We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Pub”
Review of Linden Tree Pub

Linden Tree Pub
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy Pub”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is cosy pub with friendly staff. The menu has a great choice and we enjoyed our meal. The only downside was that it was slightly cold in the hotel but we were gratefully put next to a radiator in the dining area which was great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    39
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Boxing Day Dinner”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As part of the Christmas break offered by Linden Hall Hotel, one dinner was located at this pub. The Staff are very friendly but the food, whilst of good quality, was not of the standard expected of a break at a good class hotel, and I would have preferred to have all meals in the Hotel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwardp463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dining at the Linden Tree Pub”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Relaxing atmosphere, friendly professional staff, excellent, creatively presented menu, superb food!1

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stanfords825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“basic, boring and tired”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The whole experience was rubbish so the pub was up against it and failed to wow. Stale bread, warmish soup, frozen chips and a lack of ambience. I could go on but I'm running out of enthusiasm

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank miranda1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold comfort at The Linden Tree”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had travelled past the pub many times and had high expectations of the food as we knew it was associated with the prestigious Linden Hall hotel, We visited on a cold December day and the tone of our overalll experience was set by the absolute lack of any heating in the restaurant , though there were some poor attempts to provide inadequate mobile heaters. There were few customers in the restaurant and consequently little atmosphere. The staff were pleasant but clearly suffering with the customers from lack of warmth and atmosphere. The Sunday lunches were below the standard of any local pub that we might have gone into. We suspected that most of what made up the lunch was prepared much earlier in the day and warmed up when ordered. A disappointing experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenNewcastleuponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linden Tree Pub also viewed

 
Longframlington, Northumberland
 

Been to Linden Tree Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing