We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waiting is about NOT waiting”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Marabini's - CLOSED

Marabini's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Waiting is about NOT waiting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Booked a table for 5 some 3 weeks ago for 7.30pm and was told we would have a lovely table at the back of the room waiting for us. (Fri Eve)
We all arived on time at 7.30 to be told our table was not ready and could we have a drink at the bar?
Fair enough the place was busy and sometimes that happens. What you don't expect is to be kept standing up at the bar (no seat available as taken by others waiting) for 50 minutes.
It was almost 8.30 when we actually sat down. Bad show and out of order. You expect say 10 minutes or so at most.
I was on the verge of asking the party to leave and go else where
That said, when the food came it was very good.
Would I return? perhaps, but then again I would think twice.
You either have booked a table for 7.30 or not.
I for one do not like being messed around like this.
There are other places I use in Morpeth and also book. When I turn up, I am always seated on time, so I will most likely use them first in future. (eg,The Mulan)
Food good BUT hangin around a bar for 50 minutes is not my idea of a meal out

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J4NOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    96
    45
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a very busy restaurant in the middle of the town Morpeth. It has a lot of competition from the many eating establishments located in the town. Suffice to say everything about the dining experience in this restaurant was excellent. It caters for everyone's tastes. If you want a pizza or pasta dish you will not be disappointed but if you want to push the boat out and order a filet steak you will find the same results. With a very warm and welcoming atmosphere is one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever eaten in. The Calzone Pizza is a restaurant speciality and absolutely superb. I will guarantee you will find a food tasty and very filling and the portion sizes are perfect. I have visited this restaurant many times and I have taken friends and colleagues along to it and they themselves have also been extremely impressed. A very strong recommendation and endorsement. Overall, superb service, excellent food, good selection of wines and a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karatedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food is always very tasty and very reasonable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Have ate here several times but haven't reviewed before, after having a lovely meal last night I thought it was time I commented!

The rod is always very tasty and such good value for money especially happy hour which is 5pm - 6.30pm weekdays, 12pm - 2pm at weekends. We arrived about 6.15pm but there wasn't a table available, the manager (I think) said we could have drink in bar area and a table would be ready in about 20 mins and we could still have the happy hour price....£4.95 for most pasta & pizza dishes! We shared the chicken liver pate starter, very tasty and enough for two people we thought,I then had the Penne Marabini, very very nice, quite spicy! My boyfriend had the Pasta Polpetoni....I can recommend this too as I've had it too......***BEWARE *** very garlicky!! We each had a glass of red wine and the bill was £24, which I don't think is bad at all.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful and the restuarant is decorated very nice.

It always seems to be quite busy so it's worth booking especially if there is a large group of you!

Enjoy :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amesthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THE best Italian Restaurant in Northumberland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Myself and my family have dined in many Italian restaurants in our County and I cannot praise Marabini's enough. The food is always second to none, the service is impeccible, the value for money is excellent and the atmosphere is always so friendly & non-pressurised. The seating area is light and bright and tables are just the right distance apart. There are always excellent 'specials' to be had and the staff make you feel very welcomed whether it's your first visit (witnessed many times!) or if you are a regular.

Recommended for families, couples, groups, special occassions (they ALWAYS make the effort to ensure it IS special), business lunches and even a quite bite on your own - you will always feel comfortable & relaxed.

If you have never been - try it, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dre4m-on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Dined here not so long ago. Very busy restaurant. Food was amazing and service very quick and good. Perfect Italian restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleigh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marabini's also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing