We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Morpeth
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fantastic!”

Northumberland Arms
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #12 of 117 Restaurants in Morpeth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A fully re-furbished 1820's Coaching Inn, originally built by the 3rd Duke of Northumberland. Beautiful bar, lounge and restaurant, immaculately decorated and next to the River Coquet. Six luxury en-suite rooms, accredited 5* by Quality in Tourism/Visit England. A la Carte Restaurant Open 7 days a week Breakfast 8.30Am to 10.30Am for residents and by request Brunch 10am until 12 noon Lunch Menu: 12 noon to 3pm Light Grazing Menu: 3-6pm Restaurant Open for Dinner: 6pm to 9pm and 9.30pm Friday/Saturday Sunday Lunch: 12 noon to 8pm For Reservations please call.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and in-laws were staying nearby for a getaway break. We decided to look for somewhere to eat on Friday night and stumbled upon the Northumberland Arms and I’m glad we had! We were sat in the bar area which was busy but had a cosy friendly atmosphere with smart decor. The food was outstanding, deliciously fresh and very nicely presented. The staff were friendly and polite. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
28211, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

So glad you discovered us and had such an enjoyable meal with us.

We hope we can welcome you back again when next in the area; perhaps to stay with us as residential guests in one of our 6 luxury en-suite guest bedrooms.



Vanessa C
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in room 1 which was beautiful and comfortable. Only thing missing was an iron in the room. The restaurant was lovely and food really good. Had to wait a long time for breakfast and the used plates were not cleared on empty tables all the while we were there. Otherwise I’d have given 5 stars.

Date of visit: September 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Connector472731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
28211, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and pleased to hear you enjoyed your beautiful bedroom. We only wish you'd mentioned the iron as we are able to supply these on request.

As all of our breakfasts are cooked fresh to order, service may take a little longer than anticipated, but we hope you were able to enjoy the array of items on our buffet table whilst waiting.

As there is only one front of house team member on breakfast duty, obviously it is her priority to serve all guests with food and clear up at her earliest opportunity.

We really hope you'll be back to stay with us again.



Vanessa C
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

Always been very keen on this place,not sure as good as it was,changes in menu,lovely place to visit but not the same.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
28211, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thanks for letting us know you have always liked and enjoyed The Northumberland Arms.

Although new members of staff have joined the team, our venue is still under the same management. With regards to our menu, our Chef does introduce new dishes seasonally as it has always been our provenance to use locally sourced seasonal ingredients. We apologise if our menu wasn't quite to your liking.

We value your custom and hope you will return to allow us another opportunity to impress.



Vanessa C
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

This last minute booking was simply 5 star. The room was spacious and comfortable, dinner (Fish Plank to Share & Lamb ) was something you would expect from a Michelin Star Restaurant. Lovely friendly staff, Breakfast smoked salmon to die for. After travelling for 5 weeks around England, Wales and Scotland this was The Best!

Date of visit: September 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank ecoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
28211, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your 'outstanding 5* review'; your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are glad you enjoyed everything about your stay and made the trip well worthwhile.

Safe travels and we hope you'll be back to stay with us again at some point.



Vanessa C
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

stopped in at the Northumberland Arms enroute to another city. Lovely pub in a great setting next to a river, beautifully decorated inside and a real 'proper' pub feel with lots of dogs, fire places and stone walls. The menu has lots of variety and theres an excellent range of beers and gins. I ordered the Lamb Wellington which was absolutely superb - other colleagues ordered the Tuesday night Rump steak special which was unfortunately very tough.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
28211, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback regarding our venue.

We source all of our meat from a local butcher with a fantastic reputation and feedback is normally very positive.
We are sorry if this was not the case with your steak.

We value your custom and hope you will visit us again.



Vanessa C
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northumberland Arms also viewed

 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Newton on the Moor, Northumberland
 

Been to Northumberland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing