We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel if you get the right price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel if you get the right price”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend with my partner as we wanted to visit the area. We got a good rate for room only. The hotel is lovely from the outside but it is a but dated inside. We had a room on the ground floor which was a lovely big room and the bed was hugh and very comfortable, however the furniture and bathroom were a bit dated and we found the water scolding hot, which is better than it been freezing I supose!! We did use the spa which was nice but nothing special and did have the strange smell a few people mention! We ate at the Linden Tree Pub which was excellent the choice of food and the quality would make me visit the hotel again!! We thought this hotel was more like a nice 3 star than the 4 star it is, however the staff were friendly and I would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stockjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    541
    406
    176
    95
See reviews for
305
1,067
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked a one night stay here in a twin room as a treat after attending a wedding nearby.
We had a courtesy call from the company about 10 days before our visit asking if we had any special requests which we thought was a good start to our stay.
I informed the caller that we would be an early evening check in and had no other requests. She said the hotel would be busy as there was a wedding on so we expected there to be lots of people about.
We arrived at 7.30p.m to check in which went very smoothly. We were given 2 room keys, Our room was at the rear of the main building on the first floor. The first thing we noticed was how cold the room was. The window had been left open and it was a cold night. We closed the window immediately and checked as far as we could that the radiator situated beneath the window was on. We turned the heated towel rail on as the bathroom was extremely cold but immaculately clean.The room was spacious with good storage.
The next thing we noticed were the current occupiers of the room; several mosquitoes. We killed these adding to the wall decoration of previous corpses.
We literally put our bags in and left again for the evening reception checking that the main door would be open upon our return around midnight.
We returned at 11.30 and the main door was still open. Our room was still cold, the radiator barely warm but the bathroom was warm. We had showers and discovered there was no hair drier but too tired to pursue one we got into bed only to jump out again with further buzzing from the extra occupants.
In the course of the ensuing chase i had to move the chairs and noticed that the hoover had not visited some parts of the carpet, disappointing.
The beds were comfortable and the room lovely and quiet.
The room was still cold the following morning even though we had left the curtains open to allow the heat to enter the room. I would have requested supplementary heating if staying longer.
We had been told that breakfast would be very busy around 9 a.m. so made the effort to get down to the didning room for 8.40 a.m.
We were shown to a nice table quickly and tea and toast order taken but no other info given. We went to the buffet table in the next room where we had to wait for bowls to arrive. The buffet table was missing quite a lot of items and was very slow to be replenished. Once it was the food was very nice.
We ordered a cooked breakfast which arrived promptly and was delicious.
I noticed that several tables were left uncleared yet cereal bowls were removed from our table which could have been left so those people waiting in the lounges could have begun their breakfast had the staff concentrated on swiftly clearing and resetting.
We informed the reception of the lack of hairdrier as we checked out.
I also filled in the comments card and posted it.
I have been to this hotel over the course of the past 20 years having spa days, meals in the Dobson restaurant and the pub and had been looking forward to rounding off the day with a lovely stay but was disappointed with the cleanliness, the cold and some aspects of the service. The number of people staying should not affect the quality of the service.
I would no longer recommend this hotel to others which is a shame.

Room Tip: Rear room was very quiet and overlooked the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went to Linden Hall for our wedding anniversary as we got married there 2 yrs ago. I initially called the booking line and stated we had spent a lot of money with them and would like our stay to be special. I bought some flowers which were in the room when we arrived. No other extras given at all . It would have been nice to have a complimentary bottle of wine in the room. The room initially looked beautiful and I had booked a four poster bed which was great however apart from that the room was very outdated, and definitely needs updating, tiles in the bathroom were old and grating was dirty, the mirror in the bathroom was chipped round the outside.

The staff however were brilliant . 3 of them even remembered us from our wedding day! and they couldn't do enough for us. I mentioned the fact that the macdonald chain hadn't really made any effort to make our night special but the staff tried their best to help. My biggest thanks goes out to a gentleman called jock who works the nightshift. He helped put the chairs pit for our weddind day and remembered us and was an asset to the company. They had give me the managers email and advised I let him know my thoughts which I will.

The food was also excellent and the service was superb.


Don't get me wrong it really is a beautiful place set in lovely grounds. If this was a wedding venue review I would give it top marks. I just feel when you have a special day there and come back to remember it the chain should check records and see that you have stayed with them for a wedding and offer some little extras ie spa, 18 holes of golf, bottle of wine or champagne in room. I felt that the chain are after your money and once they have had it you're just another person, I got everything I asked for but paid a lot for it and nothing extra.

It needs updating and for the prices they charge and the fact we filled their hotel for our wedding , stayed 2 nights and spent a large amount of money on our big day I feel that a personal touch to show they remembered (or at least pretend to!) would have made a difference.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metcalfe22jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under lyme
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for approx 4 years for business and pleasure. I have never had a bad experience. The staff are always friendly and a pleasure to deal with and nothing is any trouble. The rooms are all immaculate and the restaurant and pub are brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmab039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

4 of us booked for the "play and pamper" round of golf and spa day on a Friday leaving on Saturday. On arrival at around midday we were told teeh rooms were not ready until 3:00 and so thought that we would have a coffee in the lounge , but were told that we should go to the Linden Pub which is on site as the restaurant in the hotel was not open. On arrival at the pub and asking for a coffee and some biscuits were told that biscuits were not available in the pub - only in the Hotel. Anyway had a coffee and lunch all of which was fine except would have preferred the Hotel ambience. The golf course is good and it wa snot busy so we (the males of the group) , had an enjoyable round of golf arriving back to pick up the ladies from the spa.

On arrival the Ladies were not finished so suggested that they had a glass of wine whilst we went to the Pub for a beer, however ordering a couple of glasses of wine proved problematical as the staff seemed more interested in talking to each other rather than serving the guests! Eventually one of them agreed to go to the bar (suggested my wife in dressing gown should go and get her own from the Pub !!) The treatments were fine but the general spa was jaded and in need of refurbishment and also some decent service.

On booking into our room (one of the executive rooms downstairs) we could hear a constant noise and realised that this was due to the disco at the wedding reception. So asked to change rooms and got one of the standard rooms in the old building -- this was a much better room and the staff were lovely about changing -- message here don't pay extra for an executive room -- not worth it and you get the sound of the weddings!

We eat in the restaurant as it was included in our deal -- we had to wait ages for any food -- priority seems to be given to the weddings and when it did arrive it was very small portions. Food itself was good but definitely not a adequate portion size!

So in summary -- nice grounds, good golf course - jaded spa and all rooms in need of refurbishment. Would i go back -- No overpriced for what you get even on one of the deals

Room Tip: don't pay extra for executive rooms - go for a standard in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked Dobson restaurant Saturday night. Looking forward to nice meal out with friends. Oh dear.... Very over priced and tiny amounts of food. The puds alone cost £10!!! The food was excellent quality but portions were far too small. Left starving and £175 down!!! Got home and made some scones..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pizzof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

on way home stopped off to view the hotel as we would be staying in the area the following week. The receptionist was exceptional she gave us the warmest of welcomes and patiently answered all our queries regarding rooms available. We stayed for one night the following week on ddb basis. Unfortunately we didn't encounter the same receptionist however the check in was efficient. We'd booked a twin feature room which overlooked the golf course. The views from the room were breathtaking. There was a connecting door between the room and next door which unfortunately meant that we could hear the conversations and TV from the adjacent room (I might add that the neighbours were quietly spoken and didn't have the TV on very loudly). When we got to the room workmen were working (drilling) in the loft so we repaired to the public areas due to the noise. However since the drawing room and cocktail bar were pretty full we sat in the hall. This is between the reception area and restaurant. The kitchen's extractor fan was audible. There appeared to be some staff shortages with bar staff
doubling as waiters despite this and having already worked a long shift the staff were very amazing - very attentive, efficient and friendly. The evening meal was delicious and one of the best I've had in a Macdonald Hotel restaurant. Sleep quality was poor as the room was over the restaurant and despite having the window closed the kitchen's extractor fan was noisy. We had breakfast in the room served by one of the waiters who served us the following evening.

Room Tip: Don't book a feature room at the back of the hotel. The rooms facing south are likely to be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trisha11edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
17.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
8.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
16.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Property: Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing