We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Food, Great Value”

The Junction Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 102 Restaurants in Morpeth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Junction Restaurant & Sidings Bar is no ordinary eatery. Don't be fooled by its location as inside lies a very special, unique experience for food lovers. Offering a combination of two different food environments the ethos is the same throughout, the finest locally sourced ingredients prepared fresh for our dinners enjoyment.
Northumberland UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Proper Food, Great Value”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went because of the great reviews and were not disappointed. Ignore the unpromising exterior (we nearly didn't) and enjoy the excellent food and very friendly service at a great price. A rare find in this part of Northumberland.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    36
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great food, great price, great staff, great service. Love the new bar area which adds more of an atmosphere to the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy-Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good food in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a meal for six at the Junction in Widdrington (Morpeth-ish) in March 2013. When you get there, it seems to be a funny location for such a good restaurant, but it was completely full (I advise you book) and nicely decorated with a spacious feel inside.

Well... we had starters, main course, dessert and coffees. It was all cooked to perfection, the prices were reasonable and I wish I didn't have any criticisms at all, however unfortunately the service was slow. Not in getting the food... the chef and kitchen did an excellent job, but waiting to the dessert order to be taken, waiting for them to ask if we wanted coffees, waiting for the coffees themselves (having to wait for him to come back to request cream to go with my coffee) and then waiting for the bill. It all took an incredibly long time unfortunately.

It didn't spoil the evening and we would definitely return, but I am glad we weren't in any kind of hurry or out to 'impress' because it was certainly pushing towards the unacceptable. In the restaurant's defence, it was the one waiter who always served our table, so other tables probably didn't experience the same delays, but we did feel he let the side down.

If in doubt though, do go. It's worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeldinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Steak!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Eclectic and novel recipes along side traditional classics all cooked fantastically. Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“complete”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

After eating in the restaurant when it first opened i thought the food was excellent however we had to go elsewhere for a relaxing drink!!!! Not anymore the new extension is a brilliant idea, ideal to a have a drink either before/after your meal or even more recently just to pop in on your way home, i was lucky enough to call in on a thursday night when there was a brilliant singer adding to the already good atmosphere

well done!!

look forward to eating/drinking/socialising again

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junction Restaurant also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to The Junction Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing