We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but took a while”
Review of Boyson Restaurant - CLOSED

Boyson Restaurant
Price range: $19 - $39
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice but took a while”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was really pleased when I spotted this on living social as it it where I had my wedding reception many years ago
The food was nice and my only complaint would be the length of time the food took to come. We ordered drinks which took about 20 mins to arrive and the waitress didn't take away the 8 glasses that were already on the table for wine so the table was a bit cramped
We had to flag over the waiter after about 25 mins to actually order our food and then waited another 20 mins for it to arrive
It does seem to have gone downhill a bit which is a shame as it used to be fab
Sort out more waiting staff

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 08062003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    11
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I dined in the restaurant with a friend as part of a package with the hotel (£87.50 per person for a three course meal, 30 min spa treatment & overnight stay) so I wasn't expecting to be wowed.

Starters were soup and mackerel -pleasant.
The tables were set up with butter dishes but there was no offer of a bread roll.
Mains were really tasty - slow cooked beef.
Desserts were poor, sticky toffee and chocolate brownie which were not homemade.

I asked for some still water for the table, I would have been happy with tap water but they served a large bottle of strathmore with a long hair wrapped round it. I mentioned it when they returned with the wine order, which they got wrong. It wasn't taken off the bill and I couldn't be bothered to mention it when checking out.

Ok and part of the package but would not return or recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laidbackf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Boyson Restaurant, Longhirst Hall, Morpeth”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited this restaurant for sunday lunch. First impressions of the restaurant were of a carpet that had not been hoovered!! But that aside, we still had a pleasant lunch. I had the pate for starters,it was ok but nothing to write home about. My Hubby had the soup which he said was nice. We both had the roast beef dinner - very good - we really enjoyed it - very large yorkshire puddings and plenty of lovely beef. We were not going to have a pudding but after a short rest we decided to go for it. I had the creme brulee which was fine and hubby had the chocolate brownie which he said was very nice but obviously bought in. Overall a very nice lunch as we were there on a Living Social voucher, but they could do with a few more choices in the starters and puddings. Staff were very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magpiemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Lunch.....My wife couldnt eat it”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went on a Living Social deal....The Boyson Restaurant looked a little uncared for, with ragged carpet and places of uncleanliness, although if the food had been good, we possibly wouldnt have noticed this. There wasnt much of a selection of starter for those who eat plain food, so my wife chose to have the sweet while I had the mackerel starter, which was tasty.

I was sure I heard one of the customers talk about "pink beef", so tried to get hold of a waitress, as my wife wont eat meat that shows any sign of blood, unfortunately, I was too late, although the pinkness wasnt evident until cutting into the single slice of beef. I must say I found my piece of beef ok, but my wifes was stringy and tough to cut, the Yorkshires looked previously frozen and were tateless,and the vegetables were scarce, the red cabbage not looking good on the plate. I thought I saw "bigger portions" on other plates....maybe they didn't have vouchers, although maybe we were glad there wasnt too much of a bad thing....

My wife left her cabbage, pudding and meat....(I ate the meat)....The chocolate pudding that followed was covered in a thick sweet sauce which made it sickly to eat, but the pudding itself wasnt too bad after cleaning the sauce off it....

We bought a single glass of wine, for which we were about to be charged £4.60....I say "about to be charged", as they can't take credit card for less than £5, unfortunately we hadn't brought any cash, so they let us off with it.................I wondered when I got out, why they didnt charge me £5 and give me 40p change.

Unfortunately we have another voucher to go back next week, which was bought as a gift, hopefully that will be better, but if not, at least I maybe able to negotiate something for the Yorkshire pudding/red cabbage.

The waiting staff were pleasant and polite and altough we waited a while, it wasn't too long.

I may have done some complaining had I paid the full price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leddhedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had lunch here from a Living Social deal. We had to book weeks in advance as they kept saying that the restaurant was full. We arrived and were seated in a part where there were crowds of people walking past the huge glass windows looking in and at times I felt like waving at them! We ordered our food and drinks at the same time. My husband had finished his starter before the drinks arrived which is very poor, I think that the poor waiter had to go to the main bar as the bar in the restaurant wasn't open which is unbelievable considering how busy the restaurant was. After a wait of 45 mins for my main course I started to get very upset and even more so when some other people next to us were served theirs before us even we had been there much longer. I caught the waiter and our food came out quickly after that and we were told it was the fish that had caused the wait. not quite sure how that works when it's on the menu!! We ate our meal still with soup spoons and my starter cutlery firmly in place - again very poor service.

Overall the meal was fine when it came but we had to get up and go to the till to pay our bill as waiters were in very short supply and not to be found to ask for the bill! if the deal was a way of getting people to return - it won't work. I would have been furious if I had paid full price for the meal and as a consequence we will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyson Restaurant also viewed

 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing