We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Guest House
Ranked #7 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I visited my wife's mother in Morpeth last week staying for two nights. This was my second visit to Morpeth this year and I came back to Riverside. This time I travelled on my own by train and walked the 20 minutes from the station. Not an en-suite this time but there are sufficient facilities that I never found myself queuing. After a good sleep, breakfast - as always - was excellent and very filling. I didn't eat anything else until dinner!

I tried Indian and Chinese for dinner this, Saffron in Bridge Street Morpeth on my own, and The Dragon chinese buffet in Cramlington with friends. Both were very nice - and I'm no fan of chinese food.

Elaine was on good form and it was good to catch up after the 6 months. I'm guessing I'll be back. Thanks Elaine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtteryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    22
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
44
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenelg, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Room very comfortable, clean with lovely view overlooking the river and park. Breakfast excellent, comfortable living room to relax in, Elaine very friendly, made our stay feel like home from home. Look forward to comming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

room very cramped with two large chairs one stopping you access to cupboard the other semi blocking a six inch deep wardrobe/cupboard no place for cases .towells grubby best part of room the on suite.breakfast was disappointing eggs floating in grease,very cheap sausages and croisants had been microwaved into rocks,at thirty five pounds a night it was a disappointig experiance the whole place had a very tired atmosphere with a grubby decor

Room Tip: dont use room three, discriptive photos of a twin room did not match the room we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerefordDragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Elaine is very friendly, nice room and great breakfast !!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevaVictrix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

What a good find, a B&B full of character! Elaine was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Our room overlooking the river was large and very clean. The amazing breakfast set us up for the day - highly recommended! It's a good situation too, do try the Tapas Bar just across the road for an evening meal - excellent. Howard and Elsa. Sheffield

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stopped for 3 nights monday to weds while working at local garden centre. Good location, nice room, excellent breakfast. Elaine was the perfect host, nothing was too much bother. To sum it up good value, not like home but close. Howard.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howdo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed last week, and must say Elaine is a great host, and nothing is too much bother. Rooms are very clean, and the guest house is warm and friendly.
Superb breakfast everyday. Ill be back, Thanks Elaine you were lovely

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andi4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Morpeth Lodge
Morpeth Lodge
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Beresford Arms
The Beresford Arms
#1 of 1 in Whalton
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Northumberland Cottage
Northumberland Cottage
#4 of 29 in Morpeth
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Guest House

Property: Riverside Guest House
Address: 77 Newgate Street, Morpeth NE61 1BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Guest House Morpeth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing