We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great winter break!”
Review of Beacon Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longhorsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Hill Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great winter break!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been to Beacon Hill twice now - and it gets better! The cottages are decorated and equipped to a very high standard - only slightly negative comment this year is the cottage was TOO warm! The Spa and leisure complex is a great place to relax. We would definitely recommend to other groups of ladies who like to get away from their husbands and children occasionally to 're-coup!'

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
371
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in February. Lovely and warm and cosy. Well equipped with everything we needed. Clean and plenty room for 6 of us. Close to lots of facilities and attractions. Beautiful views and walks around the area. We would certainly return. The spa facilities were enjoyed by many of us.

Room Tip: Visit the website, what you see is what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I won this mini break in a raffle, we chose a long weekend! what an exceptional prize, the cottage was amazing, clean, spacious and cosy, the bedrooms were so luxurious. The spa was pure luxury!! We totally relaxed in the cosy lounge with the log burner on as We had snow, the views from the cottage were amazing, but we were cosy inside.... The kindness and sincerity shown to us by alun during our visit will certainly make me recommend beacon hill to anyone, I hope to visit again in the near future.. thankyou for wonderful prize, very generous

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186394Lesley1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlunM M, Owner at Beacon Hill Farm, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
When asked by a regular client if I would give a prize to support the PC Rathbone Trust I was happy to give a winter weekend break to support this charity, especially as it has such strong local connections. It was tragic that PC Rathbone subsequently died. However I am delighted that the event was a sucess and that the people that won the prize had such a great time whilst staying here.
Alun Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in Beach cottage for a long relaxing weekend with a group of friends and cannot recommend it enough. The cottage was clean, warm and homely, it had everything we needed and more whilst the spa was just amazing. The estate itself is beautiful and tranquil with plenty to explore yet only a short drive from Morpeth. On arrival we were greeted by Alun who gave us a tour of the spa and facilities and really couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming than he was. Within 1hr of arriving we were relaxing in the spa enjoying the peace and quiet along with some wonderful views. The next morning myself and a couple of the other girls had booked treatments with the onsite beauty therapist which were extremely good value and a perfect way to start a day of relaxation in the spa. My only criticism would be that I felt the decor in our cottage was a little dated but that is really down to personal taste and my only regret...... that we didn't stay longer! Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlunM M, Owner at Beacon Hill Farm, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed Beacon Hill so much. Beech Cottage is quite traditionally decorated but along with Ash Cottage it will be totally redecorated in our new more contemporary style in November, ready for Christmas. We have just finished totally refurbishing Willow and Larch Cottages and the new photos will be on the web site very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My family and I stayed in South Granary (sleeps 6) for half term week in February 2013. Although smaller than the other cottages we have stayed in at Beacon Hill, this one is still amply sized for a family of 5 (kids aged 12, 10 and 8 - grandma and grandad even joined us for a couple of nights without it being too much of a squeeze!) The cottages are brilliantly designed, so that it doesn't feel cramped. They are equipped with everything you could need in the kitchen and the provision of dishwasher and washing tablets for the whole week is an added bonus. The facilities are as good as ever (it was our 8th visit although we have only done weekends before). The kids love the freedom of being able to go to the indoor games room and play barn on their own. The pool and spa facilities are as luxurious as ever. A trip to Morpeth, Druridge Bay and 'Barter Books' in Alnwick are definite 'musts' for anyone staying here. The only downside for us is the price which is very high in school holidays (unless you manage to have your half term at a different time from everyone else as we did this year!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our fourth family holiday to Beacon Hill and as ever we had a great time.

The cottages are done out to a great standard - wood burning stoves, Sky TV, digital radios, seemingly endless hot water - and the shared facilities, the pool, the gym, the grounds and the woods are fantastic. Alun who owns and runs Beacon Hlill is a great host - friendly, available, happy to help out with advice or resolving any issues (I think we've had one small thing in four years).


Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our 4th visit to Beacon Hill ( each time in a different cottage) and as good as ever. A cold february half term but 'Elm' was nice and warm particularly with the wood heater going.
Used just about all the facilities , the pool , tennis court , croquet lawn , gym , cricket net , boules and of course cooking in the woods.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
20.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,250 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
14.4 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,524 reviews
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Farm

Property: Beacon Hill Farm
Address: Beacon Hill Farm Beacon Hill, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Longhorsley
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Hill Farm has 15 4 & 5 star Gold Award cottages set in 20 acres of gardens in the centre of a 360 acre estate near the Northumbrian coast. We also have 3 luxury Shepherds Huts sleeping two. We have a fabulous Spa easily accessed with a short walk through the gardens from all the cottages. Morpeth the nearby market town has a wide range of restaurants and pubs. Beacon Hill is a wonderful place from which to discover the beauties that Northumberland offers from the heritage coast to Alnwick Garden. We are ideally positioned to visit the many National Trust properties in the area. PLEASE NOTE:- The cottages are let for 7 nights minimum from April til October. The Hideaways are available for short breaks all the year round. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PETS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Farm Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing