We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent grounds and gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Reviewed September 14, 2013

the groundstaff are a real credit to this hotel for all the hard work they must be doing to make the gardens and grounds of the hotel such a pleasant and relaxing enviroment.However the prices in the hotel a a bit on the high side

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank bodbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,416 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Granted, we used a £240 Tesco Clubcard token for our 2 night B&B stay to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary, but reckoned paying an additional £98 to upgrade would make it a very special occasion. WRONG! Room118 was so small that all the walls were scuffed and dirty where people tried to move round the bed, a wardrobe door was missing, it was boiling due to being above the kitchen, noisy because of the extractor underneath the window, I needed to clean the shelves before putting clothes away, advertised wifi was not available. Complained and was eventually moved to a room in the eaves - better, larger, cooler, but very dirty, NO water in the hot tap and you knew the water was ready in the kettle when the lid flew off across the desk! I was told I didn't have to pay the upgrade fee (gracious, seeing as I hadn't actually received it anyway!) Over 3 weeks later, I am still chasing some form of compensation. A colleague stayed in a Hilton hotel last weekend - it smelled of smoke and was a bit dingy - they complained on check-out and were given an immediate 10% discount off their bill and offered a free stay in an executive suite at any Hilton Hotel! Hilton know how to keep customers!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boneyfido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having stayed at Linden Hall 3 years ago for a friends wedding we were looking forward to another great day, again for a wedding, in August 2013. The grounds appeared every bit as beautiful on arrival and provide a fantastic setting, especially with the added bonus of good weather.

The room allocated for the ceremony was nicely presented, if a little hot on what was a very sunny day, and would probably benefit from air conditioning for the summer months.

A word of advice to anyone attending for a wedding.... Either don't drink or take your own alcohol as the prices at the bars are absolutely extortionate. Whilst I appreciate that drinks are normally expensive in places like this, I can't help but wonder why I was paying such high prices here, when bar prices at the likes of Slaley Hall and Close House (both competitors in the wedding market and both higher quality hotels in my opinion) are easily more reasonable. I have stayed at both within the last 6 months. Couple this with the fact that the bars quickly ran out of ice, mixers and bottles, showed a lack of preparation on their part.

Internally, the hotel is showing signs of tiredness and would benefit from a boost to get it back to its best. Our room was grubby, with tired decor, a tired looking bathroom and a bath which was suffering with a fly infestation. No mini bar or fridge and no tea and coffee making facilities. A huge drop in standards from that which we enjoyed on our last stay here only a few years ago.

Breakfast the following morning really sealed our experience. We were quickly seated at our table, and then left without any service for 20 minutes. I then had to ask for coffee, despite having seen people who had been seated after us, being served theirs. I then waited a further 10 minutes before having to ask a second member of staff for coffee again. There was then a further wait to order our breakfast. I don't think this is a case of poor staffing, more a lack of staff numbers to be able to deal with the volume of customers. It is all too apparent that Linden Hall have chosen to employ a small number of young staff members to service the bars and restaurants here and one can only assume that this is in an attempt to save on wages. It is, unfortunately, having a knock on effect on service. Whilst the staff work tirelessly, there are simply not enough of them to provide the service expected from an establishment with the reputation of Linden Hall. A reputation which is at risk should this shoestring operation be left to continue.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clearly aiming for the high end of the hotel market, with well decorated, large, well equipped rooms, but everything is soooo expensive! Five pounds for a coffee... £6.50 for a bottle of cider... Great nights sleep, just take alot of money with you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spa break 1-5 including afternoon tea, 1x 30 minute treatment and full use of facilities. We had an excellent day relaxing around the hotel and using facilities, only downfall was the swimming pool was cold but issue was being resolved straight away. Afternoon tea in the drawing room was really nice with lots of choice. Cheesecake, chocolate brownies, fruit cake, sandwiches, crisps and cream scones

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countrylass1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were looking forward to a great weekend at a family wedding to be held at this venue. We came away disappointed, not at the wedding which was all we had hoped for, but at the venue. I don't know where to start with our issues. The drinks at the bar were astronomically expensive, the food was overpriced and poor quality. We all went to bed quite early because we didn't want to stay drinking in the bar because of the cost.
The wedding ceremony room was roasting hot, all windows were closed and there was no aircon. The guests were kept in there far too long.
The reception room though decked out superbly was let down by water running down the walls in the heavy rain. I went to the car park to get something from the car the water so deep I got my feet wet! There was no lighting to help see the way.
The building itself was shabby and forlorn a great shame considering the history of the place.
On the positive side the staff were very good and helpful.
We struggled to check out as the computer was out of service. Needless to say we will not be returning to a Macdonald Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed early august and had an excellent time. We were greeted by a lovely and very helpful receptionist who offered to book us a table at the Linden Tree Pub which was on site. They were quite busy so earliest there was one was 815 which was fine for us. When we went over there, there were a number of people in the restaurant but not one table had any food. There began the comedy. Gradually one table at a time began to complain of up to an hour wait for a starter, then another 45-60min for mains. Ours did take a while (50min from ordering) but we weren't in a rush. The food when it did arrive was lovely. The following morning we had booked breakfast at the hotel for £15 each. The toast arrived totally cold and hard, the pastries were burn't and the cooked breakfast was possibly the smallest I'd seen for the price! The comedy then was when we asked for some sauce... Instead of leaving a small bowl of sauce for us to help ourselves to, it was very delicately put on our plates for us. This was quite bizarre to us as we weren't asked where we wanted it or how much. But for £15 I would have thought we could have more than a teaspoon full... The next day we went to The Running Fox cafe in Felton where we got a brilliant breakfast for £10 less each! When we used the spa facilities the jacuzzi was out of order and the changing rooms were a bit tired, we had thought we would get showered and changed in them but after seeing them headed back to our room which was lovely. The location and the grounds of the hotel were beautiful and it was perfect for what we wanted for sightseeing in the area, the hotel just felt like it needed someone to take charge of its mostly very young staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
386 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
10.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,063 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range: $113 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing