We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made to feel very welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Guest House
Ranked #8 of 32 Morpeth B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Made to feel very welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were looked after the moment we arrived. Room 1 overlooks the river and is a very comfortable room. And breakfast is very generous and tasty. I recommend the pancakes. Thoroughly recommended as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Harwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    22
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
44
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night after a long and cold train journey from London. I was going to arrive late in the evening and was told this was not a problem. Thanks to the train I arrived even later than planned. No taxis at the station but one call to the Riverside got me a taxi and a warm welcome to my bed! A good nights sleep followed by an excellent breakfast set me up for the day. All in all an excellent stay with an excellent host. The rooms are comfortable and the food freshly cooked and excellent. Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A lovely place to stay. Elaine was wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful, providing information on places to go in Morpeth and she cooked a great breakfast. Our room was large and spacious with en suite facilities and overlooking the river at the back of the house.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Listen if your anywhere near Newcastle or Morpeth please do yourself a favor stay here.Elaine the proprietor is lovely ,Guesthouse is cute and the breakfast is Fantastic. I will stay there again. Elaine thank so much Justin (Liverpool)

Room Tip: Ask Elaine for the english Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

central morpeth,handy from A1M (s) and visiting Northgate hospital. friendly bed and breakfast..... second business trip now ,lovely breakfast .....although single room with no en suite ...i agree with another reviewer 'ottery bob' ....no problem... many thanks elaine...keep singing!

Room Tip: back room overlooking river advisable..traffic at front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totnesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I visited my wife's mother in Morpeth last week staying for two nights. This was my second visit to Morpeth this year and I came back to Riverside. This time I travelled on my own by train and walked the 20 minutes from the station. Not an en-suite this time but there are sufficient facilities that I never found myself queuing. After a good sleep, breakfast - as always - was excellent and very filling. I didn't eat anything else until dinner!

I tried Indian and Chinese for dinner this, Saffron in Bridge Street Morpeth on my own, and The Dragon chinese buffet in Cramlington with friends. Both were very nice - and I'm no fan of chinese food.

Elaine was on good form and it was good to catch up after the 6 months. I'm guessing I'll be back. Thanks Elaine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtteryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Room very comfortable, clean with lovely view overlooking the river and park. Breakfast excellent, comfortable living room to relax in, Elaine very friendly, made our stay feel like home from home. Look forward to comming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morpeth hotels
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#9 of 32 in Morpeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.4 mi away
St Mary's Inn
St Mary's Inn
#1 of 32 in Morpeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Stepping Stones Bed & Breakfast
9.1 mi away
Birchwood House
Birchwood House
#2 of 32 in Morpeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Guest House

Property: Riverside Guest House
Address: 77 Newgate Street, Morpeth NE61 1BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Guest House Morpeth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing