We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out”
Review of Marabini's - CLOSED

Marabini's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night out”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Have been to Marabini's four times now and never been disappointed! The last two times have been as part of a group for a staff night out.This time I had the goat's cheese starter followed by beef Stroganoff....both very tasty! The beef was very tender and flavoursome.
The restaurant was very busy when we were there and the atmosphere was enhanced by live music from a male singer.Not the place to go for a quiet night out, but great if you want a nice lively evening!
The staff are extremely friendly and although kept busy they are always cheerful.
Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    96
    44
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Marabini's”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Been to Marabini's several times over the past three years, initially food very good but of late standards have declined, sometimes what should be hot dishes arriving at table partially cold & on one occasion undercooked chicken, still a great atmosphere, usually good service & friendly staff. Overall a victim of there own success, taken their eye off the ball, less customer focused & can no longer expect what used to be predictably good food & service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fab Italian, amazing atmosphere and great service - would definitely return if in the area”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I picked this venue somewhat in the dark just based on tripadvisor reviews as we are not from the area, but my brother was getting married nearby at Eshott hall the next day - we were a party of 15. As I've often found with great restaurants, from the front door you would have no idea what lies upstairs - a tiny entrance at ground level and then up a floor and the space opens out into a large dining area. We were there the night before New Year's Eve and it was still packed - a fantastic atmosphere and despite how busy it was all the waiters were so welcoming and friendly, frequently coming over to see if we needed any more drinks and our food arrived quickly and was frankly DELICIOUS (I'd recommend the Beef in Barolo and my sister's steak in peppercorn sauce was amazing!) The waiters were great with my 21 month old daughter, bringing her lollies and generally making a fuss of her and we were all very pleased with the bill at the end of the night - all the little extras were really appreciated too. Thank you for making our family gathering a truly memorable evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Went on a recommendation from a friend, Was advised to book, glad we did as it was an extremely busy friday night our table was booked for 7 but due to how busy it was we had a small wait however as front of house staff were very attentive this did not spoil our evening. I had pollo dolcelatte with seasonal steamed veg, hubby had calazone pizza and the little one opted for pizza and chips from the childrens menu! The food was really lovely and of course we had to sample the sweet menu,children's icecream, chocolate fudge cake and the best homemade tirimisu I have had in a long time ......will most certainly be visiting again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieThompson26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere with friendly staff”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

A friendly and lively Italian restaurant with engaging staff and a charming owner. Food is good to very good with a typical range of Italian restaurant choices. The wine list is adequate bordering on a little limited but is importantly reasonably priced. Service is good to very good although at busy times the staff can struggle to cope - peak period is the classic 19:30 to 20:30 as the young families leave and the later evening diners arrive. The slight downside of the lively atmosphere and music is that it can get rather noisy at times - a lot of hard surfaces mean the noise tends to reverberate around the room despite the high ceiling. Overall a great family night out and only just misses a 5 star.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank OneZeroBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marabini's also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing