We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for business people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Guest House
Ranked #7 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth
1 review
“Great stay for business people”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I stayed in the Riverside House in Morpeth during a business trip to the UK.
It´s a very beautiful Victorian house direct at the river. The welcome and the atmosphere was very warm and pleasant during my whole stay. The Riverside House is a 5 min walk away from the local bus station which offers an excellent bus service to Newcastle and many other beautiful places in Northumberland. I can absolutely recommend to stay in the Riverside House.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasmanul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    22
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
45
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2010

A wonderfully warm and hospitable stay at Riverside Guest House. I stayed in a twin en-suite room which had a gorgeous fireplace and was beautifully decorated. The room was very clean and had tea/coffee/TV/towels/Hairdryer. A lovely lounge downstairs to unwind in after a hard day with a huge TV. Breakfast was superb, full english to be recommended, a wide range of choices available on the menu. Located minutes from Morpeth town centre with its newly re-opened shopping centre, pretty walks along the river and through the park. Elaine was a wonderful host and could not have done more to make my stay more pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_williams28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martina franca
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

i stayed at the Riverside for the first time last year and after that i've been back 4 times...warm and comfortable place to stay, Elaine and her family are great and friendly, ready to help me and look after my needs. The place is beautiful and very handy, brakfast very good, the rooms clean and quite. Price very competitive...i'll be back. Piero

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I stayed at Riverside for one evening whilst visiting Morpeth for a Wedding.

The welcome was very warm indeed - cup of tea on arrival and a comfy sofa to rest on while recovering from my journey. Within half an hour my taxi was booked to the venue with a 10% discount!
The location is ideal if you are travelling by train/public transport - right in the centre of Morpeth. My room was clean, cosy and very comfortable.

Thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creative2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We came around this bed and breakfast via our sat nav and was very glad that we stopped.
It was right on the road but don't be put off by appearance. Elaine was very welcoming and offered us lots of information about places to eat in the town etc. The room overlooked the river and was really cosy and met all our requirements.. We had a delicious breakfast of our choice and went for a lovely walk by the river and around the town and was under no hurry to book out off the room. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peak district
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I was immediately made to feel very welcome. The beautiful room was large, peaceful, light and had a super view overlooking the river. It was spotlessly clean, excellent bathroom and hot water in abundance plus breakfast was good. The house is characterfully furnished with a relaxing public lounge area full of charm. I would certainly recommend this B&B to friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campagnano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
6.7 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
77 reviews
9.4 mi away
Northumberland Cottage
Northumberland Cottage
#4 of 29 in Morpeth
131 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Beresford Arms
The Beresford Arms
#1 of 1 in Whalton
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Guest House

Property: Riverside Guest House
Address: 77 Newgate Street, Morpeth NE61 1BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Guest House Morpeth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing