We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for everybody!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beacon Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longhorsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Hill Farm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for everybody!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed at Beacon Hill Farm many times and have always had a fab time, the facilities are second to none and there is something to do for everyone.
The cottages are well presented and very well equipped. The staff are very friendly and are happy to help.
The surrounding countryside is stunning with views to die for and Beacon Hill Farm makes a great base to explore the county.
Stephen B

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDB729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
356
96
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

our 9th visit to beacon hill in 5yrs cant get enough of the place.wife and I feel so at home.the facilities are superb, if you time it right you can have the spa to yourself.the staff are so helpful and friendly and nothing is so much trouble for them ensuring the experience is unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnjulie207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable week here in December. Accomodation was spotless, very well equiped and even in cold December, extremely warm and homely. Facilities on site were excellent as was the spa treatment. Location is ideal for excursions and we visited Durham, Morpeth, Alnwick and Hadrian's Wall. We were a mixed group of grandparents, parents and young children and everyone had a good time. Would certainly return as there are still areas/ locations in the neighbourhood that we would wish to visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife, myself and our 2 children 10 and 8 stayed at Oak Cottage in mid December. I have to say that this is one the nicest places i have ever stayed and was the perfect tonic to a busy stressful December. The cottage was wonderful with lovely views of the surrounding countryside and with every possible comfort to make our stay truly relaxing. The facilities on site are great, our children spent over 10 hours in the pool over the weekend. My wife and i enjoyed the Laconium, Sauna and Steam Room! We also had a lovely walk to Megs Lake and also through the private wood. The whole place is just great, without question we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandon, county cork
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We chose Larch Cottage at Beacon Hill Farm as a base for our week's walking holiday in Northumberland in November. We specifically chose this location as if the weather had been very bad (snow etc) we could go into Newcastle, walk along the beaches or even just spend the day in the pool. As luck would have it, the weather was terrific and we were easily able to get to places such as Hadrians Wall, Beamish, Newcastle, Berwick on Tweed, Bamburgh and Alnwick.

Our accommodation was fully equipped for all our needs. Most people will probably want to spend the entire week at the farm as the facilities are so good but ours was a walking holiday. We ate in on some evenings and visited the Anglers Arms at Weldon Bridge nearby on two nights (great food and ambience). The big advantage of this cottage is that the swimming pool is right next to the house. We usually arrived home exhausted from our daily hikes so it was great to be able to take a dip and try out the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.

The cottage had a wood burning stove as well as central heating. The sitting room/kitchen/dining room was one big open plan area so perfect for four people. The internet connection worked perfectly and there was a large screen tv in the sitting room.

We took advantage of Larch Cottage's location close to Newcastle and went into the city on three occasions in the evening - to the theatre, to the opera and to swing dancing! Oh so much to do and so little time!

There are great walks nearby so you don't need to drive miles to the likes of Hadrians Wall. We went on an organised 'Nordic Walking' expedition at Druridge. We climbed in the Simonside Hills near Rothbury and had lunch in Rothbury itself - All great fun and not too far away. Morpeth is a great shopping town and is only 4 miles away. The farm is well off the main road and there is an amazing amount of wildlife in the vicinity. We spotted our first tawny owl from close up - It was perched in the middle of the road about 3 metres from our car and was eye-balling us and refusing to budge!!

Beacon Hill Farm Self Catering was a bit more expensive than other places but well worth it! What makes it so great is that the location is perfect, the facilities are excellent (pool, games room, tennis courts, walks etc etc) and the cottages are so well fitted out. We would love to go back!!! Northumberland is a well kept secret so go and explore like we did and you will love it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KilbroganHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a great week staying at Beacon Hill. The Swimming pool was great and although there was a problem with heating this was quickly resolved by Alun. The place is very well set up for chldren and the cottage was well equipped which made it a very easy holiday. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gjreid101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

A wonderful place to stay, location great and the view from our cottage really was amazing! The cottage has everything, Alun really has thought of everything, home from home ! We didn't want to leave! Despite the weather we really enjoyed our stay and will be going back for certain. The Spa and treatments on offer also very good, Sheenette was really helpful and gives a great massage. Beacon Hill really is a great find

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
5.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
20.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
19.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Farm

Property: Beacon Hill Farm
Address: Beacon Hill Farm Beacon Hill, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Longhorsley
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Hill Farm has 15 4 & 5 star Gold Award cottages set in 20 acres of gardens in the centre of a 360 acre estate near the Northumbrian coast. We have a fabulous Spa easily accessed with a short walk through the gardens from all the cottages. Morpeth the nearby market town has a wide range of restaurants and pubs. Beacon Hill is a wonderful place from which to discover the beauties that Northumberland offers from the heritage coast to Alnwick Garden. We are ideally positioned to visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Farm Longhorsley, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing