We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent holiday at Beacon Hill”
Review of Beacon Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longhorsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Hill Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another excellent holiday at Beacon Hill”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is our third visit to Beacon Hill, we stayed in Quarry House which is lovely and comfortable with spectacular views. After a very stressful year we had a lovely relaxing break. Spent most of our time at the cottages enjoying the wonderful facilities particularly the pool, jacuzzi, spa and tennis court. Had a few trips to Morpeth for shopping and to eat out, it is a great little town with some good shops, restaurants and cafes. Also had a day out to the coast which is beautiful. Have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
364
100
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The cottage was just as we had hoped for. It felt home from home and very comfortable. The views from the cottage were spectacular, a location not to be missed. All the facilities were excellent. Alun gave us a trip round on his rocket powered buggy, one not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

From the wonderful welcome onwards we had a super holiday at Beacon Hill. Highlight for kids (and probably us all) was sausage sizzling in the woods, but the pool, croquet and trampolines were also enjoyed by all. Great to have an adults only area in the spa too. Spa was lovely - had a delicious manicure, and prices very reasonable. Very relaxing time overall - kids (8 and 10) could roam freely. Worth a walk to the pond - the most beautiful spot imaginable. Am sure we'll return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our fifth time at Beacon Hill and it never disappoints. Alun, the owner, is incredibly knowledgeable about the local area and always happy to share his tips on how to get the best out of your holiday. The various cottages we have stayed in have all been clean, warm, comfortable and very well-equipped and furnished. The spa facilities (pool, gym, hotbeds etc) are excellent and well-used by us as they are open from 7 am through to 9 pm, so it's usually possible to find a time when you can have them all to yourself. One of my favourite things to do at Beacon Hill is to take a walk the half mile or so down the hill to watch the sunset over Meg's Lake, which Alun created himself and named in honour of one of his aunts, a few years ago. It's maturing beautifully now and is such a lovely place to watch the sun go down at the end of another day in beautiful Northumberland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsterreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

2nd visit back with friends and kids. Fab time! Very family friendly, play area and pool great, did sausage sizzle in nearby woods. Walling ton and crag side national trust places nearby are lovely to spend a day. Morpeth has weekly market on Wednesday mornings where we got very tasty sausages for our sizzle! Still loads we haven't seen/done after 2nd visit so will defo be back again!

Room Tip: Elm is good sized two bedroomed with parking outside. Our friends stayed in oak which is adjoining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed in Beacon Hill Cottage 2 weeks ago. Lovely feel to the place and enjoyed sitting in the conservatory looking out over the fields whilst eating breakfast. Everything you could possibly want was available in the cottage. Swam most days in the pool which was very warm. The relaxed atmosphere of the area was wonderful. The internet worked much better than we expected considering where we were Went out every day but looked forward to returning to our cottage. I cant fault Beacon Hill once we got there. The only slight fault I can find is the access roads to it! However it was a farm once so to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jennyCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlunM M, Owner at Beacon Hill Farm, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Linkham Lane which runs 2.5 miles from Beacon Hill to the A697 has quite a few potholes, as you noticed I have been promised by the Highways that it will repaired by the winter. The country roads throughout Northumberland need attention. At least my drive is perfect tarmac. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in Willow Cottage (4 adults and 2 young children) for a week. The cottage is lovely with everything you could possibly need (even a coffee grinder). Great sized rooms and a welcoming wide hallway. It is very well insulated and has 24 hour heating from a biomass boiler (we used the log stove a couple of times, the wood, firelighters and even matches are provided).
On arrival we were taken around the place and facilities by Alun Moore (the owner) in a golf cart which made for a nice personal welcome.
The pool and spa facilities are absolutely excellent. There is a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and great sized pool. We used it almost every day and rarely found anyone else in there. We also played tennis and the kids had a few sessions on the trampolines and in the games room and indoor play area. I used the gym and my only criticism would be that it needs heavier free weights but I'm nit-picking here. There is a vast array of exercise machines.
We did the Harry Potter trail challenge in the nearby beech wood (quite a challenge to find them all) and also had a couple of campfires which were highlights of the week. There is Meg's Lake nearby which also has a beautiful campfire/BBQ area stocked with wood and firelighters. They really have thought of almost everything.
Alnwick is 30 minutes away, Morpeth 10 minutes, Beamish 45 minutes, the coast is 30 mins so the location is ideal. Cragside near Rothbury is well worth a visit.
There is so much to do at Beacon Hill that we travelled much less than we normally would trying to entertain the kids. Made for a very relaxing holiday. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andbeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
5.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
20.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
14.4 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,493 reviews
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Farm

Property: Beacon Hill Farm
Address: Beacon Hill Farm Beacon Hill, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Longhorsley
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Hill Farm has 15 4 & 5 star Gold Award cottages set in 20 acres of gardens in the centre of a 360 acre estate near the Northumbrian coast. We have a fabulous Spa easily accessed with a short walk through the gardens from all the cottages. Morpeth the nearby market town has a wide range of restaurants and pubs. Beacon Hill is a wonderful place from which to discover the beauties that Northumberland offers from the heritage coast to Alnwick Garden. We are ideally positioned to visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Farm Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing