sure you will see a marked difference in the broadband performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Lyne-Brook House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 60 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a lovely B & B situated in the country. It is very clean and comfortable and is run by delightful people. The breakfast room looks over the garden where there are red squirrels and a variety of birds. The breakfast is extremely good. A delightful place to stay in a very interesting area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chattan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A very welcoming and comfortable B&B in a beautiful part of England. Hearty quality breakfast. Exceptionally clean. Decent restaurant nearby. Easy commute to Morpeth and Northumberland coast. Could do with a sign that is visible from the road. Internet access good at the property but poor phone/dongle reception in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thornberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Lyne-Brook house for the Great North Run 2013 and had a fantastic experience from start to finish. We were made to feel extremely welcome by the wonderful hosts who simply over delivered in every area throughout our stay without intruding on our personal space one bit, which is a difficult balance to strike. We really did feel welcomed into their home, rather than just a hotel and every expectation was superseded. The rooms have more space, storage and equipment than you would expect and would be suitable for long stays as well as short. The whole place was immaculate, food was incredible. The Hosts also bent over backwards with special requests for the guests who were running the half-marathon with food arrangements.
i really can't recommend the b&b or the hosts more highly. We hope to return next year.

The only minor points i would raise are that the front door probably needs some sort of sign/indentification as we did walk around the whole of grange farm looking for a marked door even though we had parked right in front of it.

Also i didn't sleep too well as seemed to have a reaction to the bed sheets or detergent used, but i can be hyper-sensitive to these things and it still doesn't stop me from giving this review 5 stars on every level.

Room Tip: the Druridge room has a bath - i'd say that's the only difference.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STrottski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hospitalisation of senior family member meant that we had to cancel a week long stay on the day of departure. They could not have been more concerned or more accommodating. 5 star people who we look forward to meeting when we can re-book.

>>>> Note to trip advisor who have rejected this review once already probably because I couldn't rate the rooms and facilities. (I have now rated them as 5 star even though I haven't stayed). I strongly believe that how an establishment handles a customer's problem is a better indicator of service level than a few ticks in a box. I have already requested availability information to re-book. <<<<

Room Tip: Didn't stay in any of the rooms but do take a look at what other people say.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is B&B at its very best. Welcoming, but not overbearing hosts, a wonderful rural location and very peaceful at night, but close to lots of the things that Northumberland has to offer. The standard of the accommodation is very high, the super king size bed was very comfortable and the room was pristinely clean. Breakfast was delicious. Much, much better than a 5 star hotel, with a level of personal service that just doesn't happen in hotels. Excellent value and hIghly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here in March for my little girl's birthday. It is as the title says ,absolutely lovey. The room we stayed in was immaculate and the bed was huge! There were so many gorgeous little additions that we weren't expecting which made us feel so welcome. The hosts are so so so wonderful and made us feel so welcome. My little girl was so happy and comfortable which made our stay so relaxing. The breakfast was delcious and the choice was fantastic. My little girl was delighted to be presented with her homemade birthday cake for her second birthday. So thoughtful. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back! x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkBnE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morpeth hotels
6.2 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#2 of 2 in Longhorsley
59 reviews
5.3 mi away
Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Birchwood House
Birchwood House
#2 of 29 in Morpeth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#3 of 29 in Morpeth
191 reviews
4.7 mi away
Northumberland Cottage
Northumberland Cottage
#4 of 29 in Morpeth
133 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 29 in Morpeth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyne-Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyne-Brook House

Address: Rose Cottage 1 Ulgham Lane, Morpeth NE61 3NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: $127 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyne-Brook House holds a Quality in Tourism 4 Star Silver award and is a beautiful stone built property originally part of a farm steading. We are situated in a lovely, quiet, countryside location and have the benefit of the local wildlife having free reign throughout our 3/4 acre garden - it is not unusual to see pheasants, woodpeckers and numerous birds during the daytime as well as the odd red squirrel. At night we often hear several owls in the nearby trees.We offer three rooms furnished to the highest standard, each being fitted with beautiful en-suite facilities. All our bedding, towels and bath robes are of high quality egyptian cotton. All bedrooms have coffee making facilities and flat screen, colour televisions with freeview for the perfect end to a day exploring the area.Should you decide to visit you are assured of a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay - we look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lyne-Brook House Morpeth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing